arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 70 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 70 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 6.1
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.3

8 Judy F.
Canada
August 26, 2012
Great place to come and unwind, relax.
The beaches, the food (thank you), the staff (great job ) and the service.
i had a fantastic time. i even extended my stay by 3 days. the staff were friendly, the food was great and nipah chalet was the perfect place to come and just relax, walk on the beach, read, sleep, unwind. beautiful sunsets, gorgeous views/walks at low tide... simply fabulous. the chalets are basic..but clean and really all you need. if your looking for 5 star you won't find it here... if you want a place away from the popular sights, with friendly staff, beautiful beaches and good food...i'll see you there. cheers miss kitty

7.3 Jelle B.
Netherlands
August 05, 2012
Basic hotel
Nice owner
The accomodation was pretty basic. There is not much too do at the hotel. But it's a good place to relax at the beach. The owner is a nice guy and can bring you early to the main jetty if you want to visit a souvenir shop.

7 Linette L.
Denmark
July 25, 2012
Nice, great location with a hippie style
Beach almost to yourself
nipah challet was a great and interesting experience. comming to the hotel - you meet the rasta malaysian man/boy who is doing everything he can to make everything work. the place is like a hippie place - with a great solo location - where you can have the beach almost for yourself. you get great value for monney with that in mind it is cheap and clean. abbas the manager is a great cook with a great personality

9 Peter K.
Switzerland
July 23, 2012
Paradise on earth
Great people, beautiful beach, fantastic food, idyllic place
We booked the Nipah Chalet for three nights, but ended up staying there for one week. After more than three months travelling we were looking for a place to relax on our last week of vacation. It did not take us long to realize that we found the most relaxing place we have ever been. No phone connection, no Internet, no noise just nature and later in the afternoon some cool music to hang out. Abbas the owner was truly amazing, he did everything to make us feel at home. He and Amman (the boat man) were there for the group at any time and made our stay just unforgettable. We spent the days hanging out at beach, walking through the jungle, canoeing, playing volley ball or just talking to each other. The nights are truly mystical in Nipah: sitting at the fireplace, listening to some music and looking at the stars. Abbas is also a great cook, just a little slow ;-), but don’t worry every bite is worthwhile waiting. The bungalows are basic, but they could not be more beach front. The beach itself has three different colors from black to white, beautiful! Just go there and you will leave as a whole new person, the Nipah family will make your stay memorable for all times. My girlfriend even cried, when we left! We will go back some time.

9.3 wei X.
China
July 01, 2012
It is like Lost
Location is great as you may have the whole beach yourself.
we stayed there for 3 nights and all of us enjoyed our stay. this hostel is designed for those people who wants to get rid of the crowd and just want to spend time with their family or friends. by the way, try to book the hotel with sea view as the room will be cooler and cleaner.

7 Nigel F.
United Kingdom
June 04, 2012
Castaway experience
Remote location and friendly owner
if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life this is an excellent place to go. there is nothing here only two restaurants (one at the other resort), no shops, just real nature. nipah is run by a friendly guy abbas who is very laid back but cooks good food. he can provide western style breakfasts, tasty sandwichs and good local food at a reasonable price. you are completely dependant on the restaurants to provide all food even snacks and water. so if you need extras make sure you bring it with you. the telephone is unreliable so we couldn't contact abbas before we arrived on the island (the ferry does not stop at this area, you need to get there by boat). he has a cellphone which is an easier way to contact him but not provided by agodo. there seems to be some arrangements between to the two resorts so we were collected by the other resort - cost was 30rm each way. we stayed at the chalets right on the beach, very basic , definitely one star accomodation and a bit neglected. as a castaway experience we really enjoyed it.

6.7 Sophia M.
Australia
June 02, 2012
Cheapest most simple accommodation on the island
Amazing nature.
very basic seaside huts but they are situated in a lovely bay and are certainly the cheapest on the island. beautiful sandy beach. fresh water streams that lead back to a waterfall. amazing sunsets. very peaceful. lovely staff. there is no village, just the resort and their restaurant, so very few people and no where to buy snacks/supplies so do stock up before you arrive or take a boat to a village. cold water only. rooms aren't very clean. think dusty beach shack. the nature all around you is so beautiful that i didn't really mind.

10 Stephanie S.
Malaysia
May 22, 2012
Beautiful island and warm service
Beautiful beach
Due to non peak season there were not many people there. made a lot of new friends and swam with the sharks

8.7 pasi M.
Finland
May 17, 2012
Great place and great people and staff
Just on the beach
Really nice beach, quiet very peacefull place.It is only beer and soft drink cans available, so if you want to have wine or some thing else, bring it with you. You can buy wine ( and booze )at Genting, shop near info stand. But staff can bring it too, if you ask.

9 wei X.
China
May 06, 2012
"Lost" Island
You have the whole beach for your own...
It is really a great place to stay, all of us had great fun. It feels like "Lost" island, you don't have mobile phone signal, internet, but you have the beautiful beach and more. Staff are really friendly, however, due to its location, everything is slight more expensive than genting with limited options. Try to buy some needy stuff from genting before take the ferry to Nipah.