arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 101 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 101 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Jens B.
Germany
November 13, 2015
Small, calm island
Location, Location, Location
We went for 7 nights only, mainly to enjoy the special settings of the Maldives, relax and discover the underwater world by snorkelling. We achieved all this as the Angaga is a small, unhurried resort in a great location. What we expected. Staff was very attentive and friendly. The location for snorkelling and other water sports ideal. The food, plenty to choose but always buffet-style which was OK-ish for 7 days for us, however I would encourage the team at Angaga to offer a more selective/individual dining experience. With such a great location and far travel for many, I think in the dining experience department they can still grow. Two tiny little things that nagged on me - you can't buy any water or other drinks for that matter outside the two bars. The same for Wifi, you get free Wifi in the bars, outside you have to pay for it. Not great if you stay in a over-water villa. It just feels this is pushing the commercial aspect a bit too much. Other then this, really nice, little place.

Anita D.
Croatia
September 29, 2015
Excellent vacation
Great location, small and clean island, great service
It was very short and relaxing stay. Great service and beautiful nature, very clean island and facilities, good English speaking staff, nice choice of excursions and small entertainments.

Philipp D.
Switzerland
August 01, 2015
Island great, hotel alright
Scenery, beach, snorkeling
One of the most beautiful islands. Great beach. The resort itself is a little old. The just added more overwater bungalows. Maybe getting a little crowded now.

Razvan S.
United States
October 30, 2014
Paradise
the water bungalows, staff, location
The Maldives and Angaga was more then I could have imagined. It was simply paradise. The water was amazing, the staff was great and couldn't have asked for better weather. Everyday we were in awe about the Maldives. If there was one thing I could go back and change was to stay an extra week.

Heng V.
Singapore
July 16, 2014
Great!
Friendly staff
Great!

Cecilia C.
Singapore
June 21, 2014
Relaxing and serene
House reef, nice beach and clean room
The location of the resort is excellent with house reef and clean beach. Free Wifi accessible in the bars. Room were cleaned twice a day. Friendly staffs.

Jason A.
Singapore
April 09, 2014
small cosy resort
friendly staff, laid back lifestyle
-

Ngak T.
Malaysia
February 05, 2014
Very nice and relatively cheap compared the others
friendly staff, great location for snorkelling, affordable.
This is a three stars hotel, as according to the staff working at the Hotel ( who has worked in over 8 different hotels around Maldives ) Internet is accessible free of charge, stronger signal at the lobby, even though the staff the Hotel charged for the WiFi. Nice sunset is a daily event. You can upgrade to full board, or all inclusive at the Hotel ( cheaper than booking through agoda website )Only 1 restaurant on this island. and only accessible by seaplane. Very friendly staff that made your stay comfortable. Definitely the Hotel for guys who like underwater world. ( Much nicer than great barrier reef in Australia)Look for the person in charge of sports centre next to the Hotel lobby on the beach, Mr.Adhu,(Independent from the Hotel ) speaks a bit Chinese, and definitely helpful for non-swimmers, to make arrangement out to the seas, it is much cheaper than booking through the Hotel who cater for all gusts at the Hotel.

Ngak T.
Malaysia
February 05, 2014
It was a nice hotel, and relatively cheap.
snorkelling, friendly staff, food was OK
Maldives is a Muslim country, do not bring your own liquors or wines, they will be held at the custom. Do bring as much drinking water as possible, drinking water can be brought on board the sea plane. The only accessible transfer from male to Angaga is by seaplane, the view was OK, but it costs USD365 per person for return trip, recommend to look for hotel nearby Male where sea transfer is available to save for the vacation. ( One way by sea plane is good enough to see Maldives from the air ) This is the place for snorkeling and diving, very nice coral and lots of fishes. If you do not swim or snorkel, contact the sea sports person in charge ( Mr.Adhu )he is willing to help and cater for anything of your choice, including teaching you how to snorkel, my wife, who has never step into swimming pool in her life, started to enjoy snorkeling at the sea with the help of Adhu. Also, we booked 2 nights at the beach bungalows and 2 nights at the water villa, but was put directly to stay at the water villa for all 4 nights. ( Recommended to book one night at water villa and chances is that you will be upgraded to water villa free of change, otherwise, the charges you pay at the Hotel directly is still cheaper than you book directly from Agonda. Do not join the snorkeling trip or whale watching trip if you cannot swim or snorkeling, ( Hotel does not provide any life guide ) you need to get into deep water. Mr.Adhu, who operate independently from the hotel, offer a better and negotiatable rate. He is very responsible, great passion, very nice and friendly person.

Yit O.
Singapore
January 08, 2014
A fantastic holiday in a paradise on earth!
Crystal clear waters, amazing marine life, lovely sandy beach
It was an amazing 6-day family holiday,from the seaplane transfer from Male airport, to our return trip from Angaga resort. There were just enough activities to occupy us if we wanted, but none of us felt that we were obliged to participate. Staff were generally friendly and attentive, and we appreciated the twice daily room cleaning, as we needed clean towels throughout the day. One minor point though on the food - although we had absolutely no complaints about the quality and quantity, we felt that the standard of cooking could be improved. Fish dishes, for example, tended to be bland and not reflective of the quality and freshness expected of a sea resort. One afternoon we noticed baskets of fresh tuna being delivered to the kitchen from a fishing boat, but we never saw any fresh tuna dish served during our stay. Regardless, it was an awesome experience overall.