Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 368 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 368 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Dexter B. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Resort to stay if you're diving in Bohol
Quite and relaxing place with a very good ambianc. The best resort to stay if you will be diving in Bohol... Because the most beautiful dive spots are on their beach.
Reviewed April 06, 2016

Mark P. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Perhaps better as a day trip
Just beware divers. The island caters more for those who come as a day trip with dive companies, than for the divers staying at the dive resort. As dive instructors/masters we could just manage to hire tanks and equipment and take ourselves diving. The resort itself was made in the 70s but has lacked any funding to maintain it. Has an intriguing neglected period feel to it. Peaceful, great location with awesome diving and snorkelling right there. I understand there is going to be water and power disruptions but with the price paid for the basic offerings where does the money go?
Reviewed April 01, 2016

Zamora L. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Rustic accommodation but beautiful island
Although there are more higher-end accommodations in Bohol, we keep on going back to Balicasag due to its superb location. Great diving and snorkeling. Quiet and clean beach. Very affordable price points compared to other resorts
Reviewed March 28, 2016

Zamora L. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Rustic accommodation but beautiful island
Although there are more higher-end accommodations in Bohol, we keep on going back to Balicasag due to its superb location. Great diving and snorkeling. Quiet and clean beach. Very affordable price points compared to other resorts
Reviewed March 28, 2016

Patrick R. from Poland
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Not worth staying, better to do a day-trip.
The location of the place is unique - right on the Balicasag island which is a snorkeller's / diver's paradise. Bautiful coral reef, plenty of different fish, many sea turtles.
The location is the only asset of this resort. Apart from that - a huge disapointment. It is clear that this place lacks proper management and no-one really cares, because there is no alternative on the island. The problems started with the transfer - we were trying to call the resort to arrange pick-up from Panglao (Bohol). The telephone number given by agoda in the reservation was wrong. We managed to find in the web another numbers but they were either silent or out of reach. When we eventually managed to establish a proper number, they told us that it is not possible to arrange pick-up in the afternoon (after 3 pm). We asked for a private boat and the staff at Balicasag kept promising to call back about the transfer but they never did. We had to change our plans and eventually arrived next day having hired a private boat by an independent boat company. The swimming pools in the report are non-existent. During our whole stay there was a sign on the main pool (half filled with dirty water) "pool under treatment", but no-one could be seen around this place so no "treatment" was being done. Kids pool was completely empty and out of use; so was the dive pool. The staff was pleasant, kind and smiling but didn't care very much about the guests. They mainly seat around playing with their cellphones. The restaurant was OK, the food was nice, but nothing spectacular. There was a fresh water dispenser in the restaurant, but we were told that we are not allowed to use it :(! The hotel lacks proper maintenance and care. Rooms are smelly, bathrooms damp and dirty. The diveshop is also very basic. Equipment old and falling apart, very limited. The diveshop staff - nice and helpful, when you eventually manage to find them. Hadn't it been for the coral reef at Balicasag, it wouldn't be worth a trip. I would definitely recommend staying somewhere else and coming here only for a day trip.
Reviewed March 10, 2016

Maksim T. from Russia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Very good
snorkelling, turtles, sand, beaches, food in hotel restaurant, pool, stars in night sky, staff - were excellent.
Reviewed March 08, 2016

ZHANG Y. from China
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
fantistic place
a fabulous place for diving. very peaceful and quiet, you can enjoy the sunset and sunrise, and diving any time.
Reviewed February 15, 2016

Thomas H. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Very nice stay!!!
It was a very nice stay on this island!!! Nice people, nice rooms, nice reef, we were very happy!!!
Reviewed February 11, 2016

Paul B. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Great stay
Snorkelling was amazinG. Swimming with turtle. Staff were great
Very chilled. Hotel was basic but fun. Snorkelling was amazing. Giant clams. Swimming with turtle. When you arrive pay a guide to show you the best stops. Food at the hotel was good for meat/ fish eaters. Not much fur veggies but the hotel staff are great,
Reviewed February 06, 2016

Ayiss M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Amazing Reef On Your Doorstep!
Fantastic location, Friendly staff, Affordable
Reviewed January 27, 2016