Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 44 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 44 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 5.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Hugh L. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Probably Best Round Deal in Kathmandu
Clean,nice rooms,friendly staff and good location
This was my second time to Kathmandu and the first time at the Radisson. I was impressed with just about everything except that the Casino was not open.However they upgraded my room and I stayed in the new part, but was not in main building.At first I worried but soon found the restaurtant and outside bar to be to my liking.The premium room wasn't large, but was great.40 inch in wall tv, glass walled shower,lots of towells,hot water all the time and a fast switch to alternate power when the power went out.They met me at airport with sign, and on time.$15.00 for service.The area itself is neat, a small cluster of quiet Streets just off a busy,noisey street.It was very quiet and relaxing.You have a number of neat little shops and a small grocery store all next to hotel.Nice pool area and fair fitness centre.Bed was great size, but a bit hard,but great sheets and pillows and looked inviting after coming back after a long day.Internet in business centre was slow,but cheap.Hotel had free WiFi,but I didnt take my laptop.Food in restaurant was good and not pricey.Local taxis are right outside and its only 300 Rupees to Thamel.I would stay here again and think its a gem in Kathmandu.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Johan Z. from Belgium
Couples
Stayed 14 nights in March 2013
Magnificent.
Safe, comfortable and central.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Elizabeth H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Pleasant stay in a convenient location
The location is great, away from the craziness of the main roads in Kathmandu. The rooms were nice with particularly good quality linen. Nice quiet room.
I have stayed at the Radisson Kathmandu several times and like it for its central location but off the main road. We stayed in the new wing which was very beautiful. Only a couple of minor complaints. The wi-fi although free was unduly complicated. The password changed each day and it was hard to connect and appeared impossible to connect more than one device at once which was inconvenient. The room was very nice but would soon be in need of a bit of maintenance - eg loose electric fittings and loose shelves in the bathroom. The staff as always were off-hand to my Nepalese husband but I would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

BOB B. from Canada
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
GREAT LOCATION, POOR FOOD SELECTION IN BREAKFAST..
NEW ROOMS, LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF.
THE LOCATION BEING CLOSE TO THAMEL WAS GREAT. I FIND THE FOOD SELECTION IN BREAKFAST TO BE POOR IN QUALITY AND CHOICES. I COULD GET A ESPRESO COFFE. FOR A 5 STAR HOTEL, IT IS NOT ACCEPTABLE...............
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Judith P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in February 2013
Very pleasant staff, nothing too much trouble.
Just off the main road so no traffic noise, which is a good point here in Kathmandu since they all drive with their hand on the horn.
enjoyed our stay in the radisson hotel in kathmandu, rooms a reasonable size. one of the two lifts was out of order most of the time so quite long waits for lifts but climbing the stairs to our 6th floor room gave us plenty of exercise. unfortunately the pool was empty during the whole of our weeks stay ..... for maintenance ...... how long does it take to replace 6 lights along the side of the pool walls!?!?
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Bouchra G. from France
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2013
What you'd expect from a Radisson
Heating, electricity and hot water 24/7
Having spent a few weeks in homestays, tea houses and budget guesthouses in various parts of Nepal, I'd learned to appreciate the little things we take for granted such as heating in winter, unlimited hot water and power. Now this may sound basic but it really felt like a luxury at the time! Stepping into the Radisson, I was greeted by porters, an impeccable lobby, a slightly cold receptionist and overall a very formal atmosphere. My room was located on the 7th floor and was either brand new or incredibly well maintained with all the amenities you'd expect from a luxury hotel. The bathroom had seen better days but was fully functional. The location wasn't great in my opinion, not much to see around and the food was average and overpriced compared to what you'd get in Thamel. No real charm or character but I did enjoy my stay
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hengli Z. from United States
Couples
Stayed 12 nights in January 2013
Very nice hotel for Kathmandu
The hotel is really close to Thamel
the hotel tries very hard to please its customers. kathmandu is a city which is out of power for at least 10 hours a day. however, this hotel has its own generator. we only had one night without heat. this is nice hotel to stay in kathmandu if you need a good night of sleep. my only complaint is that it is pretty pricy. however, this is the price you have to pay to stay in kathmandu if you want an american standard hotel. i checked some guest houses when i was in kathmandu. they are cheap but there are not business hotel. life in kathmandu can be very hard. i would rather stay in a nicer hotel so that i can carry on my business.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Marie-Adele G. from France
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Shockingly BAD, extremely poor staff performance
Clean rooms
I was absolutely shocked by the service at the Radisson Hotel. Upon arrival at the hotel, I was not greeted. As a matter of fact, the reception staff kindly told me to bugger off. Then the room was not ready. Finally, one morning we ordered breakfast to be brought in to the room between 9.30 and 10am. After we called the reception at 10.30am, they finally brought it with: a pot of tea & a pot of coffee but only ONE cup! And they had fogotten our juices which took another 10min for them to bring up.... Then there was the problem of the bill... Which they also had forgotten and took another 15min to bring up!! I'm just glad the rooms were clean, had hot water and heating, otherwise, I would have changed hotel straight away.
Reviewed January 02, 2013

Klaus L. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
good hotel and friendly people
rather quiet and clean place
the hotel is clean and nice. the pool area is particularly picturesque with wonderful view over Kathmandu.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Klaus L. from Germany
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2012
good hotel and friendly people
rather quiet and clean place
the position of the pool area is very good, great view over kathmandu, friendly staff, good food.
Reviewed September 13, 2012