Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.7
Based on 873 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 873 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 8.2
Sort by

Sean M.
United Kingdom
December 07, 2015
Best Value For Money in 30 Years Of Travel
1. Staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome and valued. 2. Extras Fruit Bowl, 1 x Beer, 1 x Water and1 x Fruit Juice all free 3. Price £27 incl Breakfast
I have been travelling for 30 years to all corners of the world including the best room in the top 5 star hotel in Kathmandu yet the Ambassador Garden Home was the best value hotel I have stayed in. Comfortable room with en suite toilet and shower. WiFi, TV and fridge and smack bang in the centre of town. To get this with Breakfast included for £27 for the night was amazing value for money but that wasn't even everything! There was a free Fruit Bowl and a Beer, Water and Fruit Juice in the fridge all on the house. Finally the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. They really did everything to help and make me feel valued.

Shaun C.
Australia
November 30, 2015
A lovely hotel in the chaos of Kathmandu
The staff, food and location
We really loved this hotel. The staff and the owner were great and very professional. The rooms were very good, clean and the garden was so beautiful. And the owner have 2 beautiful pugs! The petrol shortage was on when we were there, the Nepalese are really suffering, they need tourists to visit. The hotel staff went out off their way to help us go to Pokhara. The Agh trekking company that runs out of the hotel were great, they organised everything for us. We would go back to this hotel in a flash, we really enjoyed our stay there

Kharolina L.
Indonesia
November 23, 2015
i give my 4 thumbs for this hotel
food, hospitality, location
i booked in Agoda, strategic location, warm and comford food, and a very nice staff

Roni S.
United States
November 22, 2015
BEST place to stay in Kathmandu!
The garden and rooms are beautiful, the food is amazing and the location can't be beat!!!!
The staff is like a family, so warm and welcoming. The room was beautiful, spotless and they provided every detail you could need. The garden is relaxing like an oasis from the chaos of the city. The breakfast that is included is amazing! All the food was wonderful. You are right across the street from a supermarket and right in the center of the action making it easy to get around. The staff and owner take care of you like you are family!

Tanongchai L.
Thailand
November 16, 2015
Everything You Want is here!
Center of Thamel, Near Restaurant, Near Shopping Spot
I love this hotel very much because it make you feel calm. And it is located in the center of Thamel that you can walk to anywhere.

Tariq J.
United Kingdom
November 16, 2015
Home from Home
The welcome and care of the owner and staff, the location and the beautiful garden and views of the mountains
We stayed for 11 days. The owner and everyone else at the Lodge gave us a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them even in these difficult days for Nepal. They were happy to give advice and guidance on local attractions. The location is great being only a 5 minute gentle stroll to Lakeside and central to all amenities. The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. The shower was always hot and the wifi was reliable. We will definitely stay again when we return to Pokhora.

Bryan W.
United States
August 18, 2015
Oasis in the middle of Thamel
The three best things about this hotel are the staff the location, and again the staff
We very much enjoyed our stay here. They accommodated all of our requests quickly and cheerfully. The staff went out their way to meet our needs. The hotel is located in the heart of Thamel surrounded by great restaurants. We had a room on the fourth floor facing way from the street. The windows were double glass, so we could not hear any outside noise. They served us a big breakfast every day, and offered to substitute the set menu for what we desired. We would recommend this hotel to other travelers looking for a place to stay in Katmandu.

Hendro W.
Indonesia
July 20, 2015
Feel stay at my home, not in a hotel
Location, hommy, clean
Wonderfull service by staff ....

Felicia C.
Singapore
May 02, 2015
No lift hotel
Climb, climb & climb
There is no lift in this hotel, which you will have to walk & walk the stairs if you stay at 4th level. However, the rooms welcome you with 2 free cans of beer after long walk up. Mineral water & fruits are provided free too. Best thing is to have a good bed, nice room and good shower after back from long trek.

Felicia C.
Singapore
May 02, 2015
Lack on communcation
Clean, cosy & comfortable
Overall the stay is very comfortable and good breakfast except lack of communication. My Nepalese guide has booked the rooms in advance under my name and I made another booking through Agoda when my group expanding. The hotel saw there was similar booking under same name, cancelled my guide booking without checking with him. Only realised the problem when my guide went down to make the payment. The 5 of us have to stay at another hotel because of the hotel mistake. At the least, they could have contact the guide to clarify the matter. Hope the hotel will not make the same mistake in future.