arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015

Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang

Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang, Malaysia 11100

Excellent 8.1
Based on 1840 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1840 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.8

7.2 Aza A.
Malaysia
June 05, 2016
Superb Holiday
Really enjoyed ourselves especially the kids.. Definitely will come here again..

4.4 Tan S.
Singapore
June 05, 2016
old, small room and expensive
For the price and its location, I would recommend to stay at George town. Hotel is managed well, but old which is relatively small, especially with a sofa in the room with no practical use. Seriously think the hotel needs major upgrading. Staff is friendly and buffet is decent though spread is not too good. Can be improved. Overall, wouldn't recommend this place for the price with lack of modern facility in the hotel.

8 Khairul A.
Malaysia
June 05, 2016
Good
Good

7.2 Zarina R.
Malaysia
June 04, 2016
Dissappointing staff
Restaurant staff was not attentive. Housekeeping was not done like a 5 stars hotel. They never clean the used cups, never replaced used towels. Request for prayer mat but we never got one until the day we left. Sad!!

5.2 Elizabeth P.
United Kingdom
June 02, 2016
So busy
Too many people at breakfast, busy grounds. Even though we had children with us it wasn't a relaxing trip. Great lifeguards though as so many parent's weren't watching their children. Room good size to fit in baby cot.

8 SYED H.
Malaysia
June 02, 2016
Great value
Good stay

7.6 Nini N.
Malaysia
June 02, 2016
Review of stay at Golden Sands Resort
Overall stay is satisfy.

9.6 Zalelawati M.
Malaysia
June 01, 2016
Great stay
Definitely will come back!

7.6 Lim S.
Malaysia
May 31, 2016
Good stay
Room is spacious, clean and staff are friendly. kids activities and Adventure zone (indoor playground) is big plus for our young children.

3.6 Anita Y.
Malaysia
May 29, 2016
Please improve room and service quality
I used to like goldensands but past few years the quality has dropped tremendously. I experienced similar situation for my most recent stay at goldensands where quality of service has gone from bad to worse such as complaints about room air con wasn't resolved , in room entertainment is bad . I'm wondering whether this review will make any difference since I felt quality remains at the same level as my last review . Repeat customers like me are not appreciated .