Back to hotel info

Very good 7.0
Based on 124 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 124 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 5.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for money 6.0
  • Food/Dining 6.6
Sort by

Jen K. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
A fair review of hotel - please read
View, Privacy & Quiet
After reading extreme mixed reviews of this hotel, my husband & I were nervous to stay here, so we cut down our original 4 night stay to 1 night. We thought it would be a pretty poor experience due to some of the bad reviews we read, however we were decently surprised by most of our experience. We arranged for the hotel's private speedboat to take us to the hotel, which was easy enough and a pretty ride. The room was clean enough, but definitely more rugged than a 'normal' hotel room. If you can picture upscale camping, that it what the room is like. The windows are slats that open, with no screens and there are small cracks in the wood plank floors - all of which allow for mother nature's crawly friends to come join you in your room. The bathroom was large and clean and the bed was comfortable enough. It was charming, as long as you are in the mind frame that you are not expecting a 5 star stay. The grounds were beautiful. The pool, library, dining and beach area were very pretty - much nicer than the photos I saw online. The resort ONLY has power from 6pm-11pm (I think).. so you do need to be aware of that. For dinner, there was assigned seating and it was a prefixed meal where there was NO room for customization. This was probably my biggest issue with the hotel is that they never asked about special dietary restrictions (I don't eat meat and my husband doesn't eat seafood), but we were told that we were not allowed to deviate from the planned menu and we barely ate a thing. When I told the waitress I did not eat meat, she recommended the lentil soup. I started eating it - only to find out halfway through there was meat in it! The staff was so-so... I think the biggest issue was that no one spoke english too well. Breakfast was much better than dinner and they made special accommodations to serve us early since we were leaving the resort so early. My overall review is that the space is beautiful, however the food and service were sub-par.
Reviewed January 04, 2016

Alma C. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed one night in December 2015
Travel el nido
Views were amazing
Inconvenient. The room were not screened so windows cannot be opened or mosquitoes will come in ( already in the room) electricity cuts off at the most worst time Staff tries so hard with limited resources
Reviewed January 02, 2016

Christian G. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Frustrating
The beach.
The hotel ripped me off. I accidentally booked a room for two people, they refused to refund me the money giving me contradicting reasons why. Agoda asked them to refund the money and they still refused. The owner is grumpy and unapologetic. Don't stay here! There is no hot water and the electricity goes off when the generator cuts out every night. A beautiful place let down by greedy management.
Reviewed January 01, 2016

Florinda F. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
a place to stay if you want peace and tranquility
location .food and tour .
Great..
Reviewed November 16, 2015

Martin M. from Czech Republic
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
super again
klid,ticho,relax
super again
Reviewed September 25, 2015

Soledad D. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2015
Evaluation of the Resort
Terrible. No Electricity starting 5am to 5pm. There's a lot of mosquitos
Reviewed May 03, 2015

Antonio M. from Spain
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
Disappointing. Avoid the hotel
Location
Management careless of the clients. Filipino staff kind and trying their best but not train. Food not tasty and just one option for the entire hotel. There is no menu or a la carte. There is no other restaurant. They just cook the same for the entire hotel. Location is the best. Totally over price. I consider them a B&B or a hostel.
Reviewed April 08, 2015

Jennifer B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Nice location, resort could be great but misses
Lovely location overlooking the water, albeit a bit remote from town. The daily tours to the islands are great.
We enjoyed our stay because of the pleasant location and excellent tours included in the package. We were a bit frustrated by some issues that could readily be addressed but weren't. The pick-up for the boat transfer to the resort took longer than it should have - it is difficult to find the correct bit of beach from the instructions provided, and the meeting location was changed without advising us. The guy who was sent to meet us had nothing to identify himself, so it took more time and phonecalls than it should have to connect. That said, it is a pleasant way to get to the resort. If you want to go into town during your stay it is possible to do so by walking along the beach and getting a trike, or by booking a boat. Food was ample and nutritious but uninspired. Dining overlooking the water is very nice however. Our garden room did not have a fan and it would have been really good if the windows had mosquito screens so they could be opened to provide air circulation, but disappointingly they weren't. Staff were friendly and pleasant. Organization was somewhat patchy, evidenced by the fact that after paying our bill they came back twice to ask for payment for items that had been forgotten. Overall we thought the resort was fine but had potential to be so much better with better organization, some minor fixes, and a better chef.
Reviewed February 28, 2015

Patrick T. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Outstanding view, great staff, terrible owner
The view, the staff, and the included tours
We really enjoyed the location and the views. Tours associated with the booking were wonderful. The staff were great, but the resort is understaffed. If you want a place to relax and a place for quiet, this is the place to go. If you expect prompt service, choice of food or when you eat, stay away. The owner is gruff with guests and does not treat staff well at all.
Reviewed February 25, 2015

Ryan M. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2015
Dolarog Beach Resort
The moment I was getting ready to leave, getting on the boat to leave, leaving I read reviews saying it was in a beautiful area but isolated. I thought I woudnt mind the isolation and would be able to relax and enjoy the environment. I was wrong. It was the worst part of my Palawan trip and I only stayed one night. The staff are non existent, there's nothing to do and no where convenient to go. You feel trapped. I enjoyed the view for an hour and then was bored to death. I never really give negative reviews and don't want to waste my time. I hope I can help stop that one person who is considering staying there not to... I thought the high price guaranteed a good resort but it doesn't. I would've rather stayed at a cheap one star hotel in the main area of El Nido.
Reviewed February 16, 2015