arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 173 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 173 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.6

veith B.
Germany
May 19, 2013
great retreat
Staff, Tranquillity, Location

Ingrid D.
Netherlands
May 07, 2013
Great place to relax
The hotel is very beautifully designed, has great food and the staff is very nice.
This is a great hotel to take a break from busy life in the big city. It is very quiet and the nice and helpful staff creates a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere. The food is super and always freshly prepared. You can relax at the pool, in a hammock near the beach or at your verandah. When you want some action the staff can organize a tour around the island or out at sea to see dolphins and do some snorkeling. There is no wifi but the staff will lend you a mobi-key to check your mail. The beach is nothing special.

Davy G.
United Kingdom
May 04, 2013
It was ok but far from anywhere
Motorbike rental one staff very helpful others could have been more attentive
It wasn't what you would expect it's more like a small island hotel the location is far from any amenities there was zero Internet which had been advertised and the service was nil from the land service, not a place to stay if you need contact with the outside world

Mike M.
Uzbekistan
April 13, 2013
Kayla'a staff make the stay great
Friendly and attentive staff. Great restaurant with varied menu. Made to feel like family while at Kayla'a
We were a couple traveling together as were most of the guests at Kayla'a. Immediately welcomed by Rose and Jeff, both made us feel welcome. Our room had a great view and was large enough but could be improved with a towel rack and luggage stand. The room was very clean and well maintained. We stayed a week and were able to try many menu items and they were all great. The outdoor bar area is great at night as the wind calms and great tunes are played. We had a massage from Becky in an ocean front cabin, very relaxing. We also were at Kayla'a for full moon night and had a great grilled meal by the fire pit. We had a very safe journey back to the ferry dock with our driver Mr. Chavez who was able to let us shop on the way. The hotel was great and the staff made it better. I will return because of the high level of service and great food. Will recommend Kayla'a to couples for long or short stays when you do not need to be city center.

Patricia P.
United Kingdom
March 22, 2013
Most relaxing few days in Philippines
Location on the beach, food, staff friendliness
We have been here before and enjoyed it so much we decided to return, even though we rarely go back to the same place. We were not disappointed, the place has improved since we were there and it is obvious that it is continually improving. It is not close to anything else but thats whats attractive. there are plenty of trips and activities to enjoy. We arrived stressed and left totally chilled , we will go back again.

Bill S.
United States
March 18, 2013
We absolutly loved this place!!
Very private, very clean surroundings and well kept-up, friendly owner and staff.
On our 6 week stay in the Ph. we stayed at 8 other resourts besides this one, this one was definatly out favorite. We are planning to retire in 5 years and move to the Ph. and our plan is to build a resort, thats why we stayed at so many different ones on this trip. (stayed 8 days) John, the owner was very nice and answered many questions I posed to him about his resort. He did a great job, utilizing native materials and local building talents. We did wish that the place was closer to town, since we were not too fond of the dishes served their, that was our only complaint really. I would reccomend Kayla'a to anyone though, at least till we open ours in a few years. From the moment we arrived though we loved it. The free breakfast is only a coupon for 250p, so many things will cost a little extra, the food was reasonably priced, we just didnt care for most dishes we tried, and never got to try the Thai food cause apparantly that cook was not working during out stay, and our free massage was not honered because we waited too many days to get it even though we asked earlier and the girl was not working who gave them, so ended-up paying for it.

Amine M.
Tunisia
March 15, 2013
Beautiful Room and Grounds
Room design and interior decorations, quietness, food
We really enjoyed our stay! The food was superb. The staff was friendly and attentive. The only disadvantage is the beach. It is pretty rocky. However, they have a great pool to make up for this. Also, the hammocks on the beach were fantastic!

Willy B.
Norway
March 03, 2013
Ok hotell out in nowhere.
Ok for relaxing.
Staf was very friendly and did a good job. Snorkling was no good in this aera because of the low water in the sea full of sand and very little fish and other things to see. The rooms were a little small and the toilet stinks fra the outlet, no good smell. Othervise there was a ok place to relax in the days that it did`nt raining. Internet was very bad, dropping out and was very , very slow. We had a nice day to Chocolate Hills with butterfly-garden, Tarsiers and Zipline but was very disseponted by the food and drinks at the floating resturant on the river. Othervise the river trip was fine. Tip: Do not brake a glass or anything else, you have to pay high price for it!

Kendra P.
United States
March 02, 2013
Cozy resort with fabulous food!
Great restaurant - international cuizine, nice pool, friendly staff
i really enjoyed my stay at kayla'a beach resort, particularly the food which has an international flare. the resort is quite small with provides a very peaceful environment, i think we were the only guests at the hotel the one night we spent there. it happened that the hotel was hosting a full moon fiesta which included a free bbq dinner and iced tea; there was also a beach side bonfire to relax next to.

Benson A.
Philippines
March 02, 2013
One of the best beach resort in Bohol
Great and Honest Staff, Delicious Food, Nice ambiance
one of the best beach resort! better than alona beach. an oasis in a desert. excellent food, way better than the food served in loboc river cruise. free massage, honest staff, managed to return my son's shoes even already checked out. kudos to all the staff of kaylaa's beach resort. love to go back there someday