Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 51 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 6.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Kris C. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Great hotel with a very friendly staff
Great staff, affordable and clean
It was our first time in Puerto Princesa and we were very satisfied with their service specially the staff which were very accommodating and nice. I had several requests because I was preparing a surprise and they helped me with it.I recommend this place if anyone wants to visit Puerto Princesa. It's quite far from the city proper but not to worry because they have a service that will pick you up from the airport and they can help you call a driver to bring u around the city.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Pamela N. from United States
Groups
Stayed one night in June 2015
Clean and strategically located
comfort, cleanliness and budget
twas an overnight stay before going back to Cebu and I find it very affordable and quiet and clean. The staff were friendly and accommodating!
Reviewed July 03, 2015

James V. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2015
Fair
Hotel architecture and ambience
The place is hidden in Puerto Princesca suburbia and it can be hard to get a tricycle. I would of rated this place higher but out room was tiny. Not enough room for a table or get your luggage out of the way. The beds had foam mattresses and the pillows had no firmness. The outside area is attractive but is let down by the poor rooms.
Reviewed May 09, 2015

MICHAEL C. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in April 2015
Nice and quiet
Aircon, staff & peaceful location
Staff were great and hotel was close to the airport, which is what we wanted. Very poor dinner menu. We ended up going out. Rooms were functional but small.....and the aircon worked!
Reviewed May 08, 2015

Kristine S. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed one night in February 2015
Great b&b
Hotel finishings were fantastic, all recycled wood. Very relaxed, soothing ambiance. Staff were very courteous & helpful.
We stayed at the Palo Alto b&b for one night this week. I read about it in a friend's blog, she mentioned that the whole place is made from wood & that it is a sight to see in itself. My friend was right. I loved the architecture of the b&b, you feel like you are in a giant tree house. I can imagine kids having fun in this place, running around & exploring the hallways & staircases. We got welcome drinks, malunggay juice, upon check in & was given little notes as to the different WiFi codes, map + address, & hotel info. The room we had was very basic, but for a 2-star place, it was well suitable. The bathroom was not too cramped & even the ceiling in the hotel room was made of indigenous materials. We did not leave the hotel until check out the next day, & had all our meals at their resident restaurant "Salakot" (it means ladle in Tagalog, I think); the food wasn't fantastic but it wasn't bad either. I ordered spaghetti bolognese for dinner & though very meaty, lacked the taste of the tomato sauce. A bit of tweaking with the recipe will do the trick, I reckon,. Also, they have a shuttle van that picks you up from the airport to the b&b area, it's quite a drive but when you get there it's worth it -- the architecture is wonderful, really. They do need to invest on some mosquito repellants.
Reviewed February 13, 2015

Samir K. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
Overall a nice hotel
Environment, cleanliness, decor
Here things I liked: 1) The hotel and its grounds are extremely nice and the location is very tranquil. 2) Everything is kept clean and looks well maintained, almost and like new. 3) drop off and pickup for city visit (only once a day and in the evening but still handy) 4) Free water from dispenser. 5) cose to biggest mall in town 6) staff friendly and helpful 7) airport pickup and breakfast included in price. The things I didnt like are: 1) room is a bit on small size - not really any hanging space (stayed in standard double) 2) bathroom is very small and kept flooding when taking shower despite best effort to prevent - water never drained so stayed flooded until room next cleaned (this was by far most annoying thing about our stay) 3) room came with hand soap and shampoo but nothing else. Neither replaced when they had run out. 4) Staff messed up order to restaurant in town, sloppy. 5) cable tv reception is so poor half the channels are either too fuzzy to watch or there's no signal at all (also no channel guide in room). 6) hotel is a bit far from town center, always need to use transport. 7) food portions in restaurant are on the small side but priced ok. Even knowing the negatives prior to booking the grounds are so nice I would still have chosen to stay there.
Reviewed January 06, 2015

Yolinda C. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Excellent customer service
the staff, cleanliness, value for money
Had an excellent Palawan trip! And that's thanks to Palo Alto :)
Reviewed November 21, 2014

Elizabeth C. from United States
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Good for a retreat... But not much else
Room cleanliness, coffee, ease of check in
Nice hotel but very out of the way. They were doing some refurb while we were there so non stop drilling and load noises from 7am through to 10pm. Lots of Mosquitos due to the foresty location. Pool a let down as very enclosed and not much sunshine - only 2 sunbeds! We moved after 2 nights.
Reviewed October 24, 2014

Vincent R. from Netherlands
Families with young children
Stayed one night in July 2014
Lovely quite place to start your travels at Palawa
Comfortable rooms, great service, quite
Palo Alto is a great location to start or to end your travels on Palawan. The place is in a quite sub-urban area of PP, but still very centrally located. The service is excellent and rooms (we had the family room with loft) comfortable. The staff does everything to make you feel at home and the free shuttle service makes travelling even more easy. We loved it!
Reviewed August 01, 2014

Michelle G. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2014
Very attentive staff and best massage i had.
the structure, staff and Swedish Massage!
Our room was suprisingly small with a small bed for two, small bathroom too, empty fridge and had a very tiny table just enough for the phone to occupy, so we had to put most of our stuffs on the floor. We were not happy with the room, but being a bed and breakfast hotel, maybe its not so bad. Outside our room is a beautiful surrounding with trees and gardens that makes you feel at peace. The hotel staff were very attentive and accomodating and their Swedish Massage is highly recommended after a day full of activities, it was the best massage I had. Palo Alto is situated in a bit of a secluded area, but there are motor-tricycles available to take you to the city for a price. Free shuttle van is available to send guests to airport.
Reviewed February 25, 2014