arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 60 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 60 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 6.9

9.3 Tibo L.
France
April 27, 2015
Impressive staff and good trekking
Fantastic staff, good location, good hikes

10 Hebah A.
United States
April 13, 2015
Great Place if You Need a Taste of Home
Beds, Location, Food
Loved everything about it. Upgraded us for free even when there was a misunderstanding. The staff were so nice. TV, soft beds, great little town, trekking awesome, and so comfortable.

8.3 jessica H.
Australia
January 13, 2015
tops
goid hsipaw base
Short and effective

6.3 Natalia K.
Poland
December 19, 2014
Good place for trekking arrangements
Location close to the dining area, experienced guides available for consult / trek arrangements, responsive personnel
The greatest benefit was the trekking know-how available on-site, treks could be arranged basically one day in advance, very proffesional and flexible guides. Staff in general were very helpful, breakfast was also good but we would not recommend the restaurant - overpriced, service - non-existent. The room was also quite pricey - too much for its cleanliness level.

9.3 Andrew H.
United Kingdom
December 07, 2014
Perfect location and comfort for exploration
Good value rooms. Attentive staff. Excellent breakfast.
Good choice of accommodation if you want good quality at a very reasonable price. Staff were very friendly and reacted quickly to any questions/problems you had. I had a problem with a leaking shower and they immediately moved me to another room. There was no trying to fix it whilst I remained in the room. Breakfast was buffet style and a good choice of Myanmar and Western food. Probably one of the best breakfasts during my 3-week stay in Myanmar. If you want to go trekking from 1 to 3 days then the hotel is a good place to arrange that with guides who visit during the afternoon/early evening between 4pm and 6pm. Transport from the hotel meets the train from Mandalay. However it can get full as most people head to this hotel or the guesthouse of the same name next door. If there's no room then it's only a 10-15 minute walk from the station and easy to find. Having been on the train for 12 hours it was good to stretch the legs.

9.7 Charles V.
United States
December 05, 2014
Simply the Best
The friendliness of the staff, their attention to detail in providing services that travelers need, and the good value of the spotless rooms.
It is a rare and pleasant surprise when traveling that you come upon an establishment such as Mr. Charles Hotel and Guesthouse. Mr. Charles two daughters and son-in-law do a magnificent job in providing travelers with everything they need. Their attention to detail, their daily friendly smiles, and their going out of the way in order to make your stay there a pleasant one is seldom seen in other places. An example is the guides who meet there every morning to answer questions and make suggestions about all the treks available. It was by far the best place I stayed in during my month of traveling in Myanmar. And a very good value for the beautiful accommodations. I highly recommend it.

8 Susanne B.
Netherlands
November 30, 2014
Big hotel, nice rooms
Fine breakfast, trekking info & guides, nice rooms
Rooms are pretty nice if you compare it to other hotels in Myanmar. Depends a bit of the type of room maybe as our $32 room was definitely more spacious with bath and shower than the $28 room we had after that. But both were fine. Staff was helpful, nice that they have area where trekking guides hang out where you can discuss trekking options. We liked the 2 day 1 night trekking very much! $20 pp okay price. Location hotel is okay town isn't that big anyway, close to mr shake: please go there it's delicious! :) Mr Charles is nice hotel but it's a bit big scale /serves mass tourism which we didn't like so much but that's personal I guess. R

8 Griet D.
Belgium
November 24, 2014
good, clean hotel with nice staff
great treks. comfortable rooms and very good breakfast
This is a very nice hotel to stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean. They have different rooms and quality depends on price. Nice balcony to relax, bikes for rent, laundry and office for treks with departure next day is possible. I loved the pancakes for breakfast!

9.3 Catherine M.
New Zealand
November 10, 2014
Confidence i staff abilities and helpfulness.
Friendly greeting and a cool drink when we arrived

9.3 Dirk J.
Germany
August 30, 2014
nice stay
location, rooms, staff
nice stay in a nice city, good starting point for hiking