Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 1352 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 5.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 6.9
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 5.6
Sort by

Hanisah B. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Great location, spacious room and clean
Great location, spacious room, clean
Staff were polite and very hospitable, especially the housekeeping staff - always ready with a smile. Parking available but limited. A bit aged but comfortably revamped - we got a room with a new A/C. Didn't try the complimentary breakfast because they were so many local dishes we wanted to try. Walking distance to both halal & non-halal eateries. Will definitely return.
Reviewed September 20, 2014

Richard R. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 23 nights in August 2014
Oasis of calm
Peace, bath, breakfast.
During a three week stay I was treated with friendly courtesy and efficient service. The laundry facility was fine and being able to use a computer and internet was handy. The whole time I was there it was stress free. If I had any criticism it would be a better hot water system. Otherwise everything was very good.
Reviewed September 17, 2014

alice L. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
average
location,room is clean n parking
Reviewed September 13, 2014

brett D. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Older hotel - well looked after - great staff
Location, Staff,Price
Stayed before,will stay again.......older hotel, for the most part well looked after. Great older staff who are freindly and have great english conversation skills. Breakfast basic but for the hotel price would not complain.
Reviewed September 12, 2014

John W. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in September 2014
Get what you pay for
Staff were friendly
Would not stay again
Reviewed September 12, 2014

Lawrence G. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
A great convenient budget hotel in Georgetown
Location Price Staff
I have stayed at various budget hotels in Georgetown on numerous occasions. I decided that I would try The Mingood Hotel based upon recommendation from a friend who has stayed at Mingood several times. I was very happy with the hotel. Spacious rooms with cable TV, Air-con and a great refrigerator. Included in price is a good light breakfast served at the 5th floor rooftop cafe. An upgrade to a hot cooked breakfast is available for either 4 ringgit or 6 ringitt. My room was at front of building with balcony which made it very pleasant, requested upon initial reservation. I certainly will always stay at Mingood Hotel for future visits to Georgetown, Penang. I recommend this budget hotel to all who require convenience of location at a great low cost.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Ei C. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in August 2014
Good Location
location, value, transport
It's the 2nd time staying at this hotel due to biz purpose. It's located very near to the meeting place, around 10 mins. But of course I have departed in late morning to avoid the traffic hours, or else that would be a disaster. Nothing to complain with this price. They have provided the most basic I could ask for.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Jing W. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Cheap and really basic
Location, price and size
It was really a budget hotel. U need to adjust your expectation for this price. Its really basic, very old hotel. It feels clean but I dont find it comfortable. The bed is pretty hard, and the aircon erratic.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Julius M. from Sierra Leone
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
I stayed for 3 nights. Friendly staff.
Location, staff and hotel clean
This's trip I go for business. This's hotel is easy and close for my business. Hotel is at good location good value for the money.
Reviewed September 06, 2014

POH N. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2014
So so
cleanliness staff are very friendly
Not to put so high expectation to the hotel stay.. It clean but because of the old condition make it look dirty.. hotel is quite stingy.. no variety of breakfast... just toast n coffee
Reviewed September 04, 2014