Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1696 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

Richard M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Good
nice location
Good location downtown. Can walk to the Strand or to Scott's Market easily. Staff is nice and speak decent English Across from Trader's hotel which has a nice happy hour
Reviewed May 08, 2014

francis C. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2014
Great location, basic amenities. Cleanliness poor.
Location location location
Okay for short stays. Better than others in the same category. Basic hotel.
Reviewed May 07, 2014

Joyce T. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2014
Good comfortable accommodaition
location, staff, cleanliness
For the $118, I would like to have hot water and some real juices in the morning, not sugary drinks. Also, more variety in breakfast would be appreciated.
Reviewed May 04, 2014

Nathawan S. from Thailand
Families with young children
Stayed one night in April 2014
Good location
Staff / Facilities / Near shopping area
Staff can speak English very well, water can get free all the time and near shopping area .
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Jean-Paul C. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Average
Centrally located, fast room service, good price
Room was comfortable but the following can be improved - No door for the bathroom or the toilet - Tap broken - The room floor was dusty - Some TV channels not working
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Tracey M. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2014
Great, convenient location+ staff
location, staff + view
Excellent conveniently located in Yangon Bright orange so easy to find
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Sarita S. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Good location and friendly staffs
Location, Friendly Staff, value of money
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Alan R. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
Reasonable, good location, embarrassing toilet
Papaya milk shakes, ambient music, central location
Ideal location in the central area, with markets, restauarants and the sights all in walking distance. Breakfast was fine for a small hotel and the staff in the restaurant and elsewhere were fine. I liked the restaurant with its trendy decor and good mix of ambient and other music. The bedroom was a reasonable size but -- and this is a big but - the toilet and the only window were behind a screen that folded in and out. Why couldn't a proper toilet have been put behind a door, perhaps swapped with the shower?Rather embarrassing, even for us, a long-married couple. Don't take your girlfriend here for a romantic getaway, if you're prone to farting. Our shower kept overflowing into the bedroom, too. But it was value for the money we paid.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Tracey M. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2014
Excellent, well located in Yangon and great staff
location,staff, understanding management
Excellent. They very kindly let me leave a bag with them for 5 days whilst I travelled elsewhere. Centrally located
Reviewed April 09, 2014

Edwina T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Basic hotel but great location
location, location, location
East Hotel is not a boutique hotel - but it is a good average hotel. The best thing is the location, walking distance to many sights and restaurants, and with taxi's always outside. It's also only max 40mins to the airport even when traffic is busy (10mins at night). We had a retro concept deluxe room as a friend who had stayed there said it was much better than the concept deluxe. Certainly the room was a good size, with a safe, wardrobe, small desk and decent bed. Air con was very efficient. Bathrooms were ok - in our first room (2nd floor) we had great water pressure; not so much in our 2nd room on the 7th floor. Walk in shower, toilet and wash basin. Hot water always available. In one room the bathroom was only separated from the main room by a screen and the shower looked on to the bed so make sure you are very friendly if you are sharing a room! However a couple of things really let the hotel down: - mosquito's: Not much you can do about them outside, but the breakfast room was full of them, and the first bedroom we had was full of them (it was in the building next door to the main hotel). Take coils to burn and repellant. - breakfast: fairly average, food on the buffet didn't look too fresh but we ate it and no problems. Plenty of juice (not fresh though) and tea/coffee. They also offer eggs/pancakes from a menu but on our 2nd visit we had to ask for the menu, no staff offered and they were slow to clear the tables etc. - check out: the staff told us the hotel was not full and so we asked to check out at 2pm (vs 12pm). They told us no way, and they didn't even have anywhere else to shower or freshen up for our flight. Other than that the staff were very friendly and made restaurant reservations for us, got us taxi's etc. - value: Hotel is way over priced compared to other SE Asian cities, but probably a fair price for Yangon. Don't expect to get what you would for this money in e.g. Hanoi or Bangkok though.
Reviewed April 09, 2014