Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.2
Based on 609 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 609 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.3

AKITA R.
Japan
July 25, 2016
Quiet and peaceful place!
Very good service! Special thanks to the manager for upgrading our room to Garden Suite. Nice room with spacious and luxurious bathroom and two separated rooms (living room and bedroom divided by door). Note that the garden "deluxe" and garden "suites" are very different in size and comfort (and price). (Also, Garden deluxe rooms do not have bathtubs, so if you prefer a bathtub, make sure to select rooms other than garden deluxe.) The resort itself is very quiet with no loud music compared to typical resorts in Thailand. The food at the restaurants is not bad, in terms of price and taste. We felt that the restaurants outside are cheap but not that tasty.

Zaid C.
Malaysia
July 25, 2016
Great Potential - Let down by shortage of staff
Taaras is set in splendid surroundings and the beach is gorgeous. The garden room is a little dowdy and could do with an upgrade. However, the main issue at Taaras is the shortage of staff. Service at breakfast, lunch and dinner is slow and staff seem untrained to deliver the kind of service that a supposed 5 star hotel requires. Even the checkout was poor, with staff unsure of whether bags had been put on the minibus or not. Basically, great potential let down by under-staffing and poor training.

Teng T.
Malaysia
July 25, 2016
Beautiful Place
Overall stay was very good. It is a very beautiful place. The only set back was the resort need restoration and upgrading in certain areas. I was at the resort with my whole family and we booked 4 suites. Ocean front suite bath room shower & tab faulty. Garden suite, hot/cold water shower inconsistent. Swimming pool water treatment need attention, water condition is murky during our 3 days stay. Credit must be given to a few of the staff who went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

Nor S.
Malaysia
July 24, 2016
Beautiful place but in need of restoration.
For the price we paid I honestly feel that The Taraas could offer so much more. The entire resort is in need of an overhaul ie. inconsistent hot and cold water, wooden floor that creaks noisily, etc. We stayed at the Garden Suite room and the bedroom aircon leaked and the living room aircon was not cold. We had to be transferred to a different room. Further up on the hill is where the Garden and Hill View rooms are located. This block is in dire need of a fresh coat of paint. The service at the testaurant is rather slow despite us staying during weekdays. Nevertheless, credit is due to some of the staff who tried hard to accomodate the guests. The beach is beautiful and clean. It's unfortunate that the management does not realise the resort's full potential.

Teh H.
Malaysia
July 23, 2016
Staff services
Still have rooms to be improved..double standard

Roshan M.
Malaysia
June 30, 2016
Overpriced and sub-par
nice private beach however the rest of it is just not worth the value as you can get must cheaper alternatives at the other not so expensive resorts. simply not worth the money you pay.Overpriced and sub-par

SITI M.
Singapore
June 27, 2016
Overall good
Value for money and remote location. Recommended to go during non-peak season as you can enjoy the serenity of the place. Food in restaurant can be a bit pricey but good quality.

Ramesh T.
Malaysia
June 27, 2016
Overall very good hotel and facilities. the staff were the best we have encountered anywhere in Asia
Food wasn't great, the outlets need to look up for creative dishes. The restaurant staff and chef were excellent in assisting us with our vegetarian needs. Definitely a re-visit.

shou L.
Malaysia
June 24, 2016
Good stay
I had a very relax holiday at this hotel! Everything is good except the food in this hotel..

KHAI M.
Malaysia
June 17, 2016
Room was great but food was awful
Room was great. Scenery amd beach was to die for. But food n staff service in the restaurant was dissapointing. Sat there to get a menu took 5 mins. Waiting for the waitress to return and take my order took them 15 mins and i decided to just leave. They were all crowding at the bar and discussing bit not paying attn to the customer. Fruit flies everywhere on the fruits and jam during breakfast