Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 1897 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1897 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Jocelyn W. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Great hotel for families with kids who love the b
lovely swimming pool, great beach and view and friendly staff.
Everyone had a lot of fun. Ideal for families with children.
Reviewed December 11, 2015

Tin T. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2015
confortable and relaxing
cleanliness, staff service and friendliness
when we checked in, one of our rooms was not ready. We had booked 3. But shortly afterwards, the hotel staff called us to inform it is ready. Later on, there was a note of well wishes with a basket of fruits on our table. Other than this, the stay was excellent. The hotel staff were friendly and greeted us. The breakfast was good. We especially like the bed. It was comfortable and clean. Overall, ambiance was great.
Reviewed December 11, 2015

edwin N. from New Zealand
Business travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
Disappointed
the beach, the staff and the hallway airconditioning
1980s designed rooms, with shower over bath nonsense, small rooms, smelly and mouldy shower curtains, most housekeeping staff are foreign workers who speak minimal english, hotel is definitely not worth the money. very busy tourist class hotel, belongs in the 3 star category. on the plus side the staff are friendly and the breakfast is passable. the swimming pool is great, lots of lounge chairs, beach is awesome in terms of location but seawater is almost black with dirt. will be choosing the rasa sayang next time i am in penang
Reviewed December 11, 2015

Man H. from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Nice beach view
The location is good. There are good beach view, I can see the sunset over the beach. I order the food inside the hotel, the price is reasonable with a good quality food.
I love there so much.
Reviewed December 11, 2015

NIZAMUDIN H. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
A relaxing family holiday
The layout of the hotel, the food and the pool!
Stayed with my hubs, an active toddler and a baby and we enjoyed our stay. It was meant to be a relaxing holiday, and it was just that! We ordered room service (food was great and delivery time was quick). We had a good time lazying around the pool area, ordering food which was yummy! The best thing is we got discount for every time we ordered food. All in all, a great resort for family!
Reviewed December 10, 2015

Eric W. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Enjoyable and relaxing
The hotel staff friendliness, excellent room amenities and overall great facilities
I have been staying at Golden Sands since young whenever we visited Penang. Now I am still staying in the same hotel with my wife and kids after all these years. That should say a lot of how I rate my stay. Just a comment, the beach area is overtaken by watersports activities. And it pose quite a danger to others who are there to enjoy the sea and beach.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

NATTHAWAREE M. from Thailand
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
dont let one bad incident spoil a perfect holiday
The food, the gym, and the general ambience.
No real problems, but just one incident with a front desk officer who seemed to prefer confrontation rather than wanting to help with an issue.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

Jocelyn Y. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Great hotel for location & resort facilities
Location, Facilities and Room
Generally it was good - impressed by the level of maintenance the hotel has done considering it is an old hotel. Everything looked new and clean. Staff performance were mixed though - their Banquet and Pool staff were excellent, with strong commendation for their Banquet staff who were attentive, friendly and helpful. Their Front Service/Desk staff at the reception needs a lot of improvement - not friendly and not helpful. We requested for an extension to which a Front Desk Office committed to a price and the booking. When we approached the Front Desk the next day to arrange payment (we were told to do so), the booking was not made and the Front Desk Office had not only forgotten to do the booking but also renegade on the price committed. Luckily the Front Desk Manager was around and he helped to save the situation. Generally, with the exception of the Manager, the rest of the Front Desk Officers really need sprucing up with the way they handle customers (please do not show a displeased face when it is not the customer's fault). Nothwithstanding the above, we had a good stay and will return to Golden Sands again due to its good location and resort facilities.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

Yu O. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2015
Great
The staff service
Reviewed December 10, 2015

Festive T. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Good worth for money thanks agoda
Neat Nice Comfort
Worth to stay thanks agoda
Reviewed December 10, 2015