Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.9
Based on 282 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 282 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Ssu-Ting C. from Taiwan
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
so pretty view
It's so fantastic experience to live on water villa, and the staff of resort is very kindly...but the equipment not very new...
Reviewed March 21, 2016

Korina G. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Amazing resort
We had an amazing time in Thulhagiri. Their staff were great, kudos especially to Nasim. Thulhagiri resort may be a small island but there's enough room for you to have your own privacy. The beach is wonderful. If you want a little bit of snorkelling, get a water villa. There's plenty of fish right outside the villa.
Reviewed March 11, 2016

WILLIAM L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Good enough
There is no such thing as a cheap luxury resort in the Maldives this time of year. When I walked around being a bit critical of this and that, I was also recalling that was the price of the low-end resort - at 500-600 USD per night in the water villa! We stayed in the water villa. It was exactly what I wanted. It was great to be able to hop in the water, not worry about sand, lean over the railings and look at the fish. In the evenings a manta ray would come visit and hang out. The water villa was the main reason I wanted to go to Maldives, and I don't regret it despite the price. Food was fine, service was excellent - there are staff everywhere always willing to help. The diving situation was a bit of a disappointment. The instructors are fine, but unless there are four divers you can't go out on a boat, so you are stuck on the house reef. That's fine once or twice but maybe not more than four times. My only complaint was the air conditioner in the Water Villa wasn't very good. It was super loud, and was marginally effective. I was lucky to get the room down to 25 C at night. My AC at home (similar model) gets the room down to 20C quietly in no time at all. The AC in the Villa was like a jackhammer. Another reason I chose Thulhagiri was that it was very accessible by boat. This is an issue if you arrive after dark. Sea plans don't fly (or land) in the dark, so if you arrive in Maldives after dark and need a seaplane you have to sleep at the airport or in Male, then get on the seaplane in the morning. I recommend Thulhagiri - again not sure you will find much cheaper at least for the water villas.
Reviewed January 25, 2016

Vu T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Beautiful view
spectacular water view, only 15m from the airport and good services
paid an extra $100 pp for a mega dinner on the New Year eve, but foods were not much different and no drink was provided. in addition, there was no firework on the night, so we had to watch it from an island nearby. was surprised as no water was provided in room or at dinner?
Reviewed January 05, 2016

Marilyn N. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Very disappointing!
Beautiful white sand, gorgeous crystal clear water, sunshine
VERY disappointing! I stayed at this resort 3 years ago and it was fantastic. In the 3 years since my last stay the resort has really become a huge disappointment! The hut was dirty - hair from previous guest in shower, towels smelled musty, TV only received a couple of channels - most stationed displayed a message saying "dear customer your account is not current please make payment", the Internet is non-existent anywhere but at the bar and the food was marginal at best. For the price charged, the value and quality of the resort is not what one would expect. The prices at the spa have more than tripled! I would not recommend EVER staying at this resort! For the price there are much better options! I am so disappointed the the value and quality for the price that I would like to receive a refund! A complete FAIL with this resort! Don't waste your hard earned money to stay here - pick another resort so that your Maldivian escape isn't ruined by a dirty, rundown resort such as Thulhagiri!!! Stay away from this resort there are MUCH better options for a true wonderful experience!
Reviewed December 29, 2015

chansuda K. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Excellent house reef with crystal water.
Excellent house reef, crystal water. Best place for Snorkeling and Scuba divers. Great place for honeymooners.
Reviewed November 19, 2015

Maryani M. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed one night in April 2015
the view just amazing!
view, view and view!
We stayed at water villa. The sunrise was magnificient! The beach, the sea, everything crystal clear, we can just do snorkelling around our villa. Corals, fishes everywhere. I just enjoyed my stay and hey, surprisingly they also have activities and package that way cheaper than those in Hulhumale & Male guesthouses ;)
Reviewed May 05, 2015

Linh L. from Vietnam
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Heaven on earth
views, friendly staffs, price
We stayed here for 2 days and had unforgetable moments during our honeymoon. The water villa was beautiful and bed was so comfortable (you feel like swimming in your bed as you listen to the ocean waves in the evening). Food was okay but frankly too much buffet, nothing is special. The resort provides lots of excursions which you wouldn't want to miss such as sunrise/sunset dolphin watching, island hopping, canoeing, snorkling/diving... Price is affortable. Definitely I will come back.
Reviewed May 05, 2015

M Y. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Amazing Water Villa
The villa, the food and the decorations of the restaurant
This was a great stay. The Resort has a really beautiful water villa and the room looked exactly what we hoped for - a wooden villa with a private balcony where you can sunbathe in your own room. There was a staircase for you to go into the clear waters directly and you can see fish swimming around. The bed was not the most comfortable type of bed but it is nevertheless a romantic villa to stay. The reaction services was pricey and you could not opt for other choices as there was only one resort in the island. The variety of food is high and the quality is above average. They offer Western food from Salad to Indian food like curry. Lots of appetizers with beautiful decorations around. Just one downside - there were too much Chinese tourists who jumped the queue and took all the food in their plates. Waiters' services were OK, not friendly nor hostile, just doing their job. There were some love birds nesting around the hotel, which was a pleasant surprise to us. The love birds were very in love with each other. The overall environment around the hotel was really relaxing. If you are looking for a good water villa and does not expect perfect service, I would recommend this place.
Reviewed May 01, 2015

Danielle G. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015
Customer service?
Location.
Where to begin!? We arranged a joint speedboat transfer with the hotel from the airport when we landed. We were told 10min wait for the next flight, two people. 1hour and half later we are still waiting! This is not what you expect when you come to exclusive islands and pay a lot of money for it! So two hours after landing we finally left with 6other people. When the issue was brought up when we got to the hotel, we received no apology, and the guy simply laughed at us and said "that is what joint transfer means" oh I'm sorry- must not of switched one psychic powers that day! He spoke to us as though we were stupid and should have known that! This is really bad communication that could have been solved with an apology- which I got when I pointed out that he's not apologised. I've worked in customer service for many years and this is not how you behave. That issue aside, the rooms are dated and dirty- other persons hair in the bathroom. Cracks through the main door. Food is repetitive and the prices extortionate! ($5.35 for a can of Thai beer!)If you can, pay more and go else where.
Reviewed April 26, 2015