arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 8.0
Based on 3356 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 3356 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.3

Xian N.
Malaysia
March 08, 2016
Memorable trip
Location cleanliness comfortable

Ya C.
Malaysia
March 08, 2016
Comfortable and Convenient
Comfortable and Convenient

Clara C.
Malaysia
March 07, 2016
Clean and well maintained
Location, price, service
Pretty nice hotel for an affordable rate. Good location, rooms were clean and an overall satisfying experience.

Mario C.
Portugal
March 04, 2016
Em casa num grande hotel
The staff performance, the club lounge, the room.
The staff was very helpful at any place of the hotel. The breakfast was good, the snacks end the drinks at club lounge too, the room was comfortable.

robert M.
United Kingdom
March 03, 2016
A bit pretentious and hotel getting very dated,
room only value overpriced,,,centrally situated for bus station and shopping malls.....wi fi excellent and free it the only thing you will get free,,,prices over the top i.e. .food drink,,etc...,

CHIN T.
Malaysia
March 02, 2016
Great location at town centre
Great to be able to use the facilities of Shangri la

Dennis T.
Philippines
March 01, 2016
penang visit
clean, nice

Teo H.
Malaysia
February 29, 2016
Old hotel
Nothing much I can think of
Only for event held there

Justine F.
United Kingdom
February 29, 2016
We keep returning but..........
Been spending 1-3 nights in Penang for past 5 years always at Traders - which we loved [even had the 'long service' cake!] - now rebranded as Jen, which in our opinion offers an inferior experience. The rooms are traditional, old fashioned, and comfortable, but in need of an upgrade, bathroom grouting/plumbing in particular. Gone are the smart black suits for staff. Only trainees start in black/white, graduating to the tight jeans/shirt casual look on promotion. Gone is the morning newspaper delivered to your door [Club floor], and gone is the plate of fruit complete with crisp napkin and knife. In its place is a note from the mythical 'Jen' saying she has left a treat in the fridge 'on me' - who's paying the bill here?! And what is this treat? A plastic cup of chopped fruit, more suited to a hawker stall than a quality hotel! Provide the fruit if you must, Jen - but drop the note which is patronising to the point of insulting. We keep returning because the staff are delightful - always friendly and welcoming despite their unattractive 'trendy' uniforms.

Thomas R.
United Kingdom
February 29, 2016
Our stay at Hotel Jen.
The staff are very good all round and the location is excellent. The Club Louge is well worth the extra payment.
The hotel is becoming a little run down but a refurbishment is planned in the near future. The major fault with the hotel is that you can see daylight through the rubber window seals in many of the Club rooms (and I assume the cheaper rooms also)which is useless for sound insulation. The air-con units in the nearby shopping centres and the passing traffic gets rather noisy. This is the only downside of this hotel and should be fixed in the refurbishment.