arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 181 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 181 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.0

Mark C.
Philippines
May 12, 2015
Serene Paradise in Panglao
Serene surroundings, courteous and friendly staff, beautiful pool and beach
We learned about Amarela and coursed our booking through agoda. The pictures do not do justice to the calm beauty of this boutique resort. They offer free pick-up from the airport/Tagbilaran city, and they will also bring you to the airport for free on the day of your check-out. This is a very thoughtful service on the part of the resort as this makes your stay in Bohol hassle-free. Upon arrival you will be served welcome drinks by smiling, friendly staff making you feel you are truly welcome. We arrived an hour earlier than check in time, but this was not an issue to them. Our room was ready in leas than 10minutes and check in was a breeze. The entire resort is tastefully decorated with a mixture of Filipino-inspired designs and Mediterranean colors. Much thought has been given to the landscaping of the entire resort as well. The room was clean, well-lit, well-ventilated and the airconditioning was working perfectly. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean and of good quality (same with the more expensive hotels). The bathroom was clean and spacious with ample toilettries. The infinity pool was warm and relaxing. It had an area for kids (approx 2 feet) as well. There were plenty of lounge chairs at the pool side where you can relax while sipping fruit coolers. We opted to have a poolside full body massage while our kid was swimming at the pool. Their massage therapists are two of the best we've encountered so far. Their private beach is also very relaxing. There is always a security guard on duty watching over their guests. There are also lounge chairs by the beach where you can relax. The beach has beautiful white sand. There are occasional seagrass and sea urchins so better to bring aqua shoes if you want to swim farther. The water is clear blue and relaxing. As for the food, their restaurant has notably good offerings for varying tastes, a mixture of Filipino and Western fare. Our only regret is that we did not get to stay longer.

Princess H.
United States
March 14, 2015
Feels like home
Staff, Service, Amenities & Location
Overall our stay was perfect. I could have given all 5 ratings but the food needs to improve. Will come back again if will be given an opportunity.

Catherine L.
Philippines
February 23, 2015
Fantastic
Beautiful resort, very quiet and peaceful, friendly and helpful staff
Wonderful!

Patricia O.
United States
February 14, 2015
Amarela stay on Panglao Island
The grounds, the art/antiques, the staff
We had an excellent stay at Amarela Resort. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is decorated with lovely art, antiques and hand carved furniture. The staff is very friendly and the service is exceptional. The resort was located conveniently for beach and water activities, as well as site-seeing on the mainland Bohol. Small details like the natural soaps from Bohol Bee Farm in the bathrooms demonstrated the exceptional taste and flair on display at Amarela resort.

Imelda O.
Cambodia
January 02, 2015
Perfect resort!
location that is so private, very neat and clean, beautifully designed and decorated with antique collection, very friendly and amazing staff...
Simply amazing! We just love the place. The whole resort has that aura of elegance. Beautifully and tastefully designed and decorated. It is very clean too, whic I like very much. The staff were just so friendly, attentive and amazing. There is that feeling of being pampered. Food is good. Amarela is a perfect hideaway to relax and recharge! We will surely come back again!

Hsu C.
Taiwan
December 28, 2014
Great pool and nice clean private beach
The service is nice. Breakfast is nice as well. My favorite touch is the swimming pool and private beach. It worths to stay few nights over just to enjoy the sun and beach.
The service is nice. Breakfast is nice as well. My favorite touch is the swimming pool and private beach. It worths to stay few nights over just to enjoy the sun and beach. It's really simple place but feel pretty welcome there. Although it's in a quite area so you need to stay in their restaurant otherwise other places to eat will be 20min away. In overall, it doesn't bother us much because their restaurant is quite ok with reasonable charge.

Charity M.
Philippines
November 03, 2014
Quaint and Charming resort
staff service, decor and homey feel, food
Very comfortable and relaxing ambiance, we will definitely come back

ESMERALDO R.
Philippines
November 02, 2014
Nice Hotel Isolated by Nature
Landscaping of the whole place is really nice, clean swimming pool, helpful staff
Our stay was pleasant as the hotel brings you close to nature and the swimming pool is well-kept. The downside is it only has one restaurant serving the same kind of food everyday at tourist price. A leche flan good for one person costs PhP200 per order which would probably cost less than PhP100 in a good restaurant in Makati. This place is also isolated away from anything nearby. Will we stay here again? Maybe after 12-15 years if the place is still maintained well and after we have tried the other hotels in Bohol.

Rey R.
United Kingdom
October 23, 2014
Great Filipino boutique hotel!
Service, design, and exclusivity
We enjoyed immensely our stay at this great boutique hotel that is unique and true to its Filipino heritage. The food was superb and fresh, and the mango at breakfast is just heavenly. The hotel is decorated to a Filipiana design that is authentic and unpretentious. It is proud of its heritage and has presented it with great taste and a real zest for rustic charm which you find similarly in English or French boutique hotels. I highly recommend this place.

MAUREEN C.
Philippines
September 23, 2014
Excellent Hotel, Good food, Accommodating staff
Amenities, Food, Hotel Staff
Great! Nice, Clean and Comfortable amenities, good food and most importantly grate hotel staff. I left my cellphone in the car and it was returned back to me by the staff. Will definetely go back to Amarela.