Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 309 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 5.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 5.6
Sort by

Margaret C. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Good value for money
The hostel was close to Fuente Osmena which makes it easy to go shopping and catch public transport. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. I had the whole room to myself which was nice but it meant i could not meet other traveler and exchange stories and ideas which is the reason I stay in hostels as a solo traveler. Cons: Breakfast was not worth paying for. The showers were cold The wifi signal was weak in in some rooms.
Reviewed March 05, 2016

Hein C. from South Africa
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Great value for money in the dorm room.
bathrooms, comfortable beds and very affordable
I moved from a terrible guest house in the city and luckily this turned around my experience. It was a very nice and clean place. No complaints. Staff friendly and helpful. Compared to the other place I stayed...sugbutel was great.
Reviewed March 04, 2016

ana M. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
room ok. but a bit noisy with crying babies around
staff are sugbutel's assets :) especially the guards and entrance door personnel. happy people. location is good,public transport readily available...
it was nice. just need improvement on where to book family with babies. overall was ok. I will book again..hopefully next time, it will be more relaxing and peaceful especially during sleeping hours :)
Reviewed February 18, 2016

Rey B. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Ordinary
Rooms were clean and facilities were ok. However, the shower heater of the room we checked in to was always malfunctioning. We asked for maintenance and they sent an electrician 2 hrs later. That night it malfunctioned again and we asked for a room change and the staff politely accepted the request. They told us to call if we're ready so that they could assist us so after 30 mins we called for transfer. We waited an hour and called again, waited another hour and called the 3rd time. After 30 mins I went down in my pajamas frustrated and asked for the key myself and the time was almost 12am. Their buffet was disappointing, but the service was satisfactory. Overall, if it haven't been for the convenient location the hotel offered, I would rate this stay a lot lower.
Reviewed February 08, 2016

Sina K. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2016
not bad
food,timing,polite staff
Reviewed February 06, 2016

Katarina P. from Slovakia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
Alright
It was a good place for one night but wouldnt probably want to stay for longer.
Reviewed February 02, 2016

Nazareno L. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
my stay at sugbutel
location, cheap, comfort
it was good. the restroom is a bit dirty though
Reviewed February 01, 2016

Larry C. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
Good Budget Accomodations
Comfortable bunk beds, excellent security, Friendly staff.
Good value for the money. There are plenty of showers, although I had no hot water on the morning of my stay. I wish the shower stalls had hooks on the door or in the tile so guests can hang their towel and clothing up. Right now there's NOTHING...you have to hang everything over top of the door or over the wall and into the next shower stall. Not a good situation!
Reviewed January 22, 2016

Xiang L. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
a good and clean dormitory
location, friendly, clean
the air conditioner make the room really cool, you may spend money for the blanket and list. Besides, if you want to store your staff in the reception, you may pay the money for them also.
Reviewed December 22, 2015

Kwanchanok R. from Thailand
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
Never stay here!
This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed. You will feel like your are being in the labor camp site. The hotel located near Cebu port, don't expect to see any nice view. Only local stay here, I didn't meet any foreigner when I stayed. People talk and walk all night. It was a nightmare!
Reviewed December 14, 2015


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: