arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (170)

Business travelers (5)

Couples (92)

Solo travelers (7)

Families with young children (35)

Families with older children (22)

Groups (9)

Excellent
9.0
based on 170 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.3
Facilities
9.1
Location
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
9.4
Staff Performance
9.1
Value for Money
8.2
Food/Dining
8.3

9.3 Eric O.
United Kingdom
June 07, 2015
Picture perfect
Location, service & two islands for price of one
Perfect Location, great service & two islands for price of one Sweden destination

10 Samuel S.
Singapore
November 14, 2015
Paradise, a place I will never forget
Heavenly, chill and friendly staff
Maldives itself it's a perfect location for beach vacation. The hotel simply made it even more perfect. Stay was comfortable . Staff were friendly and everything is just too good . I will never forget this place. If I were to go back again I will still choose anantara

10 Samuel S.
Singapore
November 14, 2015
Paradise
Cosy, beautiful and friendly staff
Maldives itself it's a perfect location for beach vacation. The hotel simply made it even more perfect. Stay was comfortable . Staff were friendly and everything is just too good . I will never forget this place. If I were to go back again I will still choose anantara

9.7 MO C.
Hong Kong
May 26, 2015
Staff are friendly
Staff, clean and tidy, infinity pool

4 Kelly S.
United States of America
December 19, 2015
Fire in paradise
Water
In May, 2015, 5 friends from USA decided to go on a trip to the Maldives and Dubai.We rented 2 overwater villas on the sunset side and we opened the door to a lovely sitting room, large bedroom area, beautiful bathroom and deck with steps to the water. After a dip in the ocean, we had cocktails and went to bed around 10:30.My friend Mike who was staying in my villa awoke in the middle of the night screaming that our room was on fire and we had to wake up and jump out of the bathroom window.My sister,Mike and myself were all staying in one room and the sitting room and room were completely engulfed in flames.We couldn't go out the front door or the sliding door in the bedroom since at that point,literally 5 or 10 seconds,that whole wall, tv and roof were all ablaze.The only other option was to run out the bathroom and jump out of the window into the ocean in the middle of the night.There were no alarms, I repeat NO FIRE ALARMS, so it was eerily quiet,save for the sound of burning wood and glass exploding.We weren't sure what was going on.Had Mike not woken up when he did,we all would have died.Our friends villa next store was on fire so Mike climbed up their stairs into their place from the Oceanside.He woke them up,ran out their front door and then started banging on the other villas doors. No response from the resort. The 3 couples staying on the sunrise side thought it was people partying so they were leary of opening the door.They heard Mike yelling fire so they opened their doors and panicked when they realized the severity of the situation. At this point,no staff were on scene, no alarms were going off and the emergency glass box with a pull fire alarm didn't emit any sounds.

3.3 Kelly S.
United States of America
December 19, 2015
Fire in paradise part II
Water water water
We spent the next 5 days shuttling between the airport in Male and Sri Lanka, the USA Embassy in Sri Lanka, downtown Male and then Qatar before flying back to USA. Can you imagine losing everything and then having to replace it all? Well the next several weeks/month was spent getting new license, cancelling credit cards, new cell phone etc. Sounds trivial but it art of the problem was the staff's avoidance and/or acknowledgement of the situation and lack of sympathy.We were provided the name of the legal team in Thailand as Ananatara is part of a billion dollar publicly traded company called Minor. We wanted to be made whole from the whole adventur.After providing bank statements, receipts, pictures etc of everything we lost PLUS nearly weekly emails to the legal team, after 7 long months we were finally compensated for the loss of our material possessions. This week we were notified that while the cause of the fire is still inconclusive, the hotel claims no liability and thus our pain and suffering claim was denied. They advised us if we wanted to seek damages we'd have to retain counsel and file a suit. We're not after the money but it's the principle of the situation. We go on a once in a lifetime trip, almost die in a fire halfway around the world in a very corrupt country and are then jacked around for 7 months while the legal team 'deals with the insurers'. I know I'll never see another cent so I wanted to provide a review. Per the 2015 Maldivian fire and safety code, resorts are required to have extinguishers and a whole bunch of other paraphernalia given how flammable these 'huts' or deathtraps are. I would be very aware that this part of the world doesn't either have, follow or regulate standards the way most of the rest of the world does. I would just advise you to get travel insurance, NOT travel with anything valuable and probably not stay at this resort.

9.7 kelly H.
Indonesia
June 15, 2015
Very clean room and good service
cleanliness, view, service

9 Lim Z.
Singapore
May 26, 2015
Enjoyable
The sea view, service and quality
Very good and enjoyable

6 michael K.
Denmark
August 18, 2015
Overpriced !
You are in paradise, but the restaurants here are overpriced and distinctly average
The Good ! It is absolutely paradise: Palms, fine white sandy beaches and crystal clear water Our villa was built on stilts over the ocean, with access to the sea - It was lovely to step off the deck for a swim in the ocean in the mornings, which is the best time to swim. The room is nice/spacious with a large deck/terrace, overlooking the ocean and complete privacy. Sunny weather, with a lovely breeze. Beautiful sunsets and night sky on the deck/terrace Very quiet and relaxing, slept early and very well every night in large comfortable bed. Friendly staff The restaurants are all overlooking the sea, very idyllic/romantic settings. There is a separate coral island for snorkeling, which we enjoyed. The Bad ! Water is very shallow/warm, the pool was like a bathtub. The island is the resort, once round takes 10 minutes ! There are no restaurant options outside the resort (and its sister resort nearby). These are all very expensive and food is disappointingly average (except breakfast, which was actually fine). Twice we sent back the food ! Prices are about 40% more expensive than at 5-star Singapore hotels (not forgetting Singapore is now the world's most expensive city !) There are no shops or mini mart, the only alternative is the excessively-priced mini bar (US$ 9 for cup noodles) if you want a snack. The Verdict ! This is the most expensive hotel we have ever stayed at, more expensive than the Peninsular or Mandarin Oriental in HK (where we have never stayed) ! The hotel was nice, no question, but for this price, we expect 'wow' ! However, the location, scenery and water really is paradise ! We expected the restaurants/food to be expensive, but the quality was disappointing. We enjoyed our 4 days on the Maldives, which was just perfect, but if you stay any longer you quickly go stir crazy ! Make sure you ring a good book !

9.3 Jenny C.
Singapore
May 04, 2015
Thumbs up!
Beautiful views everywhere. Restaurants and food were great. Spa and massage were wonderful.
Very satisfying and enjoyable holiday. Everything at the resort was up to standard save for a few small aspects. Main drawback is that the resort does not offer buggy shuttle service to and from the villas and amentities which are quite far apart.