Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1696 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Shang L. from Hong Kong
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
comfortable, quiet but it's a bit to costly
friendly staff, nice view from window, clean room
staff were friendly, although the window inside the room was small, the view was so nice. it is a bit to costly, but hotels everywhere in yangon do.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Chanjira W. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
good location
wifi room and location near my business
Reviewed January 06, 2014

barbara H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in December 2013
Central hotel, overpriced for a very poor hotel..s
Clean room, nice staff, friendly staff. Good location
Another overpriced hotel in Yangon. The staff were excellent..but the room. Very poor..toilet, and shower..and locked windows..small expensive and pocky.i would not recommend it..the staff really tried, the owner was too busy counting his money to make essential upgrades!
Reviewed January 05, 2014

James R. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Stylish and modern with a great liocation
location, design and price
Great stay at East Hotel and would recommend it. As the price of rooms in Yangon has skyrocketed recently most places are charging far above what rooms of similar quality used to be and compared to neighbours like Bangkok, Phnom Penh and Ho Chi Minh. So for the price this is good value and has a great loction just across from the well known Traders Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and roms comfortable and interestingly decorated. Overall a good choice.
Reviewed January 05, 2014

Jacky L. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2013
Unpleasant stay
Staff were competant
Noisy rooms-could hear neighbours all the time. Possibly due to echoey corridors, thin walls, and the type of guests this hotel attracts (alot of Asians). There was insufficient furniture to put things on, and the rooms were dark. Hot watere takes a long time to come on, so long that I rang reception to say there was no hot water. The bathroom was very small, could not do any handwashing of clothes. It also did not have a door.
Reviewed January 03, 2014

Neil H. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2013
Very bad hotel. Crappy room.
I am hard pressed to think of anything positive about this hotel except it's right across the street from the Trader's hotel
This room was loud. The windows wouldn't open. The shower had to run for 20 minute before the water got warm. No bottled water in my room. Breakfast was mediocre. There was mold all over the room. The shower was disgusting. The toilet was lopsided. Nothing much going about this hotel. I was much more comfortable in my $100 Backpacker's hotel the night before across the street. I only moved because I didn't want to stay in a backpacker's hotel, but it would have been preferable to staying in this hotel.
Reviewed January 02, 2014

Neil H. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2013
Central hotel. All hotels are expensive in Yangon.
Good location. Pleasant staff. Easy to find.
Beware there is no door on the bedroom toilet, otherwise the room is acceptable.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Christopher S. from Japan
Business travelers
Stayed 7 nights in December 2013
Great location, friendly and helpful staff.
The location, staff and comfort where the best things about this hotel.
We had an excellent stay at the East Hotel. It is fantastically located and has helpful staff. It is within walking distance of most major attractions in Yangon. The staff were willing to book travel and restaurants for us.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Andrew L. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Centrally located, room can be better lit
Location, helpful staff, access to public transport
Although fairly new, my stay was not comfortable due to traffic noise, mosquitoes in the room, the poor quality of the wardrobe and a very poorly lighted foyer inside the room which made the entrance look very dark and the wardrobe and safe near impossible to use. I would rather have light than 'retro'! The wardrobe quality was so bad, shards of wood were falling off. Also, the dimly lighted foyer resulted in my keying in the wrong password and having to call the security staff. Breakfast could be better
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Bertil L. from Sweden
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
A cpmfortable, centrally located hotel.
1. The location, 2. Helpful and attentative staff, 3. Reasonably priced for Yangon.
The staff was very helpful and even rang airlines for me to check bookings and timings. The hotel is located in the heart of Yangon and, therefore, a good place to meet people (it's easy to find for them as well).
Reviewed December 17, 2013