arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 400 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Rosablanca P.
Philippines
January 12, 2015
A getaway to remember
Romantic.. Solemn.. Breathtaking

Rene J.
United States
December 20, 2014
Ok, place but felt stranded there
Butler, butler, butler
Only ok, but too expensive. Without a doubt the best part is the butler. As the other reviews say, very good service. Island itself is best as a get away for those living in Davao. As a world traveler not much reason to go here. This particular resort very isolated so you are mostly stuck here unless you pay very high prices for excursion compared to everywhere I've been in the Phillipines. I felt very uncomfortable with their rule you could not bring food and drink. Their food ok in quality but 50 to 100% more expensive as at fine hotels is Davao. Drinks expensive and so little alcohol it is not a real drink; rum drinks should have a taste of rum...none noticed. Grounds so-so, after a short walk you are done. Will I come back? No.

Maricel Z.
Philippines
December 14, 2014
nice view
I like the food, room, service and view.
Very nice, I love having my own butler. My travel buddy really love it. If only we can stay long we will but we're a backpacker's. The food is very good and you can choose were to eat on the beach or room.

Luilynn G.
Philippines
November 19, 2014
A so so stay
Rooms, location and beach
It was a good overnight stay. From the boat transfer at sta ana wharf till we got the place. We had an accommodating attendant and she was really attentive to our needs. Food was really pricey but we love the view we had while we were eating because it was by the beach. During our stay though while we were enjoying our night after our dinner there was a not so good seen we had to witness. 2 staffs were yelling at each other and eventually was hitting each other. They seemed really barbaric. I would not really recommend this resort for a long stay since food is pricey and your not allowed food.

Jhemhar B.
Qatar
November 07, 2014
Samal Island Trip
Food, location and views
If you like to have some good relaxation with your love ones and family, Hof Gorei is the best stop to visit to. We had a great time with my partner.

Albert S.
United States
November 02, 2014
Romantic Get-Away in a Tropical Paradise
Service was outstanding! The sights were spectacular! The Island-Hopping tour was magical!
If you're looking for that romantic get-away, or an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, then I highly recommend this resort. A white, sand beach set by a lush,tropical hillside provided the perfect refuge from stress. Our butler, Mark, attended to our every need, in a friendly and efficient manner. The optional island-hopping tour included exploring coral reefs and a barbeque on the beach. Hof Gorei is sure to be a stop on our future visits to the Philippines.

Anthony C.
Australia
October 28, 2014
Relaxing break from studying
quiteness, isolation
while there are things I would criticise, overall we both thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day break and would return there again when we are next having a break.

JOCELYN P.
Philippines
October 04, 2014
rustic, romantic place but needs renovation
food, ambiance, peaceful
Rustic and romantic place but needs renovation.

Eden L.
Philippines
September 26, 2014
Tingling vacation
Swimming pool, accommodated staff and delicious food
We stay at the top house which is so beautiful but very hard to get into. The room is big but so many flies that when got home we had so many flies bite all over our body. The sea water was itchy. The food is great but too expensive...I rate this 4...

Dana P.
United States
September 20, 2014
Average at best
Pool ? ?
Not good stay overall. Good but overpriced food. Activities overpriced. Service was average at best, but butler concept could be a good idea if professionally executed. The place is remote and it is very difficult to get to local town. We had to pay local kids to ride us on back of motorcycle to get to a paved road. 1 week at Hof Gorie was way too long.