arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.8
Based on 1606 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1606 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for Money 8.9
  • Food/Dining 8.4

9.7 Elise G.
Australia
January 20, 2016
Lovely stay
Adult Area, House Reef, Rooms
We enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a beach view villa. Outdoor bathroom is a nice touch, yes there are ants at nighttime but they go away. The food is plentiful however we aren't buffet eaters, so would prefer the option of Ala Carte included on the AIP or a discount at the Ala carte restaurant. We found the cocktails average but we aren't big drinkers. We do like our wine & that was a miss. The house wines offered were just not nice. The island is lovely, good gym set up, small range of activities & the house reef is excellent. We did the whale shark excursion & that was great. The seaplane to the island was good fun & took 25mins so worth the expense as the view is awesome. I would suggest going half board as you could have late breakfast & early dinner. If you are a drinker though AIP is for you as drinks are expensive. The activities are limited on AIP you get: 1 hour of kayaking each day, 1 hour of tennis (courts were shut out of order when we booked), 1 windsurfing lesson, 1 tennis lesson, and 1 hour badminton. I expected you just had free access all the time like other resorts. Bring your own snorkel, mask & fins if you have them as they are not included in AIP. My partner got ill on the trip & the Dr on the island was excellent & well priced. I was slightly disappointed thought with management as after talking with several staff about my partner being unwell, not able to eat, leave the room much or use activities for over 3 days no one thought to offer him something, approach him to say they were glad he was okay or even check to see if he was okay. Unfortunately this is not the first time we have had a illness on a trip at the Marriott we were offered a nice meal & massage so he ‘relaxed after the ordeal’. We missed the sunset cruise due to his illness and this was mentioned to staff but all we got was "that's a shame.' Overall I would say to come here as the price is fair, just don't have your expectations at 5* resort & you'll enjoy it

9.3 Ka L.
Hong Kong
January 19, 2016
Excellent house reef and service
wonderful house reef, all inclusive package, many activities/night events
food is so-so. Others are very good

9.7 Gerardus V.
Netherlands
January 18, 2016
Amazing stay
Beautiful beach and reef, good food, nice staff
We went with 2 small kids of 3.5yo and 8 months. Quite the hassle getting everyone to the resort but it was all worth it once we arrived. Beautiful scenery, great beach and reef, just walk 5 minutes from your villa and you're among an array of colorful fishes. It is not a great place for small kids. We knew this before going to the resort, but we opted to stay here for its house reef and somewhat affordable prices. They make an effort to accommodate the kids but please do not expect something suitable for your young ones. - The "kids pool" is small without any imagination, and the accompanying bigger pool is 2 meters deep which makes it very difficult to swim with your kids except in the very shallow kids pool. There is a small playground adjacent though which my eldest enjoyed. Food is good, every day different and high standard. Staff performance has its flaws but very nice and courteous throughout our stay. We would go again in the future. This time without kids.

9.3 Volker H.
Switzerland
December 26, 2015
Absolutely amazing!
Food / Diving centre / staff
We had a wonderful and relaxing stay. Everything was amazing, from the friendly staff member who took care that the beach in front of our bungalow is (very) neatly cleaned from leaves, to the absolutely fantastic food. Not to forget the very attentive staff. Another highlight was the house reef with sharks and morays and beautiful corals.

9 Izumi S.
Japan
December 22, 2015
Clean and good accommodation
Silence, Clear and fishy sea water, Water cottage is recommended
30 min from Male Sea plane terminal, flights are many and comfortable. Quite clear sea water and neat facility bring us of the rlaxization. Not so much expensive pricing even for water cottage. Foods are average and all the island we can walk with bear foot, quite clean beach and inland passages. Nice resort, may consider to come back again. For divers, very famous big game diving spots are a bit away here and we can enjoy reef and coral dive all the day.

9 Sylvia T.
Indonesia
December 04, 2015
Great food
Food, warm welcome, value for money

7.3 Darin L.
Thailand
December 03, 2015
Well management
Coral reefs, staff, cleanliness
Overall is good. The food which was re cooked from leftover or the meal before are very dry.

8.7 John D.
Australia
November 26, 2015
Amazing food and house reef
Selection of food at buffet, quality of villas, snorkelling on house reef
This was our second stay at Vilamendhoo in 2 years. It is a beautiful island and the service is fantastic from the check-in at the sea-plane lounge (we have a 2 hour wait for our sea plane but were provided a free meal and unlimited drinks and internet in the very comfortable lounge), through the resort check-in, restaurant service and tour guides. The house reef is excellent for snorkelling and the range of extra snorkelling tours are great and of good value. The spa (whilst a little pricey) is of excellent quality. Having a massage whilst looking down at the fish on the reef is worth the price of admission. The selection of buffet food is always amazing and there is something for everyone (including our vegetarian half). The villas are clean and very well maintained. My only constructive criticism is that some of the staff (typically the porters and room staff) can create an awkward atmosphere in hanging around waiting for tips. They will stand outside your room and make small talk until you effectively pay them or close the door in their face. My recommendation would be to institute a general tip collection service to be distributed amongst all staff including the porters and beach cleaners etc (you could even recommend a daily value per person). This would remove the problems associated with some staff. We are happy to tip good service and did so for our spa therapist and waiter. The only other recommendation would be to put a tide chart up at the dive shop so guests could check the tides times and plan their snorkelling. Other than this, it was a brilliant stay and we would strongly recommend for anyone to stay there.

9.7 Rui S.
United States
November 23, 2015
amazing
room, snorkle, wild life
it was amazing, i did a lot of snorkeling and photo taking.

10 LUCY P.
Malaysia
November 23, 2015
staff polite,clean
staff polite,clean
very relaxing