arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.4
Based on 325 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 325 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Staff Performance 7.1
  • Value for Money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 6.7

3.7 Ghemar S.
Philippines
December 16, 2015
An overated hotel
Location
I feel like im in a cage. Very small room, small bed, small toilet/bath, expensive. There are other hotels in the same location half the price of KGH but offer better service, faster internet, bigger new room and with uninteruptsble power supply despite nepals power shedding. Will not recommend, will never comeback.

9 Nafees R.
Bangladesh
December 10, 2015
Great location and quite clean and comfortable
Location, cleanliness and the garden
It was amazing! I recommend it highly to tourists.

9.7 Gerard G.
United Kingdom
December 03, 2015
Kathmandu city break
Staff friendliness, location, ambience.
Absolutely fantastic, a sublime experience.

9.7 Roger S.
United States
November 29, 2015
Great weekend.
Location, staff and ambience.
Lovely

6 Pramesh S.
Australia
November 24, 2015
Contrast between different types of rooms
Location
For the first night we booked the standard room which had -hair on the bed -ripped bed sheets -dirty sheets -pathetic towels. For the second night we upgraded to the deluxe room, which was a lot better. Clean sheets, towels, and linen. I would have thought,regardless of the room (standard or deluxe) the basics would be the same, which was not the case. If your going to pay for deluxe, there are better hotels in the area for the money.

6 Wai L.
Malaysia
October 15, 2015
1st Trip to Kathmandu 7th to 11th October 2015
1. Location 2. Courtyard-relaxing/excellent hang out (though a great deal of renovation works still in progress) 3. Rooms-clean (though dusty from reno works)
Because rooms were purchased thru Agoda, probably at lower rates than my other friends, KGH initially housed me on the 5th floor where renovation works were in progress, room was dusty with saggy beds and window facing broken walls! They later changed me to a more pleasant room on the 3rd floor.Though extremely basic (amenities was only a bar of soap and two bottles of h20), bed linens and toilet were clean and pleasant. House keeping and restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. Whilst Front Desk people are more realistic, asking for more money to upgrade the room. Renovation works are noise from morning till late evening - with hammering, breaking down and putting up of walls, etc on each level of the low rise surrounding the courtyard. Hopefully, after all the renovation works are completed and fuel crises over (hotel is only serving basic breakfast and some light food for dinner - at this period), KGH may be a notch higher.

8 Sharon S.
Malaysia
October 12, 2015
Convenient location
clean, central, variety of rooms
I had stayed at KGH previously but only in the garden view (non-aircon) rooms. This was the first visit since 2009. Although they are still rebuilding after the earthquake, there was no construction noise from my room in the deluxe wing. The breakfast, though limited, was good, and while the price for the deluxe room is a bit high, it is worth it for the aircon (though on the cooler nights, we didn't need it). Also, on some days, there was no electricity (not unusual for Kathmandu) and the lift wasn't working so we had to climb 4 flights of stairs. If you have difficulty with stairs, it's best to get a lower floor room.

4.3 Prem C.
United Kingdom
October 08, 2015
Poor room and poor customer service
Location, courtyard, lobby
I reserved and paid for a room with breakfast for two people and requested a big bed, but upon check-in when the staff realised I was alone, I was given a room with 2 narrow beds (less than 3 feet wide). I noticed when a senior staff instructed the check-in staff to change my room type and this was after I told him I reserved a room with a double bed. He couldn't care less about what I wanted. The ceiling fan made so much noise, I had to turn it off to get any sleep; but then it was too hot. Included buffet breakfast was ordinary, and although there were lots of staff about, it was difficult to get any service from them. If you managed to engage them, they were pleasant enough, but they did their best to avoid you. Tables were never laid properly - always had to get up and get stuff. This hotel is clearly riding on its reputation. Other hotels in Katmandu and elsewhere in Nepal for less money are better and provide better service.

8 Susan R.
New Zealand
September 30, 2015
Laid back life at the Katmandu Guest House
location, garden, atmosphere
The KGH is an institution in Katmandu and a place I've stayed during each of my five trips to Nepal. The garden is an oasis of calm in what can be a busy city but I was unsure what to expect following the 25th April earthquake earlier this year. Part of the old wing, which was extensively damaged, is being reconstructed and is due for completion in the next 6-8 weeks. However guests come first and work doesn't start until most guests are eating breakfast! Using the garden as part of the dining area was a great choice and adds to the atmosphere, for me. As usual I stayed in the old wing which boasts both twin and double rooms (my changing plans meant I tried both!) although the bathroom arrangements were interesting. One shower drained under the hand basin meaning that once one shower had been taken the floor was wet. One room had the shower drainage organised but placed the hand basin by the entrance door. These idiosyncies apart the rooms are spacious and offer Trekkers plenty of space to dry clothing. Each of the rooms I stayed in had a great view of the garden, but could be noisy with early/late arrivals walking passed in the small hours. Overall rating : I'll definitely be returning!

9 YUTAKA H.
Japan
September 14, 2015
Reasonabe and friendly staff
Friendly clerks, reasonable price, acceptable facility.
Clerks were all friendly and kind. They always talk to me with warm smiles and ask me if I need any help. When some problems happen, they tried all their best to help me even if it's my own problem. Not expensive but rather cheap. Nevertheless facilities were all at acceptable level or above. And rooms are very safe and secured. Finally food is also good. You can have good dinner in hotel terrace.