arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.8
Based on 1607 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1607 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Staff Performance 8.7
  • Value for Money 8.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4

Sana S.
Pakistan
April 02, 2015
Incompetency at its best
House reef
Skip it if you are looking for a well managed resort with trained staff. Probably the most incompetent reception and overall staff. The reception didn't even know their dinner/lunch buffet hours and had to "call you back" after checking. The snorkeling guide didn't know his own house reef and wasn't sure where the channels were. They don't care about conservativing the house reef, have zero instructions on proper reef care, allow kayakers over the reef so their paddles can hit the reef. At this rate, give it 4 years max and their house reef will be history. Was disgusted beyond belief! The rooms were always dusty, housekeeping never dusted, fingerprints of previous residents were everywhere. A disappointing stay!

Alla S.
Russia
April 01, 2015
Great snorkeling
Best snorkeling, great food, good service
This is our third time on Maldives. We enjoyed our stay with three kids. The island is very good option for the family with kids. Buffet had a great selection of food, always tasty and fresh. This is was our best snorkeling trip. Snorkeling was a main criteria for us, because many islands have dead corals. However, if we travel with my husband without kids, we prefer more personalized service, small restaurants and a-la carte menu. The island is small and have too many houses. We prefer more privacy. Though the service was great and the island is no question a good value for money.

Philip H.
New Zealand
March 27, 2015
Amazing stay at Vilamendhoo
Swimming with the whlae sharks, the boat trip and sipping cocktails at the Asian Wok restaurant
The highlight was definitely the 2 night boat trip where we swam with whale sharks, manta rays and turtles on board a very comfortable sailing ketch. The staff looked after us very well with excellent food and cool drinks and we enjoyed the international company of the other couples. Highly recommended if you like a little adventure. While we had a wonderful holiday on arrival we were let down by the fact that the champagne promised was not available until the following evening.

sheryl J.
Philippines
March 12, 2015
Paradise
Beach, water, reef

Varje M.
Estonia
March 10, 2015
Excellent place to stay
Service, catering and the island itself
Everything was great, no problems at all.

SISI L.
China
March 08, 2015
fantastic
view,location,environment
very pleasant stay,beautiful sunrise and sunset,clear blue sea,perfect snorkeling area,everthing is wonderful,only food is average.

SISI L.
China
March 08, 2015
Fantastic
environment,cleanliness,snorkeling
very pleasant and relax stay,most staffs are friendly and helpful. food is average,cooked food a bit salty.

Michael Z.
China
March 08, 2015
Amazing place
Food, activities and beautiful sea
I really enjoy the place and have fantastic experience. I would like to come next time.

Terence K.
United Kingdom
March 03, 2015
Well worth it
Snorkelling, diving, food
We stayed in a jucuzzi bungalow on the south side of the island - worth the xtra even if you don't use the jacuzzi (we didn't) - these rooms along with the water villas use the Adults only dining room which is much quieter than the main restaurant (though the food is the same). The room itself was fine - right on the beach, yards from the sea. The room was quite dark which made finding stuff tricky - a torch would be useful. The other slight downside is the semi-outdoor bathroom - there was a regular invasion of ants every night, though there were very few other bugs. Food is buffet style - very good staandard, mostly international with a curry corner. We also ate at the a la carte restaurant (Asian Wok) twice - really excellent food, service and good value. Snorkelling from the beach is easy - can usually swim straight to the reef edge; at very low tide you have to use one of the cut-throughs. We spied turtles, reef sharks, stone fish, scorpion fish, octopus, sting ray, eagle ray, morays, barracuda - endless variety. I also went diving a few times - the dive operation is well organised, usually 3 or 4 boats per day though if there aren't enough punters the trip is cancelled. I mostly dived with Adria and Margali who were both fantastic guides and quick to point out interesting stuff. The dive manager, Sonia, was also great - alwys ready for a chat or advice and seemed geuinely interested in how the dive had gone. Diving on the house reef was also great. Special mention for Lahtiff (room attendant) and Meezaad (waiter) who both did an excellent job. Vilamendhoo is a great value luxury Maldivian island. Only the pickiest of clients could find fault.

Chi W.
Hong Kong
March 01, 2015
Excellent hotel
Clear water, beautiful view, good service
Great environment for snorkelling