arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (125)

Business travelers (3)

Couples (57)

Solo travelers (36)

Families with young children (9)

Families with older children (3)

Groups (17)

Excellent
8.4
based on 125 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Facilities
7.0
Location
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Staff Performance
8.5
Value for Money
8.2
Food/Dining
8.0

3.7 Cathryn S.
United Kingdom
May 04, 2014
Very disappointing
Only had one meal there but that was pretty good.
I'd read some great reviews of this place and had expected so much more. It is up, they say, 500 uneven stone steps - something they don't warn you about until your payment has gone through and the cancellation date has passed - not good for my busted knee. The pre-arranged pick up didn't happen and the staff are mostly absent if you need anything. My room was uncomfortable and rather broken (random patches of water on the bathroom floor, lock didn't work). Not at all worth the money.

10 Tanzia A.
Bangladesh
April 27, 2014
Spectacular, amazing views, awesome food
View of Annapurna range mountains, food, tranquility
It was an adventurous journey to the top of Raniban Retreat paired with the amazing nature sights and complete relaxation. It is such a unique idea to choose that location to set up a hotel that I would list it as the second best thing in Pokhara after the views of Annapurna. Really good hospitality and the food is too good. I will visit Nepal again only to spend another couple of nights in my favourite spot in Nepal. So impressed!

9.7 Abdul N.
Indonesia
April 17, 2014
i love to stay again in this hotel
very quiet at night, beautiful mountains scenery and excellent services.
We finally found what we want in this hotel when we travelled to pokhara.thanks agoda.

8.3 Thidawan A.
Thailand
April 21, 2014
Great View of Himalaya!
Mountain view, Services, Room

9.7 Enstina E.
Indonesia
April 07, 2014
the most enjoyable stay
majestic view, fast wifi, friendly staff
i traveled with group of 4 persons in total, we all got upgraded to the room with the view. we were the only guest in-house, and OMG the 500 steps to Raniban Retreat is absolutely worth it! there's something about Raniban Retreat that gave us such an amazing feeling, we really enjoyed our stay. the Himalayas/ Phewa Lake/ World Peace Pagoda/ and the whole Pokhara can be seen from our room. i'd recommend to at least stay 2 nights (the more the better), you will enjoy your stay even more. the staffs are all very helpful and they cooked a good breakfast too! i hope can be come back in the near future :) happy!

8 Sook S.
Singapore
March 17, 2014
Gorgeous but expensive
The view, the staff and comfort!
Raniban Retreat is a must-go if you have enough in your budget to allow for it. It's located on the top of a hill so you will be getting some truly unparalleled views of Pokhara. Many reviewers have recommended that one check out Raniban Retreat for the sunrise and sunset, but the night view, for me, was equally beautiful. The entire city of Pokhara lit up like a christmas tree and you get to enjoy all that view in the comfort of your hotel room. the room itself was luxury in Pokhara. After weeks of backpacking, i was happy to be sitting on pretty comfortable beds. there was always electricity in Raniban while i was there. as for the hot water, like the rest of Nepal, you just got to let it run for about 15 minutes before it starts to work. once it works, however, the hot water was consistent and absolutely terrific. you would have heard about the 500 steps up to Raniban - yes there are 500 steps but they are not life threatening at all. you can always take a break midway if you are panting. but more than the steps, the fact that Raniban was located atop a hill made it rather inconvenient to leave, do any sightseeing and come back. so get ready to spend all your time in the hotel once you arrive. that said, it's nice to unwind, relax and read my book while basking in the view of the Annapurnas at Raniban.

10 citra R.
Indonesia
March 17, 2014
A fabulous place to relax
Awesome view, unforgetable stay, nice staff, perfect...
Raniban Retreat is a gem in Pokhara, since this place has the best view in Pokhara... Even though, we should climb 500's stairs... We were a bit tired but we had already known that "everything in Nepal includes climbing, trekking or hiking", so it's fine... The staff helped us to carry our bags... The view of Fishtail, Annapurna, World Peace Pagoda, Phewa Lake, and Pokhara from above will satisfy your soul... I still can remember the amazing view of sunset from Raniban, it was sublime! Food and beverages are excellent, staffs are very helpful... Staying at Raniban were so memorable and unforgettable... We wish we could back here in the future...

8.7 Zhang Y.
China
February 17, 2014
Beautiful mountain view from bed, clean hotel
View, Cleanness, Nice Staff
Great place if you want a quiet and away from city experience, best view in Pokhara, very friendly staff, we saw the sunrise from bed, it was wonderful experience overall, even the stairs we had to climb to get to the hotel seemed pleasant. Only thing is the food, it would be perfect if the chowmein and fried rice weren't so dry, but still the manager was nice enough to NOT charge us for it. Highly recommended!

8.7 Marietta R.
Philippines
February 22, 2014
Has the BEST view of the Annapurna range
Quiet surroundings, breathtaking views, attentive staff
Raniban Retreat was not exaggerating in its claim to have the best view in Pokhara, it was truly breathtaking! The best place for those who want some peace and quiet, aside from having the best front seat view of the Annapurna range. Would surely want to return to this place!

8.3 TingYu Z.
China
May 11, 2014
good
Beautiful. Friendly