Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 655 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 655 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.3
Sort by

John B. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed one night in January 2013
OK Hotel
Cheap, middle of Makati central business district
It was actually an ok hotel, not so new furniture but overall, it works, and considering the price. One big problem we had though, when we booked the hotel room for a get-together, the hotel had a very very strict no visitors beyond 5 people policy (We got a mid sized room with a separate kitchen and living room). We had to appeal with the night-time staff (1 front office person and the guards) to give us an exception since we weren't informed of such policy before booking. We've done this kind of booking + get-together several times on other serviced residences in Makati with no problems and that's where we're coming from. Anyway, it had to resort to having to wake-up the residence manager and giving us a deal that one noise complaint would mean us getting kicked-out. We decided that that was missing the whole point of doing the get-together outside our homes in the first place and so we had to cancel the night at 1:30 AM. Bottom line, if you are planning on using this hotel for such "rare" functions, I suggest you book elsewhere.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

PATRICIA Z. from Canada
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great staff, Great hotel, and Fabulous location!
The staff was very friendly, always greeted with us with a smile, and went out of their way to do things for us.
This hotel was in a great location. Close to Gloriette, Ayala Center, and Greenbelt. I thought the room facilities were more than adequate. I've stayed in many different types of lodging all over the world, and this place definitely met North American standards. The staff were super friendly, and were always willing to accomodate our requests. The breakfast wasn't horrible, but it definitely wasn't worth the pesos for the extra person. There were 3 of us staying here, and the included breakfast was only for 2 ppl. The best thing about the breakfast was the fresh made waffles and pancakes. Other than that, the food was pretty bland.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Anthony S. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012
Disappointing stay for the price paid
Safe guard is nice, feel safe to stay
The hotel room we had was a bit disappointing - considering that we've tried other similarly-priced hotels in the area before. The rooms are clean and alright for a mid-priced hotel room near the Central Business District of Makati. Other than that, everything else is a let-down. Toiletries were nowhere to be found and it turns out that you'd have to request housekeeping for standard things like a toothbrush kit. Breakfast is mediocre and the service is standard. Overall, it's a forgettable experience - the only saving grace is the location.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Benson C. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Old and Discomfort
I am pleased with the room attendant. She was polite and cleaned my room pretty welll
somerset olympia is getting old. the facilities are not as enticing as 10years back. the other somerset in makati are way better. the television was so small. the breakfast is very bad. little selection and the food is not really breakfast menu but probably left-over lunch from previous day. they also have mosquitos in the room.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Genily B. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2012
Surprisingly a great hotel stay.
Location near park and malls. Room is spacious, clean and cozy.
I stayed here last 30 Dec 2012 with my family, including 2 young kids. The room is very spacious and suitable for having kids around, And even if the kids want to go out, the park and the shopping malls are just walking distance. The service is great and the staff are friendly. The breakfast buffet is uneventful. The hotel also have swimming pool and fitness centre that i didn't get to take advantage of. But since I will be definitely coming back to this hotel, I will do so next time.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Tettet S. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed one night in December 2012
Nice hotel but very small outside pool
Location n nice hotel staff
My family had a pleasant and relaxing stay at Somerset. The rooms are just right, good location and most important of all, the hotel staff are nice and courteous. Our only concern is the inadequate size of the swimming pool.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

ESMERALDO R. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2012
Great Location But Hotel Needs Renovation.
Location, location, location!
Key cards given doesn't always work so you have to exert extra effort waiting to get in the doors to the lift and own room and if it doesn't work you have to go down again to reception to fix your key card. If you're staying in this hotel you need to take extra precaution in going in and out of the bath tub as it is too high and I do not suggest dipping in the bath tub as it doesn't look clean to wash your body inside, restaurants for breakfast buffet are very old and filthy inadequate for ala carte orders as they even run out of eggs and there is a long wait when checking out even though they knew they were fully booked there was only one personnel in the reception to assist customers checking in and out.
Reviewed January 04, 2013

Katrina L. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Great location, spacious rooms, service is just ok
Spacious rooms, value for money
The place was a great space, very affordable. Service was sub standard. They couldn't even bring up tap water and ice and they had two restaurants available for them. But the staff were very friendly and the guards were very helpful.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Anderson C. from Brazil
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2012
Good value for you money
location/ price
It is a good value for you money. Reasonable price, fantastic location, but do not expect much. Hotel is old but clean. Only problem is breakfast. Not good at all. Facilities are also old. It a good deal if you are not going to spend much time there. good for business travelers.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Anderson C. from Brazil
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
good value for your money
place/ price
It is a good value for you money. Reasonable price, fantastic location, but do not expect much. Hotel is old but clean. Only problem is breakfast. Not good at all. Facilities are also old. It a good deal if you are not going to spend much time there. good for business travelers.
Reviewed December 26, 2012