Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 65 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 3.3
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.2
  • Service 6.6
  • Value for Money 6.7
  • Food/Dining 5.4
Sort by

Rio C. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
good
good, affordable clean
good, it is good for budgeted stay and helpful staff
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Jules D. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Centrally located hotel near shopping areas
Location, Price, Comfortable rooms
Stay was comfortable although do not take the offered shuttle service from/to airport. Price is exorbitantly high
Reviewed October 02, 2013

adel A. from Kuwait
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
nice hotel to stay for your bisnise
nothing its normall hotel
Reviewed October 01, 2013

Ann C. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Friendly Staff and Affordable
accessible, friendly staff, value for money
two thumbs up.they give value for money, and has accommodating staff.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

John E. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in August 2013
Great Location, Lacks Security
Location, Friendly Staff
The location was great for the Kadayawan festival....had a great view for the activities on the street below. The issue I had was the hotel security. I had a laptop computer stollen from me, Asked for help from the staff. They told me to wait to speak to the Security Supervisor. I left after waiting for him for 20 minutes. Filed a police report. The police were much more helpful. Never did see the Security Supervisor at the hotel.....useless!
Reviewed August 21, 2013

LILYVELLE D. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
You get the value of what you paid for
location, big comfort room, clean
My stay at hotel uno is not so bad. We get what we paid for, the bed is hard & the towels sucks. They don't the have make up option at the door so if you leave and not informed the reception that you want your room to be cleaned up, when you get back it will the same as u when u left. You get to pay additional for extra pillow. The location is good though and the hotel is new. I recommned this hotel for those travelling who have tight budget.
Reviewed August 02, 2013

KOTA T. from Japan
Business travelers
Stayed one night in August 2012
nice location for sightseeing
reasonable price, accessible
The price is reasonable. My purpose was to sleep. I didn't have a problem to stay here.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

JAMES P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
nervous,trouble when i was there
the price, basic room, bed ok. had tv, internet problems. a no frills room, to suit a low budget traveler.
a big shootout in front of the hotel uno the very first day i arrived there. so i never ventured out much. i went to davao to look at properties for sale, and do some sight seeing. but now i will look else where in the philippines. for foreigners to travel outside of davao city limits is not recommended these days.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Ardon W. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
clean and good value
The room and hotel were clean.
It was a good value and the location was convienient for me.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Isaac B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013
Great Value but Disturbing Security Flaw
Relatively Large Bathrooom, Speedy Elevator, Quiet Rooms Available
Hotel Uno has a nice reception area but is not as pictured; a full-wall mirror makes it look much larger in picture, and the golden chandelier glow was only used for the photography effect. In practice they never actually turn on that chandelier, so the reception area, although nice, remains pale white and relatively small. At the time this was the best hotel for the money I had stayed at in the Philippines. The rooms are nice and the bathrooms are relatively large. My first room was LOUD due to honking, jackhammer, and buzzsaw noise on the street, so I transferred to a MUCH quieter room at the back of the hotel and rebooked there in-person as well. But when I transferred rooms I noticed a disturbing security flaw. The hotel keycards weren't working at the time, so they give you the physical override keys for the room locks. During transfer I had my old room's key and was waiting in front of the new room, which was locked, while the attendant brought up the new room's key. I tried the old room key on the new room door, and sure enough it opened it, despite the keys having different configurations. This suggests any one key could open a number of doors in the hotel, if not all of them. Very disturbing, although I didn't have any incidents. A final note: Davao is considered the cleanest city in the Philippines but this comes at a cost. Anyone visiting there should know that the longtime mayor Duterte (ironically a former lawyer) is an extremely violent, Saddam Hussen-style psychopath whose most notorious deed is setting up a still-operating outfit known as the Davao Death Squad which summarily executes drug runners and other criminals (go ahead, Google it). If you do visit Davao keep in mind that this guy is both crazy and very powerful there, so be on your BEST behavior.
Reviewed July 08, 2013