Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 404 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Morell B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Relaxing
Location, staff, food quality
Very good, however, dinning very expensive
Reviewed December 17, 2015

John F. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Terrible! Highly overated! Stay Some where else!
personal Butler
This is by far one of the worse places I have ever stayed. I am world traveler, very disappointed. Peaceful & tranquil it is not!!! It is loud, and very noisey! I booked an paid for a King size bed with a ocean view. I got a double with no view! My finance, complained to the owner, & was told I was to old to climb the stairs to king bed! Which was up the hill! The unit they gave me was beside an on going construction site! For 2 of the 3 days, I was woken up at 6:30 in the morning by loud hammering. The animals that roam the are a pain in the butt! The second night in the middle of night a cat sat outside our window and meowed until I got out of bed to chase it away! There is a videokake bar beside the resort that plays extremely loud music every night! I was considering going diving until I saw the cost they wanted which was outrageous! I paid 2500 peso for a dive the week before in front of the resort. I had booked it at Carabou dive center in Davao. The resort wanted 5700 peso for the same 2 tank dive! Another quest had told not to bother to climb the 300 steps to the jacuzzi because it was not heated! This resort is neither peaceful or tranquil, it is loud and not worth the time or money to stay there! Spend a little more money and stay anywhere else on Samal island.
Reviewed December 08, 2015

OLIVIA A. from United Arab Emirates
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Away from the hustle and bustle of the city
Food, Staff and Location
Although we were there for just 4 days, we had a great time. My friends thought the photo I posted came from a travel mag. Well, it didn't obviously. If you wanted a place were you can relax and be away from the hustle and bustle of city living then its the place for you. Close to nature. Staff was great. Our butler Juls was very attentive. Food was great. Place could use a little more improvement on the facilities. But otherwise a very good stay.
Reviewed December 07, 2015

Floper M. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
Yes, they really provide personal butler.
Good Service, Quiet Environment, Free Boat Ride
I took this resort because it offers a free boat ride going to the island. Upon arrival, you will be welcomed with free drinks and cold towel. From here, you will be assigned with a personal butler. Over-all service is good. Staff and all the people around were kind. The place is good, but it can be better. I was not able to swim because the sea is a bit dirty. The community around did not help. The pool was OK, though. The room was also comfortable. The only downsides are no channel for the TV, and no internet connection inside the room. Nevertheless, I would still want to visit the place again, soon.
Reviewed November 28, 2015

Sharina S. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in October 2015
Nice place, nice view.
The staff were very courteous.
We had a nice time during our stay. Place was clean and the staff were courteous. I love their idea of assigning a personal butler for you. However, it would be great if they can install more lights as it was dark when we were strolling at night. We weren't able to take a dip in the pool at night as there were no proper lights in the pool area. Other than that, everything was okay.
Reviewed November 04, 2015

Nicolette M. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2015
A short but wonderful stay
Excellent service, good food, peaceful environment
The location is very peaceful, but one thing that sets them apart from other resorts we've been to is their excellent personal butler service. Our butler was so nice, and our meals (although a little pricey) was beautiful.
Reviewed October 26, 2015

Rina S. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2015
Sweet escape
The Staff, The Ambiance, the beach
Very good experience. If you want total relaxation and escape from city chaos Hof Gorei can offer you that. With personal butler, you can just sit back and relax.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

Malcolm C. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
A lovely secluded place
The seclusion and peace and quiet. Also our 'butler' Gaddy.
A great place to stay. An added bonus is that we had our own personal butler Gaddy for the 3 says we were there. He was brilliant. The only issue was that there was a kidnapping of foreigners on Samal Island while we were there. It may affect whether we return. But that is outside the control of the resort.
Reviewed September 29, 2015

Ronnie B. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Consistency is Key
The greenery is nice. The geese were a treat. The loon was also a sight.
My stay was nothing remarkable.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Crisalyn R. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
A night in an Island
Staff, accomodation, food
It's relaxing. The staff are all friendly and approachable. All smiles and good vibes.
Reviewed September 26, 2015