arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 171 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 171 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 8.6

7.7 Mani R.
United Kingdom
February 18, 2013
Excellent service, great food and total relaxation
Attentiveness and friendliness of staff, great food and reasonably priced
Overall really impressed with my stay at Kayla'a...John the owner was very attentive and ensured he met and greeted every new guest. Staff were extremely friendly and we always in hand to help out. Food was excellent and very relaxing resort...

6 Maria F.
Philippines
February 13, 2013
Friendly staff, far location, low customer service
Quiet beach front, clean pool, good food (lots of variety) at the restaurant, friendly staff, clean room & bathroom
price & location: we chose this because it was a beach-front resort that seemed more affordable but the lower room rate was erased by transportation costs due to the remote/far location from the rest of the tourist spots. rented vans charged us higher (at least +40%) and public transportation although doable for locals who live there, was a nightmare for our european companion. our 6 yr. old never stepped foot on the beach because he found it too "dirty" (not from trash but from the natural debris that the tide washes in or from trees in the area) ocean view room: decent size can squeeze in an extra single cot but not much else space to move once luggage is opened on the floor (the only place to unpack). by 6-6:30am sunrise was directly hitting the window (curtains were too thin) shining straight on your face while in bed. unpleasant, especially if you are planning on sleeping in. lighting from the single low-watt bulb is too dim (even after turning on the 1 bedside lamp available) - the bathroom was brighter. bathroom: clean with available hot water, but the flow was weak so it will take time to shower. no hooks to hang clothes. staff: friendly (remembering guest names immediately) but helpless when it came to problem-solving. breakfast: if paid/included with the room was equivalent to php150 in food credit (enough for the basic breakfast) and you pay for any excess. some of us left at 5am for an activity and didn't have b'fast there so our companion asked to use/combine our php150 credits to upgrade to a bigger/better breakfast. he was refused. next day we asked to combine the unused credits from the day before to order a better meal, again refused. don't bother pointing out logic because no amount of it will move them to cater to you. bottomline: will i stay there again? no. will i recommend it? no. location is too remote, beach isn't that nice to use, and the aggravation of having to argue (and lose 0 for 3) for reasonable requests left a bad taste in the m

7.7 nunnally M.
Australia
February 11, 2013
great location, but food was expensive
we enjoyed the privacy of the place, very clean and welcoming staff.
very welcoming staff, food was clean.the pool was easily accessible as the beach can't be used for swimming as it is near a mangrove area. if you want to stay where you want some privacy, this is the place.it is also secure as the whole area is fenced.it is about 35min from the city and you can pass a few towns of bohol before you reach kayla'a.

9.3 Daniel B.
Switzerland
February 11, 2013
Very nice hotel
quiet, friendly staff, beautifully situated at the sea
A hotel with very nice and clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, you really feel "at home"

8.7 Jay C.
United States
February 06, 2013
Great Place
Food, Service, an Atmosphere
when we arrived at the airport the staff from the hotel was there waiting on our arrival. they took us to the hotel an the greeting was great. they provided a foot massage an was very friendly. the rooms were not that big but cozy. they have great food for all meals an the staff was very generous. if your looking for a quiet place to stay on the beach an not allot of crowds this would be the place.they provide travel packages for your stay and you have a choice of what you prefer to do.

8 Yifang B.
South Africa
January 28, 2013
Clean but average, we upgraded to Sunrise Vista
privacy
The Ocean View Suite is quite small in comparison to more luxurious rooms, though, still comfortable. It is great that there is a small bar fridge comes with the room. However, for elderly people or very young children, it will be more suitable for them to stay at Sea Breeze Suites to avoid having to climb the stairs, with just 30% more in costs. Family with bigger, up to two children, can choose the Sunrise Vista Suite with a King and a lower double if the kids can climb the steep stairs with little danger and the parents want them near. We upgraded ourselves to Sunrise Vista to be close to other members of the family. The DVD machine in the room is a very thoughtful and brilliant facility as it enabled us to play DVDs we brought from overseas to the granny of the family, who could not understand any of the English cable program. Food and staff service at Kayla's are exceptional good and it gives a very personalized warm feeling. We also noticed that Kayla's driver has a specially tender heart for children, we are sure, judging by the gentle glow in his eyes with somewhat shy grim when he listened to our 9-year-old boy's words. You get the safe and calm feeling that you don't mind taking day trips with him. We had most of our meals at the hotel at ease after taking a stroll along the beach or a good swim in the pool. The tranquil atmosphere Kayla offered us is just what we need for a holiday. Kayla's is big enough for a group, but small enough to remain private that we would gladly take our clients to stay with.

5.3 spela G.
Slovenia
January 26, 2013
Quiet place, nothing around
quiet place
It is ok for those who want to switch off because there is nothing around. The beach is not nice, water is strange, they have no internet (just a mobile one you can borrow but it did nit work on my computer). The food was ok but it was not fresh even though they advertise they have fresh food. They also dont have a mosquito net.

6.3 Karen P.
Canada
January 20, 2013
Sweet staff, but isolated location
Nice pool, great staff
The Kayla'a is decent - the food is so-so and the rooms need an airing. The sink in my room had no water; neither did the guest bathrooms near the restaurant. But they're trying very hard to make it a fun, family place.

4 Juliet A.
United States
January 16, 2013
Great hotel, just a bit far from Panglao
The view is awesome and food is great!
We had a nice stay in this hotel. The employes are helpful .... It's just one guy , I don't know if he is the owner or Manager , he treats the employees very rude and yell at them. He don't even greet the guests when he sees them . I've heard that he was just a friend of the real owner John. This guy should not treat the employees rudely because he don't even have the right to do such thing. But, the hotel is Great !!! I would definitely come back .....

9.7 KIRILL R.
Russia
January 13, 2013
Responsive staff and quiet place
A small but very cozy hotel, high quality service and a lot of responsive staff
We were there during the Christmas holidays December'12-January'13. Awesome stay! Very friendly and helpful staff, ready to help at any time. Very clean and spacious bungalows with all facilities on board, including air conditioning and media. A bit far away from Tagbilaran, but if you take a scooter rental, all borders are erased! Highly recommended!