arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.4
Based on 36 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 36 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 5.3
  • Location 6.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 7.2

tran P.
Philippines
December 12, 2013
A great location to unwind
Great location with quiet surrounding, close to beach and diving ground. Friendly staff with smiles and help at anytime on anything. Nice garden and hotel decor
We enjoyed very much our stay in this hotel. The nice garden and beautiful ocean view with a private diving ground are certainly the big plus. it is a bit away from the busy tourist areas in Bohol, but then it gives you a peaceful relaxing time. The hotel is a few minutes drive to the Bee farm where you can buy many intersting stuff and nice lunch. The Hotel owner and staff are friendly and helpful, very attentive to all your needs. We will definitely come back and recommend the hotel to our friends

Shirley M.
United States
August 05, 2013
Warm and hospitable owner.
Modern room, quiet environment, friendly staff
Relaxing, quiet but the beach was not swimmable at the time we checked in. I was expecting for a clear water beach but it was not.Anyway from what I was told it had been raining prior to our arrival. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay.

Roxie R.
United States
May 22, 2013
Very relaxing and peaceful
The owner Mirabell was lovely and attentive. The hotel is very tranquil and kept up to quite a high standard.
The hotel is located quite close to Alona beach, so enjoying some Panglao nightlife is accomplished easily enough, but La Pernela is also far enough away that there is peace and quiet when you come back to rest. The food is amazing and Mirabell, the owner, frequently made specialty dishes that were not on the menu because I had expressed a particular desire. She was incredibly accommodating and went to every length to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were clean and stylish, and the grounds were really well groomed. The property also extends right to the ocean, and is within a 5 minute walk from 2 separate beaches - I would highly recommend staying here to anyone!

Willy B.
Norway
February 28, 2013
A hotel with standard words" i'm sorry".
If You like to stay a long way from everything, and have no whises for service, its OK.
The Rooms were ok, nothing more. The food was no good, always server to late, from 45-90 minutes, and for us 2 couples who wanted to eat at the same time, That never happend. Only one and one person could be served, and If we Get the food together, it was COLD. The owner always said, I'm sorry for this, and sorry for that, smiling..

vivi J.
Denmark
February 27, 2013
Stylish rooms
The owner is a very attentive host
Rooms are nicely designed. Very clean. Beautiful garden and a very nice pool. Across the road there's a green area also belonging to the hotel, which is a nice place to hang out with a book with a nice view over the cliffs and the sea. There's a tiny beach 5 min walk away. Another beach about 10 min walk is very picturesque with a lot of fishing boats. The far end is the best for sunbathing, though we are not talking bounty beaches, but beaches with a very local touch. The hotel is in an isolated area, but it is not a problem to get transportation either arranged by the owner or if you walk to the mainroad you can easily get a moto. The owner can inform about prices etc. If you are travelling alone and want to go on a tour the owner will try to hook you up with agroup, to make it cheaper for you. For most privacy you should go for the rooms at the front and away from the restaurent.

Sandra L.
Philippines
February 01, 2012
tranquility spot
middle of what Bohol has to offer but you need to hire a car. restful break.
this is my second time here. this time, i brought along my parents who are in their 80's and a visiting elder sister from california. i loved the quiet and the serenity of the place. and if you want the action of alona beach or the scenery of the countryside, or the novelty of the bee farm, you can just hire a car/driver for the day and do all this. then it's like coming home to rest afer a hectic tour. when you wake up, you can go and sit by the beachfront and just take in the beauty of the sea.

JUDIE R.
Philippines
January 31, 2012
Beautiful resort, ideal for couples.
Privacy
our room was spacious with large closets. bathroom's also very chic albeit the water pressure was weak. maám maryvelle, the owner, says they will remedy this. not quite a 'suite' compared to 5-star hotels in big cities which has tubs/carpets etc. but with bohol's standards, the room was really nice. i was satisfied overall. you can check out the photos in this site. food was very good! we would always go back to the hotel for dinner even if we are in the town area. it was reasonably priced also, i think food in other hotels would be more expensive. if you want to go to the town area frequently, do not stay here. transportation would really be costly if you leave the hotel for more than once a day. the location of this hotel was always disclosed in this site and other reviews so i see no point in complaining about the distance. the dirt road leading to the hotel wasn't really muddy as was mentioned in the previous review. mud covered perhaps 2 meters or less of the road. it wasn't really that horrendous. after a long day of bohol tour, it was really nice going home to this hotel. so serene and relaxing. you cannot get that from hotels in alona beach or town area. the small beach nearby was also marvelous! very private and beautiful. book this hotel when you want some relaxation and time alone with your husband/wife.

John S.
Philippines
January 08, 2012
Quaint place merely adequate
Nice beachfront property
first of all, the room type was not a suite. it was an ordinary double room. i think that error typifies this establishment. it tends to exaggerate. the location is rather remote and can only be reached by traversing tiny, muddy roads. this can be a plus for those who really seek isolation...not so great if you want to see places. its isolated location made it difficult for me and my family to buy supplies such as water and soda, etc. we had to rent the hotel transportation which was quite costly. food was merely adequate and certainly not worth the money they were charging. water pressure in the bathroom was weak.

EUN K.
South Korea
September 13, 2011
Great hotel and kind service
calm atomosphere
it's a good place for travelers who want to relax and take a rest under the silent atmosphere without any interupting.

Rebecca K.
United States
April 27, 2011
Awesome Hotel but far from everything!
It was a beautiful hotel and the service was great. The beach was pristine!
la pernela is a great place to stay if you want romance, quiet, and privacy. we basically had the whole place to ourselves for 2 days! however, it is pretty far from the beach (about 15 minute drive) and it is also about 15 minutes away from the city by car. you really need to rent a motorcycle if you want to do anything besides hang around the hotel.