Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 654 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 6.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.1

Aditya D. from India
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Value for money
Really surprised by the room size and how clean This hotel is . Way better than what I expected . Location is great . Only drawback - it has stairs and food isn't available after 3 pm but plenty of options if u just walk outside .. Will recommend to anyone .
Reviewed May 06, 2016

Vu N. from Vietnam
Groups
Stayed one night in May 2016
Nice staff
Good location, nice staff, clean and comfortable room and and safe place to stay.
Reviewed May 05, 2016

Keith W. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in April 2016
Nice small hotel with big rooms
I have stayed several times in the Clipper over the past few years and it seems to improve as time goes by. The staff really are friendly and anxious to help you. When I first arrived in my room I found the refrigerator did not work. A staff member arrived within 10 minutes of my notifying the front desk. When I asked for a kettle in my room, it arrived within 1/2 an hour. The rooms are very big and the shower works very well. The hotel is based in the middle of Makati and you are not far from Glorietta, Greenbelt and other shopping malls and Padre Burgos St. (the red light area) is 25 yards away. There are some excellent restaurants and bars nearby (Hekyll & Jeckyll, Mexican opposite and La Tienda Spanish). John, the owner, is a very affable chappie and glad to meet & assist you. Thoroughly recommended.
Reviewed May 04, 2016

Alaister M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
OK Stay
First time to stay at the Clipper - rooms are large and generally clean although somewhat basic. The wifi/internet service was problematic and I had to visit internet cafes several times.
Reviewed May 02, 2016

Chiew C. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Good location and non-smoking hotel.
The hotel is in good location at the Makati bar street and luckily it was the holy week so I got the nice sleep at all night without too much noises. The room is just renovated and make me feel very comfortable. However there were many flying insects came in if the window was opened at bathroom. The staff were ok and very attentive to open the main door which is automatic locked to prevent unrecognized person come in. However I still saw a stranger kept on waiting at lobby when I came back because he did not stay in.
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Andrea T. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2016
Attitude problem
Receptionist was awful to guests coming in at 11pm
Reviewed April 19, 2016

VIETDUNG T. from Vietnam
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Good service, central location, friendly staffs
Love to stay in this hotel and come back.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Juliette K. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in April 2016
Great stay
The Clipper Hotel is a nice place, the moment I walked in I felt serene in the midst of the buzz of the city. White modern feel, clean, nice artworks and design. Super friendly staff, nice room, and I will come back definitely!
Reviewed April 15, 2016

MICHAEL K. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Good option for a solo traveller
I visited in March 2016. I've stayed in Manila a few times and so far this hotel is the best all rounder. The location is perfect, just around the corner from P.Burgos so it benefits from being a little bit quieter, but with loads of food options nearby, El Chupacabra being a great little rustic Mexican eatery. Avoid the "Japanese" restaurant on Polaris Street, I got salmonella poisoning from their food. Bed was comfortable, hot shower, loads of storage space, wifi in the room the and TV worked fine. The hotel itself is quite clean and in the process of being renovated. The staff were pleasant enough but tried to charge me another P500 for having a guest even though I had booked a room for 2. I wasn't quite sure if this person was just being thick or trying to swindle me. Secondly, do not wake your guests up at 6am in the morning with such feeble claims, that is really rude and inappropriate. There is a iMac in the lobby level for free use by guests, however the keyboard doesn't work properly, no space bar or @ symbol. C'mon, you can't replace a broken keyboard? Seriously? This quibbles aside, I would stay there again. To the people that say there are better very hotels in the area, please publish these places. I've certainly not found better value. Anything cheaper is a dive.
Reviewed April 14, 2016

Steven S. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Makati stay
Nice large rooms, very clean and courteous staff
Reviewed April 10, 2016