Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 404 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Dominic W. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Fantastic View. Very steep climb to chalet
The View. Huge Bed. Dinnrer on the Beach.
The view from the top of the mountain,overlooking the sea was amazing. The 200 plus steps going up to the chalet was an excrutiating climb. If you have young legs the view is worth it. If you dont have strong legs then think again about this place. You will be assigned sa personal assistant for your entire stay there and they are very attentitive. There is a free boat to the Mainland of Davao twice a day.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Kristine B. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed one night in June 2013
A Place of Relaxation
This hotel has a nice ocean view. One could really relax since the place is quite especially during night time. The staff are very friendly.
Our stay in the hotel was quite relaxing, though the chalet rooms are located far from the pool area. The place is so quite, that you can do meditation there. The staff are friendly and were always there when you need assistance.
Reviewed July 03, 2013

Gelinard A. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2013
heavenly beautiful, very romantic place
romantic, very quiet and relaxing place
it was very romantic, very quiet and relaxing. having a personal butler is great. fast service. the food were delicious, well-prepared and arranged but a little pricey.
Reviewed July 01, 2013

Katrina L. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2013
Nice, but a bit pricey for the resort.
room, pool and nature
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Eldon D. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed one night in June 2013
Nice hotel but Food way overpriced
beach, room, pool
Transfers from Sta Ana Port to Hof Gorei wharf was included in the package, although their trip schedule is at 11pm and 2pm only, we had an early morning flight from MNL, and was at Sta Ana Port around 7am, we had to wait till 11am for the boat trip, too bad that there's no place SAFE-intended for waiting passengers, had to deal with random people selling stuff which was very annoying. We booked for a beach front room. Upon arrival arrival, we were greeted with smiling faces, fresh towels and fruit juice, hotel location was very nice, internet is only at wharf area, our butler Rhea, was very nice and helpful during the entire stay. Beach dinner was set for us, very romantic place, food is great but WAY OVERPRICED! I know all goods are shipped from Davao City but I don't see the point of charging everything 3 to 4 times higher than the price in the city. Hotel is somehow located in the outskirts, no roads connected, so if you plan to go around Samal, you would need to hire a motorcycle. I recommend to try Maxima Water Slide, Hagimit Falls and Monfort Bat Cave.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Peter C. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2013
Serene, Refreshing, Fun
Friendly and Accommodating Staff, Great food slection, Nature
Our Hof Gorei stay was indeed AMAZING. We booked for a lower class room, but they upgraded us to a premium one. If you love nature, then this resort is for you. We get what we pay for!
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ahmed K. from Egypt
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Great
Great view.quite place
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Robert P. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2013
Very relaxing
nice gardens, nice beach, Moman (our private attendant) was excellent
Staying at this hotel was like staying at a friends private estate. Very peaceful and quiet. The gardens are beautiful. The climb all the way to the top of the stairs was good exercise and the view was impressive. The menu had a good variety. Moman (our personal attendant) saw to our every need; he was excellent. He arranged for us to have breakfast at a private table on the beach; a very nice touch. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for peace and quiet in a garden setting.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

SHIRLY G. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
expensive but it's a way of pampering yourself.
so relaxing location although a bit expensive in terms of food but it relaxes your heart and miind.
as i may say, you are with a home away from home plus the surrounding makes you relax like you're in a nature park that you may see variety of flowers and birds... it's a great place for recovering your stress after the long working days.although the food is a little bit expensive but they have good food.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

rowena R. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
dissapointed
only the staff is OK
The PHOTOS of the resort WERE MISLEADING; the place isn't as nice as pictured and the resort actually does NOT have a beach. The room leaked right over the bed when it rained. The resort doesn't allow outside food and drinks to be brought in, but they didn't have snacks and chips that we could buy for the kids. The food inside the resort was very expensive. ex. a can of soda cost P88.00 plus 10% service charge.
Reviewed June 11, 2013