Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 114 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.8
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 5.9

neil R. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 11 nights in April 2014
Nice place, no frills
Price, price, price
First the bad: breakfast was pretty basic and the rooms could have been cleaner, especially the bathroom. On the plus side, the price cannot be beat, staff were super friendly and the location is just off the main drag. Overall, great place.
Reviewed March 27, 2015

SUBRAMANIAM N. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2015
VALUE FOR MOINEY
CLEAN AND GOOD LOCATION
SATISFACTORY
Reviewed March 08, 2015

Adrian M. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
great location, ok room, great people!
staff, location, value
I was happy with reliable pick up from KTM airport, nice guys met me had OK English and was nice secure arrival. The hotel had adequate not excellent room quality but I hasten to add that the attitude and effort of the staff made the place from standard quality into excellent quality. They made a VW feel like a Porsche! The breakfast included every morning was both generous and well cooked with nice hot drink, setting me up for a good few hours walking into the day, so no need food really until evening, which meant I could focus on touring not food. This is a 'hidden' gem of a place and cannot recommend highly enough - I had friends in other places who paid much more, for much less benefit. Choose this hotel and you will not regret is my suggestion.
Reviewed February 15, 2015

MINWOO K. from South Korea
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2015
comfort, silent,
comfort price silent
Reviewed February 12, 2015

Vadim S. from Russia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Cheap and nice hotel
Price, location, large rooms
The hotel is nice. Very cheap and still offers good conditions. The problems are the hot water (absent almost all the time) and electric sockets (that don't hold the plug), but these two things seem to be the same for all Nepali hotels I have visited, and can be understood as a general problem for the country. The location is convenient, it's in Thamel but the hotel is located on the small backstreet, so you can breath freely.
Reviewed January 13, 2015

Clarine H. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2014
So so
Comfy bed
Not bad. Receptionists are friendly and helpful. They helped us to arrange a trip to Chitwan National Park. Buy unfortunately the person who is incharge of bringing us to the bus station is lost himself. He don't even know he's way there! Ended up taking other busses that's going to elsewhere but not Chitwan and had a whole lot of trouble before we got back to our own bus.
Reviewed January 07, 2015

Jiang W. from China
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Hotel staff very hospitable
Our flight was delayed for almost 3 hours. However, the hotel staff has waited at the airport until we came out. I was very touched by their credibility and professionalism!
Reviewed December 24, 2014

Kyja N. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Good Budget Hotel
Staff, room size, breakfast
Reviewed December 22, 2014

QI L. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Well located, quite and nice place
Location, quite
Staffs were nice, hotel itself is well located in Central Thamel. Confortable and quite, shower can be slightly hotter ;)
Reviewed December 05, 2014

Frank W. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Good location in Thamel, decent value
Good quiet location in Thamel, good value, friendly helpful staff
The central Thamel location makes Hotel Silver Home convenient to shopping and a wide selection of good restaurants. The friendly helpful staff are able to arrange for rafting and other activities. A decent breakfast is included as is airport pickup for those staying 3 nights or more. A good value budget option.
Reviewed November 30, 2014