Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 162 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 6.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 6.3
Sort by

paul D. from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
dangerous un-maintained scooters
checking out, waving goodbye
A word of caution to anyone booking a room here, the motor scooters at Hope Homes are dangerous because they lack even the most essential maintenance. The scooters are all second hand(many have names of previous hotels emblazed on them) and the owner just lets the guests runs them into the ground without even the most basic tune-up or brake check. We changed scooters 3 times and brought up the problems to the staff; they just rolled their eyes and went back for their naps. The best scooter available had bald tires, only front brakes, and was badly out of tune(sucking gas). I booked this hotel after reviewing Hope Homes Website. Sounded like a great bargain since the motorscooters were included in the room price. The quality scooters presented on the website do not resemble the old junkers available at Hope Homes. Sad to say but this issue was the only memorable information I took away from Hope Homes. Furthermore there is no back-up generator and we had many hours of brown-outs. Spend more to stay next to the to beach and avoid staying in the middle of a noisy village where having a scooter is essndential to gettin around.
Reviewed April 03, 2013

Timothy F. from United States
Groups
Stayed one night in February 2013
best backpackers around, best value for money
free motorbikes, staff, tips they can give you
Well, i loved that place, the ambiance, the staff and the french owner. As a backpackers i couldn't dream better place. So Ok the fan rooms are every simple with a bed and a simple closet. But it has its own bathroom and it is very clean. And for 750 Pesos you also get a free motorbike. So excuse me, but i never saw that anywhere else and when you know that you should pay around 500 Pesos for a motorbike it means you pay your room only 250 Pesos, well BIG UP guys. The location is only 5 minutes drive from the busy ALONA BEACH, a piece of cake with the motorbike. And you get to be surrounded by really friendly local people. There is also a billard table and free WIFI in the common area. I just loved the place and i will come back.
Reviewed March 04, 2013

Jiang Z. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013
Local and homey.
Quiet at night, convinient to go sightseeing with a motorbike
i stayed there for 1 week. wifi, hot water and motorbike r what i like. with a motorbike, i drove to chocolate hills myself, though its the first time i drove. randy, who is in charge of the motorbikes, taught me how to drive and he helped me a lot. we became friends. i really like people there. yes there're insects in my room--i am a little bit annoied--but it's ok, i take it as a feature of hot, natural philippines. its 5 minutes drive to alona beach, 1 minutes walk to danao beach.
Reviewed March 02, 2013

Christopher W. from Ireland
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Welcoming place with a local experience
Motorcycles included (decent semi-autos). Local vibe instead of resort hotel feel. Excellent location.
went as a group of 11 international students based in hong kong, and the place suited us perfectly. all the staff were very friendly and most accommodating to all of us for our stay. we turned up with one more person than expected but this was an issue that was sorted out without any hassle. we loved the fact that the motorcycles were available to us from the minute we checked in, and simplicity of not having to search for other rental services was very convenient. when the motorcycles are factored into the location, everywhere of interest is within very short reach, and even places on bohol island (1-2 hours ride) are enjoyable to travel to and explore. the food was surprisingly good, but mostly of the fast-food type, pretty basic, and very westernised, but we found the american breakfasts and omelettes perfect for fueling our day-trip adventures. also, my german friend recommends the curry sausage! the rooms we stayed in were basic and did not have air-conditioning (they had fans), though i believe this is an option. this really didn't bother us too much however, as we stayed in the end of february and though the weather was hot and humid, it was comfortable at night.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Renata A. from Lithuania
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Small hotel in calm place, not tourist zone
Feeling like in wild nature
Even Hope Homes a little bit far from the beach, we like this small, calm place. Good that not in tourist zone, we have possibility to live between local people, to see their life style, taste their food, listen local music. Amazing when in the early morning you can listen cocks or birds or lizards sounds... Room was simple, but enough space. Staff ready to help, answer for all you need. Good that in price included motorbike, so no problem to reach any place in Bohol. Not expensive to order breakfast or dinner and always receive fresh food even fruits or juice.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

ABIGAIL A. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great for the price
free motorbike, great customer service
The place is pretty spartan but for the price, it is a good deal. Specially with the motorbike rental with the room. If your the type of traveler that is more interested in exploring the place than being particular where you spend the few hours you are asleep, then this place is for you. Very close to the main attraction in Panglao, Alona beach and the cave. While the motorbike will take you anywhere in Bohol.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Darren D. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Summer-camp style rooms with a bike
Very friendly staff, manual-shift bike, laundry service
I stayed here five nights, and overall it was a nice stay. The rooms are pretty plain, with concrete flooring and basically a cot instead of a real bed. I have a bad back, so the thin cot-like mattress was not one of the high points. The staff were helpful with all things, and they also cook some excellent food (try the American Breakfast!). They also took care of my laundry, which was an asset because, as I found out later, not all hotels/resorts in the area provide this service, and they only charged me about 50 pesos for each load. The motorbike they provide is manual (no automatics), so I had to learn how to shift gears, which was fairly easy. Besides the bed, the other negative is the bumpy pothole-laden dirt road that leads to the hotel from the south. I suggest using the northern end of the road because it's much shorter and has more pavement.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

ralph B. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 8 nights in January 2013
Not that great...so-so,good if your a back packer,
Free use of motorcycle ,can't think of anything else positive....
Cheap,cheap...better to have spent a few extra dollars and found better place,service ( waited almost 20 min.-I was so pissed off I got up and served myself-coke in cooler),rooms old needs new face lift,stag was friendly enough,they also need to upgrade on their bedding(old and torn-didn't fit the beds,what a joke)..it's okay if your a backpacker and staying short time only....restaurant sucks,,not much of a menu..ended up eating elsewhere.....not recommended for family or long term......
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Bing L. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013
Look like family room
Very convenient with the motorcycle
I live in this hotel for the second time. Here is in a village. But very convinient with the motor cycle. You can travel to everywhere in Panglao. And you can cook here. Look like at home. I like this kind of hotel!
Reviewed February 08, 2013

Bing L. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a large smile
There is a kitchen you can use and motorcycle also!
I live in this hotel for the second time. Here is in a village. But very convinient with the motor cycle. You can travel to everywhere in Panglao. And you can cook here. Look like at home. I like this kind of hotel! But it seems a little noisy because it is not a brick house. But it's OK. Because the service here is warm. The boss is very kind! Haha!
Reviewed February 08, 2013