Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 39 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.3
  • Service 6.9
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 5.9
Sort by

Criselda V.
Philippines
September 29, 2015
My overall review
My 3 best things about this hotel : a) cleanliness of the room; b) approachable staff and c) accessibility
The room where we stayed was clean and cold (thanks to the airconditioning unit). However, the faucet was leaking and the toilet bowl is not functioning well. There are dishes in the menu which says "good for two' but when I ordered lechon kawali, it was thinly sliced and the serving is not even enough for my 15 y/o son. So we decided to just eat outside since there are many restos near the place. I give it a 5.5 out of 10

Princess B.
Philippines
September 28, 2015
Best standard location
1) Location, near universities holding board exam; walking distance 2) Reservation, you'll have a room available upon arrival through Agoda.com 3) Price, not the best deal but not the worst one.
Before I made my booking and reservation at Hotel Sogo, I red about the comments first of those who had already stayed and experienced the hotel for any ideas and the probability of looking for another better hotel. Many are worst few are goods, but still I booked because it is one of the most convenient and closest to university belt. First, you have to book or reserve before making an arrival to Hotel Sogo to avoid long line of customers waiting for available rooms. It may take hours or even half day just waiting and we don't like that do we. Hotel Sogo is in demand specially to students taking board exam. Second, book for comfort. Some comments says they hear unnecessary noises coming from other rooms or obscene view in the hallway. I had booked for deluxe room for my sister and I , a few bucks higher to premium room rates, but the space and comfort it provides are especially needed. Third, of course hotels have flaws and Hotel Sogo is not an exception. The food sucks and pricey based on taste. Fast food chains and restos are near the vicinity so no problem with that. A little problem with the shower and faucet, but maintenance can solve that problem real fast and service is quite efficient, aircon is in the minimum you cannot adjust the coolness.

Jan H.
Philippines
September 01, 2015
Second Time Here
Chicharon Bulaklak, Three orders of that.
I stayed here for the second time this year in preparation for the PRC board exam. Chronologically, the worst part of it was always checking in. The staff is too slow and they don't really give you priority even if you booked from Agoda. Which they should because you've paid in full already. The receptionist was giving us bullshit about the hotel not receiving the email confirmation from Agoda. Which is so much bull. It's not my fault that you don't check your email. The first time we reserved here, I called them up but they told me rudely (in Filipino) to "just go there and no need to call us." So this time I did. Only to get some lame excuse that they did not receive an email. C'mon people. I know this style. I use the "I-DIDN'T-RECEIVE-THE-EMAIL" excuse at work.

Alria V.
Philippines
August 31, 2015
board exam taker
near universities where licensure exams are held; polite staff
First board exam, i booked for the cheapest room and toilet bowl flush was leaky and the alarm was noisy. I did not know what the alarm was for. The room was small. Don't bring a big luggage. Second board exam, i booked for deluxe room, less noise this time and bigger room. But sink was leaking everytime I open the faucet. Expect to encounter couples at hotel lobby and hallways as this is primarily a love hotel. A bit pricey for 24 hours as it did not include breakfast. My 24-hour stay count started when I checked in at 7PM Sat and then check out around the same time the following day. The hotel does not accept front desk reservations so I booked through agoda.

Desiderio P.
Philippines
April 16, 2015
Hotel Sogo Recto
four nights

Raul C.
Philippines
February 23, 2015
A Short Time Hotel For Pleaure Seeker
Location, staff courtesy
Room was so small. Faucets were leaking. No toilet paper. Later observed that people used to check in for short time basis like 3 hours for pleasure. Stayed for 2 nights. No change of beddings. Won't even rate it 1 star hotel. Worst!

ana G.
Philippines
December 01, 2014
Stay review
Location is accessible, affordable
Not fine we can hear noise from other room, room smell like smokefrom cigarret ,

kimberly C.
Philippines
November 25, 2014
Hotel Sogo Recto
unfriendly staff at the front desk, no sense if u reserve earlier to them, because u need to wait for the vacant room. worst ever hotel,dirty room and toilet, they dont change bedsheet and doesnt allowed visitors

Maria F.
Philippines
October 17, 2014
So Clean... So Good
1. Friendly Staff; 2. Clean Room/Bathroom 3. Convenient location as per my requirement.
Satisfactory. This is my third weekend now, and hope to be back next weekend.

Veronica N.
Philippines
September 18, 2014
uncomfortable night
hospitality of the staff
first night is so uncomfortable..we were located to other rooms two times bec the first and second room the aircon is not cooling. for the third time then that is the time that we are satisfied