Back to hotel info

Above average 5.9
Based on 117 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 117 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 2.7
  • Location 6.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.1
  • Service 6.2
  • Value for money 6.1
  • Food/Dining 5.2

allen G. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
average
bed
Ok but would not go back.
Reviewed March 13, 2015

Dominic G. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed one night in February 2015
A sad place
Location
With some imagination and investment, this could make a charming boutique hotel with a courtyard garden surrounding a pool. Unfortunately, the owners have decided to cram in as many rooms as possible and turn the courtyard into a car park and utility area. Corridors leading to the guest rooms are gloomy and forbidding and many rooms have no window. The place looked to me like a serious firetrap and I worried about my safety in case a fire had broken out during the night. This is a shame, because there is so much potential here. The hotel has a great location in a quiet side street on the edge of Malate, The public areas of the hotel are quite pleasant, however guests are given no reason to linger there. Incongruously, the hotel restaurant reproduces the atmosphere of an old Swiss inn and is quite pleasant, and my breakfast was quite good, but guests are obliged to pay for meals and other purchases in cash rather than charging them to their rooms, which I found inconvenient and rather insulting
Reviewed February 27, 2015

Gisella R. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Great staff
Its staff
Not great, but fine
Reviewed January 25, 2015

Tay T. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2013
Nil
Nil
Convenient
Reviewed December 16, 2014

Jonathon G. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2014
just sooo dull and drab
the room, the parking, the exit
Such a drab and lifeless place, the staff where disinterested the guests looked boored, the computer in reception did not work and the staff didnt care. I only stayed here with my old man.
Reviewed December 10, 2014

catalina R. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
catalinas stay
staff were excellent, very polite and helpful. Location is the best. walking distance to every life neccesities.
I stay at Garden Plaza several times with my husband, and we enjoyed it a lot.this time I was by myself and it was terrible. They are renovating and the pounding was rigth on top of my room,it is even hard to hear the TV the bathroom was flooded there is water coming from the wall and the shower head is off target,it is higher than the curtain so if you turn it on water is outside and flood the are.the room smells very moldy too if my husband was with me Im sure it is not going to work but because it is only me I put up with it for 2 nigths.Now I have second thought about going there nextime.
Reviewed November 16, 2014

Jason L. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
Old and not accessible enough
price, located across Paco Park
old hotel, TV remote not working, staff not alert
Reviewed October 07, 2014

Irene G. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in September 2014
None
The guard is friendly.
I was so disappointed. The receptionist when we arrived doesnt even smiled and didnt even gave us a warm welcome, was arrogant in asking questions and looks like that she's irritated. The swimming pool was not operational, I chose the hotel because of the swimming pool for kids to enjoy, but unfortunately the advertisement posted on your site seemed not updated. And charges on wifi applied, unlike other hotels that I've been..
Reviewed September 15, 2014

Arthur L. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed one night in July 2014
Small Hotel Hidden Near Paco Park
It is near My Kitchen (a really nice Italian Place, although a bit pricey), It is quiet (located near Paco Park), Hotel looks old but still clean and nice
This hotel is a bit hard to locate if you are not familiar with Manila. It is actually located near Paco Park and very near Oasis Hotel. The rooms are so-so, but i guess that is what you get for the price. For an old hotel, its quit nice and decent and near My Kitchen & Old Swiss Inn Restaurants. The price in Agoda is a bit more expensive than if you go there directly where for the same price you get free breakfast as well. If you are a business traveler who just needs a place to stay in for the night, then this should do for the price. But if you want to go around Malate or be near public transportation, then you might want to consider another hotel.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Julieta A. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2014
Very Poor
Staff were friendly
The shower was but a trickle of water. It looks nice from the outside. But, the rooms are not worth the money.
Reviewed June 28, 2014