arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 41 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 41 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 7.3

7.3 Elizabeth H.
Australia
April 26, 2013
Pleasant stay in a convenient location
The location is great, away from the craziness of the main roads in Kathmandu. The rooms were nice with particularly good quality linen. Nice quiet room.
I have stayed at the Radisson Kathmandu several times and like it for its central location but off the main road. We stayed in the new wing which was very beautiful. Only a couple of minor complaints. The wi-fi although free was unduly complicated. The password changed each day and it was hard to connect and appeared impossible to connect more than one device at once which was inconvenient. The room was very nice but would soon be in need of a bit of maintenance - eg loose electric fittings and loose shelves in the bathroom. The staff as always were off-hand to my Nepalese husband but I would definitely stay there again.

4 BOB B.
Canada
March 30, 2013
GREAT LOCATION, POOR FOOD SELECTION IN BREAKFAST..
NEW ROOMS, LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF.
THE LOCATION BEING CLOSE TO THAMEL WAS GREAT. I FIND THE FOOD SELECTION IN BREAKFAST TO BE POOR IN QUALITY AND CHOICES. I COULD GET A ESPRESO COFFE. FOR A 5 STAR HOTEL, IT IS NOT ACCEPTABLE...............

8 Judith P.
United Kingdom
February 26, 2013
Very pleasant staff, nothing too much trouble.
Just off the main road so no traffic noise, which is a good point here in Kathmandu since they all drive with their hand on the horn.
enjoyed our stay in the radisson hotel in kathmandu, rooms a reasonable size. one of the two lifts was out of order most of the time so quite long waits for lifts but climbing the stairs to our 6th floor room gave us plenty of exercise. unfortunately the pool was empty during the whole of our weeks stay ..... for maintenance ...... how long does it take to replace 6 lights along the side of the pool walls!?!?

8 Bouchra G.
France
February 24, 2013
What you'd expect from a Radisson
Heating, electricity and hot water 24/7
Having spent a few weeks in homestays, tea houses and budget guesthouses in various parts of Nepal, I'd learned to appreciate the little things we take for granted such as heating in winter, unlimited hot water and power. Now this may sound basic but it really felt like a luxury at the time! Stepping into the Radisson, I was greeted by porters, an impeccable lobby, a slightly cold receptionist and overall a very formal atmosphere. My room was located on the 7th floor and was either brand new or incredibly well maintained with all the amenities you'd expect from a luxury hotel. The bathroom had seen better days but was fully functional. The location wasn't great in my opinion, not much to see around and the food was average and overpriced compared to what you'd get in Thamel. No real charm or character but I did enjoy my stay

7.3 Hengli Z.
United States
January 29, 2013
Very nice hotel for Kathmandu
The hotel is really close to Thamel
the hotel tries very hard to please its customers. kathmandu is a city which is out of power for at least 10 hours a day. however, this hotel has its own generator. we only had one night without heat. this is nice hotel to stay in kathmandu if you need a good night of sleep. my only complaint is that it is pretty pricy. however, this is the price you have to pay to stay in kathmandu if you want an american standard hotel. i checked some guest houses when i was in kathmandu. they are cheap but there are not business hotel. life in kathmandu can be very hard. i would rather stay in a nicer hotel so that i can carry on my business.

4 Marie-Adele G.
France
January 02, 2013
Shockingly BAD, extremely poor staff performance
Clean rooms
I was absolutely shocked by the service at the Radisson Hotel. Upon arrival at the hotel, I was not greeted. As a matter of fact, the reception staff kindly told me to bugger off. Then the room was not ready. Finally, one morning we ordered breakfast to be brought in to the room between 9.30 and 10am. After we called the reception at 10.30am, they finally brought it with: a pot of tea & a pot of coffee but only ONE cup! And they had fogotten our juices which took another 10min for them to bring up.... Then there was the problem of the bill... Which they also had forgotten and took another 15min to bring up!! I'm just glad the rooms were clean, had hot water and heating, otherwise, I would have changed hotel straight away.

7.7 Klaus L.
Germany
September 13, 2012
good hotel and friendly people
rather quiet and clean place
the hotel is clean and nice. the pool area is particularly picturesque with wonderful view over Kathmandu.

7.7 Klaus L.
Germany
September 13, 2012
good hotel and friendly people
rather quiet and clean place
the position of the pool area is very good, great view over kathmandu, friendly staff, good food.

8.3 Patrick S.
Switzerland
August 19, 2012
Good location and excellent service
Excellent service
The hotel Radisson Kathmandu is conveniently situated in the heart of the city, not far from Thamel. Service is excellent and the staff very kind. Restaurants are good with always good and considerate service. The room was nice although the beds and pillows were a little hard. Nice bathroom. Nevertheless, the water for the bath was not clear, but it is a common problem in Kathmandu.

6.3 Linda B.
United States
July 03, 2012
Comfortable Stay
Staff works hard to meet guest needs.
We were quite comfortable at the Radisson. Taxis were readily available. Staff was very courteous and worked hard to make us comfortable.