arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 3203 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 3203 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Staff Performance 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.4

7.3 Christopher C.
Philippines
September 01, 2011
Great Rooms Good Service
Rooms were good, nice staff
The hotel itself is a bit old and has that "old school" Filipino look to it. The pool is great but the beach is not so nice. The rooms were great, very big and spacious, the bathroom also was huge. The breakfast buffet was good, it had a mix of continental and filipino food for everyone to enjoy.

5.3 BENEDICTA A.
United States
September 01, 2011
Nice Hotel, good service, mediocre food
Nice hotel and good service
The hotel and grounds are nice. Staff are very friendly. However, the location is not very desirable as it is a slum area outside the hotel compound and there is nowhere to eat except the hotel restaurant that serves REAL expensive and mediocre food. The bowl of greasy, lukewarm spaghetti and dried herb chicken was enough to swear us off food for a while. Beach is small and can't really swim in it. They do have a nice pool.

8 Maurrey S.
Philippines
August 29, 2011
Cebu White Sands - simple and relaxing
I would recommend their SPA
Cebu White Sands At Maribago Bay Hotel offers simple and yet relaxing place to stay during vacations. Suggest to stay at least 4 days to maximize your stay.

7 Chong H.
Singapore
August 27, 2011
Good security, large rooms, great spa.
Large rooms, great spa.
we were given two rooms near the spa, large and spacious. felt very safe as there was a guard post at the end of the corridor. nice, large pool. spa was great. only issue was a slightly noisy air conditioning set, which woke me up at 4 am.

4 michael T.
United States
August 25, 2011
room was very large
gardens, fish
Food is way too costly for quality, policy of on bringing any food into the hotel is terrible, do they not make enought on the overprices food. Did not like you to walk when leaving hotel, bad policy, if I could not care for myself I would not come to a dangerouse place like the Philippines, it is in a bad and dirty location and fast road

6.3 massimo C.
Italy
August 22, 2011
good hotel but no beach
room
we stayed 2 nights at this hotel. at the arriving we had a problem with our room, since there was no hot water in the shower. we had to wait for an hour before being able to speak with the manager (after insiting very much..). At the end we obtained to change our room into a bigger one. The rooms are nice, so is the grounds of the resort. The problem is the beach, very small and with many boats and the surroundings, not very nice.

6.7 David M.
Australia
August 18, 2011
Great but rooms let it down
great pool and staff
good resort but the rooms need renovation to bring up to standard

4 David B.
United Kingdom
August 12, 2011
Go to Thailand instead.
The bed and a rocking chair.
The worst thing about this hotel (of which there are many) is the location. We felt like prisoners for the four nights we stayed there. Everytime I left the hotel I was harrassed by the local vendors which ended in them verbally abusing me over the hotel walls by the end of the stay. Everytime we left the hotel they would call me a lier and told me to go to hell. Apparently they thought I wanted to do an island hopping tour with them, but I gave them no indication of this. Even if you want to go onto the beach to relax the vendors will be all around the boundary shouting at you from the water and over the walls. At first we thought they were playing charades, but we were wrong. They would sell their sick mothers for a single Peso. Other than this outrage, the hotel food was not fit to feed a pet pig and the breakfast buffet? What buffet I have seen better selection at a one year olds birthday bash, and they didn't even have chocolate fingers. If you do manage to get out of the hotel without the spying vendors seeing you, you might want to take a trip to Maribago grill, after all it is the only other restaurant within walking distance right. The food here wasn't any better (read restaurant tip) If you want a holiday with nice beaches, good restaurants and a relaxing atmosphere you will not find it in Cebu city or Mactan island. Pay the little bit extra and go to Phuket. If you are Korean they will also try and speak Korean to you as well. So don't think you can escape this. So overall a very mediocore hotel that often gets power cuts (did I mention that little surprise?) set in an area opposite a slum. Sounds like paradise?

8 Hans V.
Germany
August 10, 2011
great hotel
nice and friendly stuff
it is a nice place for relaxing. outside the hotel it is not really so nice just one street with some restos and nothing more. outside the massage is save and i can recommend it. the area is dominated be koreans

8.3 Martin H.
United Kingdom
August 10, 2011
Excellent friendly hotel
Location, beach, pool, friendly service
Managed to get an upgrade to the Mabuhay Room when we checked in with our three young children (5-9 yrs). Stayed for 8 days. The room was basic but functional. Spend most of the time in the pool and on the beach. The beach is not big, although the sand is good. Buffet breakfast everyday was the same and all the waiting staff know your name. Excellent Anahata Spa, which myself and my wife used. Very professional. Easy to get around by taxi, jeepney or tricycle to all the local sights, including imperial palace waterpark, Maribago grill, mactan shrine. Would definitely stay there again.