Back to hotel info

Very good 7.2
Based on 769 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 769 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 6.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.4

Sao L. from Macau
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
A complete lie - Never return
I already sent an email to customer center requesting to be C/O after 1st night. Hotel called us but no sincerity & nothing was done. We didnt want to ruin our mode for vacation so we just stayed outside whole day for 4 days & only went back to the hotel to sleep. So glad we changed to other hotel at our last night.
Reviewed March 21, 2015

FARAH S. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2014
VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY
RELAXING, QUIET NICE STAFF
OUR STAY IN THE HOTEL WAS GREAT, WE HAD FUN. NICE STAFF. BUT I THINK HOUSEKEEPING NEEDS AN IMPROVEMENT. FLOOR TOWEL FOR THE BATHROOM WAS NOT PROVIDED, AND LACKING OF TOILETRIES. BUT OVERALL GOOD. EXCEPT FOR ONE STAFF FROM VISTAMAR, NOT SURE IF HE IS A POOL ATTENDANT. IT WAS KINDA AWKWARD IN THE MIDDLE OF YOUR SWIMMING, YOU ARE ASKED IF YOU ARE ENTITLED TO SWIM IN THIS POOL. I MEAN, THE WAY HE ASKED US. I JUST DIDN'T FEEL IT WAS IN A COURTEOUS MANNER.
Reviewed March 15, 2015

Lauren G. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
This is not a resort, this is a terrible hotel
Sotogrande is not a resort. It is a barely-functioning hotel set in the wasteland of a failed housing development. There are no activities or amenities, the beach is poor, the staff are friendly but unhelpful. There is no shop to buy things. The tennis court is a ruin, the billiards room covered in dust. The food is poor, the room phones broken, in-room safe was completely removable (and we could not open it), and the balcony doors had no locks. Anything worth doing is a 20-60 minute taxi ride away, when they can actually get a taxi to come and collect you, which can often take more than 30 minutes. The transfer that we had arranged from the airport did not arrive. The best I can say is that the room was clean. It is not clear that the management know how to run a hotel. I would not stay here again unless I wanted inspiration for a tropical film.
Reviewed March 10, 2015

stephen T. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
No good beach
price, room, gym
Good room and gym but beach sucks and facilities on beach are run down.
Reviewed March 06, 2015

DONGKI K. from South Korea
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2015
not so good
near city, spa, diving
It is up to traveler
Reviewed March 04, 2015

Madeline C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
One of the worst choice I've made.
Checked in at 12. Room was acceptably sized.
No staff showed genuine care. It seemed like they are forced to work. No one informed that there's free shuttle bus to the main road and no map was given. Upon check out, staff claimed that I've taken 2 bottles of mineral water from the minibar. But nothing was placed. The swimming pool was nice. Location is not good. Not accessible. Do not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Reviewed March 04, 2015

kerwin A. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2015
overall
price and the pool
The food menu does not indicate the extra charges. Also, the room i stayed with had a leaking a/c ang the tv has a line across it when you turn it on. also the kettle is rusty which is kinda dangerous if you will be using it for your babiea milk
Reviewed March 03, 2015

CHAN Y. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2015
worst ever!
free shuttle to 7/11 on request, nice and helpful security guards
the hotel made many mistakes which are unacceptable: 1: no show for car pick up service: we waited at the airport for an hour for the pick up service, called the front desk staffs in between whom gave us a car paste number and said the car was already there, however, we did not see it!! waited for another 30 minutes then the local pick up counter staff came to us and said the car is coming? which means the front desk staff lied to us and made us kept waiting. the price for the pick up is 4 times more than the taxi. 2: poor maintained room: balcony door in the room has no lock, we could easily open the window form outside even they were locked.no safety box and there was a building next door are under construction, definitely feeling not safe and requested to change room , the new room has ticks which made us very itchy and could not sleep. 3:no show again for island hopping: booked island hopping form the hotel which charged more than double than the local agent. however, we waited at the hotel pier for one hour with no boat came. complained to the front desk staffs and they said they have sent someone to us because there was a problem for the boat. what a liar, there was no one on the pier except us and we did not see anyone came to us. the front desk staff kept saying the boat was coming and we finally cancelled the trip after another 30 minutes waiting and wasted one sunny day! 4: poor customer service: the front desk staffs are liars, always said they did help but actually they did not .whenever you asked or complained to them, they only showed a robotic smile and typical model answer. definitely not sincere and gave annoying faces to people who did not speak fluent english ( even though theirs was not that well also). all the answers started with according to policies, i believe a self service machine can perform better.
Reviewed February 26, 2015

Robert C. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 8 nights in February 2015
A great hotel but a little far out.
The private beach, choice of swimming pools, Staff friendliness.
A great hotel, food is great, excellent staff, great choice of pools, gym, secure and safe resort, private beach. The issues I have are: being charged 50 Pesos to call a taxi plus the 50 pesos charge that the resort has for the taxi to enter which is reflected on the guest who has already paid for the privilege of staying. The policy of not bringing your own food to the resort is also a negative thing although we were never challenged over it. I would like to see this resort offer a shuttle bus to Cebu city, Macatan Island malls/shopping even at a small cost as Taxi's are quite expensive and takes about 1 hour to get to Cebu city. other than that it was a great stay. I recomend walking outside the gates to take a scooter to the new town then get a taxi to save on the fees the resort charge.
Reviewed February 26, 2015

CHOONGJAE L. from South Korea
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Review
The employees were friendly and the location of the hotel was not bad.
It was not bad, but the restroom of this hotel was too small to use for our family.
Reviewed February 23, 2015