Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 1198 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1198 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.7

celia S. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in February 2014
qiute,peaceful,realaxing with wide variety of food
Fast room service,friendly staff,fast check in and check out
very good quite and peaceful.staff were very friendly,helpful,bed was comfortable,gear breakfast with wide selections of buffet.however the building itself was already old compared to Hotels now a days.needs renovations.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

david B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
A very nice resort on the water in a city location
The pool, the gardens, nice restaurant choices and good service (well that's four)
Exceeded expectations - very good. A great choice if visiting Davao
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Gary M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 9 nights in March 2014
Good value for the money & pleasent environment!
The three best things: 1. The friendly and helpfull staff 2. The beautiful gardens and lanscaping, as well as proximity to the ocean 3. The excellent food
I have to say, we were pleasantly surprised by the Insular Hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable with an excellent view of the pool and ocean beyond. The staff was very attentive, respectful and friendly always. The gardens and grounds in general were beautiful and well maintained. We used them for the backdrop of many photos. The pool was great too! I would like to mention at this point, if you are new to the Davao area as I was, be prepared to experience heightened security. I am talking armed guards walking the beach with M-16 rifles and bomb checks of your taxi when you arrive. Remember, this is for your safety, so I view this as a positive. As an American, I felt very secure here. Okay, now for the negatives. If you walk out on the pier and look back at the hotel, the Insular and its grounds are beautiful, but right next door, the beach looks like a garbage dump. This is probably out of the control of the hotel ownership. However, it leaves an impression, none the less. Also, our first night there, we realized the AC was not cooling the room. The front desk had someone there repairing it within the hour. It was a small inconvenience, but one worth mentioning.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Henrik N. from Denmark
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
it was ok
pool. service in resturant and garden
it was ok , but had to wait 2 hour's to get our room (not ready before 4pm)
Reviewed March 27, 2014

armi Q. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
...
...
.......................................................
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Roderick M. from New Zealand
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Fun but expensive
Kind and attentive concierge, neat and spacious rooms, quiet surroundings
The kids had fun in the pool although they have little space to swim as 80% of the pool is 10ft-deep. They had a wide variety of choices for their breakfast. The concierge was very helpful and accommodating. But the hotel charges for everything, even the use of the pool. It is free only for the maximum number of guests in the room, meaning, if you stay at a 2-adult room and you have 2 kids with you, they will charge for the 2 children if all 4 of you will be using the pool. Their food is priced so much, kare-kare and crispy pata for 1500 each!
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Henry S. from Switzerland
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Better than being at home !
Staff attention to guests' needs + quiet and green surroundings + easy accessibility to the city.
Excellent !! There really is not much more to say other the comments I made earlier. One has to experience staying in this hotel; words are inadequate to describe the experience.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Derk M. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2014
Nice hotel in need of upgrades
Pools, beach and gardens
Stay was good. We stay here all the time but hotel and specially rooms and bathrooms are in need of refurbishing. Bathrooms are really old and walls show signs of mold and mildew in the cracks
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Todd D. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2014
Wonderful, relaxing stay
Staff, hotel grounds (pool, gardens), quiet location
Stay was excellent, great staff, quiet relaxing location, great pool, decent dining options, breakfast buffet is very good.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Dale B. from Zambia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2014
Beautiful setting
Breakfast..beauty...comfort
It was only 1 night. We had fun. It was beautiful and the buffet breakfast had a great variaty and was delicious. My fiancé and I loved it. It seemed to be pretty far away from downtown
Reviewed March 09, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: