Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.3
Based on 328 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 328 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

Susan R.
New Zealand
September 30, 2015
Laid back life at the Katmandu Guest House
location, garden, atmosphere
The KGH is an institution in Katmandu and a place I've stayed during each of my five trips to Nepal. The garden is an oasis of calm in what can be a busy city but I was unsure what to expect following the 25th April earthquake earlier this year. Part of the old wing, which was extensively damaged, is being reconstructed and is due for completion in the next 6-8 weeks. However guests come first and work doesn't start until most guests are eating breakfast! Using the garden as part of the dining area was a great choice and adds to the atmosphere, for me. As usual I stayed in the old wing which boasts both twin and double rooms (my changing plans meant I tried both!) although the bathroom arrangements were interesting. One shower drained under the hand basin meaning that once one shower had been taken the floor was wet. One room had the shower drainage organised but placed the hand basin by the entrance door. These idiosyncies apart the rooms are spacious and offer Trekkers plenty of space to dry clothing. Each of the rooms I stayed in had a great view of the garden, but could be noisy with early/late arrivals walking passed in the small hours. Overall rating : I'll definitely be returning!

YUTAKA H.
Japan
September 14, 2015
Reasonabe and friendly staff
Friendly clerks, reasonable price, acceptable facility.
Clerks were all friendly and kind. They always talk to me with warm smiles and ask me if I need any help. When some problems happen, they tried all their best to help me even if it's my own problem. Not expensive but rather cheap. Nevertheless facilities were all at acceptable level or above. And rooms are very safe and secured. Finally food is also good. You can have good dinner in hotel terrace.

Helen H.
United Kingdom
August 10, 2015
Over Rated
The garden at the front, the garden at the back and the entrance
Mediocre certainly not 5 star. Tiny room and bathroom

Juha-Matti S.
Finland
July 17, 2015
Location good, first room was bad
location, location, location
First they put me in some bad quality room, lots of problems. Fan did not work, televisoon not work. After telling these problems they finally change me to room that was ok. Dont know why they put customers who stay longer time, to bad quality rooms. And if you stay one night you get good room right away. Like i did last time.

Juha-Matti S.
Finland
July 05, 2015
Location and reliable good old Kathmandu Guest Hou
Location, staff performance, reliable hotel
Been this Hotel many times over The years. Now first time back after Quake. Still same reliable good Hotel! Will return here :)

亦依 郑.
China
April 14, 2015
best hotel during my stay in nepal
attentive staff, lovely room, center location
The staff offered really good and helpful servivce. One of my luggage wheels was broken and the staff contacted their repairman to make it work. The hotel located in the center of the thamel and it's very convenient to get any shops or restaurants. The counter on 1st floor would arrange your tour according to your personal requirements with a price a little bit higher than the market but acceptable.

aziah A.
Malaysia
March 13, 2015
must stay hotel
the garden, the dining area n the staff
it's very relaxing to be in the garden & the staff always smile & friendly

Nikhil R.
India
March 11, 2015
good hotel.
Good Staff, good Location.
Stay was over all good but when I asked for a tea maker and hair dryer they answer this is only provided in deluxe room only as we have paid a good amount they must have provided that.

Rachael L.
Australia
January 27, 2015
Really enjoyed my stay
Comfort, food, cleanliness, staff
Great start and end to my Himalayan trek. Right in the heart of the shopping district.

Steven M.
Australia
January 19, 2015
Centrally Located
Friendly staff, cheapest in house hotel shopping arcade and clean
Stayed for two nights before my trek and three days after. My room was a budget room, you pay for what you get but I found it comfortable. Bed was OK, Bathroom was small with shower very close to the toilet itself but compared to where I’d come from it was great to have a HOT shower. WiFi in room was slow but it worked for me. Would I stay here again, yes maybe in a better room. Location was great close to supermarket and large variety of shops and restaurants. Hotel Restaurant was good, lots of variety on menu and good coffees. Breakfast was good as well.


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: