Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 3303 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 3303 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 7.0
Sort by

William Y.
Singapore
April 29, 2016
Perfect for couples but service need to improve
This hotel is perfect for couples who want time away from the busy city life. Spend quality time within the hotel and time just zoom pass. Reception service needs to improve.

On L.
Hong Kong
April 27, 2016
Clean, satisfactory transportation connection and good service
N/A

Pei T.
Singapore
April 25, 2016
Our stay
Shower head was leaking and there were small blood stains on the bed sheet. Overall, the stay was comfortable. Staff are friendly and provides prompt service.

annemarie F.
Netherlands
April 24, 2016
Perfect location, friendly staff but a bit pricey
I only spend 1 night at Amara sanctuary and the staff was amazing and very helpful. I was out during the day so didn't use the restaurant or other facilities. Room was okay in size, but needs an upgrade. Bathroom was excellent. All in all, a good resort close to all the attractions but a bit pricey if you don't intend to make use of the facilities.

Felix S.
Singapore
April 23, 2016
Second time here, service never improved
The main reason I choose to pay top dollar for a stay in this resort is for a relaxing stay, and privacy. The initial check-in was a mess, when I was made to wait in the lobby for about 15 minutes from 3pm, because the room wasn't ready. Don't guests check out at 12 noon? Nobody offered any beverage to me, or asked me how I was. My wife and 1 year old baby was waiting in the car while I was sitting at the lobby like a fool. This is not something that I expect from such a prestigious hotel charging top rates. On my checkout day, despite having already called to ask for a late checkout (which I was then promptly told to leave by 1pm because they were expecting a guest), 2 different room service personnel scanned their key cards, and proceeded to open my room door between 12noon to 1pm. There were a few problems there: 1) Nobody notified them that the guest has not checked out yet 2) Neither one of the room service personnel noticed the DND light that was kept on during that time, as our baby was asleep 3) Neither of the room service personnel pressed the doorbell, or knocked on the door, before proceeding to open the door. They simply scanned their card, and opened the door Thankfully, I had the manual door lock on, otherwise they would have just walked into the room and our privacy would have been infringed upon thoroughly. I would understand if this was done at a lower-end, budget resort. But the lack of staff training at Amara Sanctuary Resort is appalling. This was my second stay at the resort, and my first experience with regard to service and privacy was also a terrible one. I wrote a review, but nobody bothered to respond to it, or even contact me for a recourse. Overall, good resort, good location, and beautiful infinity pool at the Larkhill Terrance, but don't expect an equally good service. You're ONLY paying for the facilities.

Alvin L.
Singapore
April 21, 2016
Peaceful getaway
Booked a villa and first thing i noticed was leaves in the pool which was a bit off putting. Overall the place could be cleaner. Service is good and u can get buggy rides all over the place.

Penny K.
United States
April 20, 2016
Nice Hotel and Grounds [But Not Quiet]
The hotel was nice with beautiful grounds. I reserved a Veranda Studio and was blessed to have them upgrade me to a suite with a writing desk after I told the ck-in attendant that I was trying to have a quiet retreat to do some writing. That was so thoughtful of her to do that. Unfortunately, my room faced the back of Universal Studios where the roller coaster was and the sound of the coaster and screaming on the downward loop all three days was less than quiet. It made it difficult to relax on the veranda as I had hoped. I found a few quiet places on the grounds where waterfalls and fountains were situated but there were no places to sit to enjoy them. The Check-In Staff was polite and respectful but very slow in getting us to our room. It took almost 40 minutes to get our keys after we checked in at the counter and to get on the way to my room, which was located a long distance from the lobby and had to be reached by cart. They were also very slow in sending an attendant with a cart to my room to pick up luggage so I could check out. After calling twice, I finally fumbled my luggage down the stairs and headed down the hill the lobby myself. The housekeeping staff was nice, helpful and accommodating. The two girls that cleaned my room each day went the extra mile to take care of my needs. Room service was quick, the food nice and the waiter who brought it very polite and helpful. The young woman attending the pool was quick to bring me bug spray without having been asked, when I was at the pool close to sunset. Because of the activity at the pool with young people, we moved from the bottom pool to the advertised adult pool for a little more privacy but found that the adult pool was full of small children. There WAS a sign that said 'no unsupervised children' even though in other places it was advertised as an "adults only" pool. All in all, it was a nice hotel and would have been a lovely vacation spot if I had not chosen this particular one for the quiet

Tan K.
Malaysia
April 20, 2016
Poorly maintained and aged facilities and poor service
1. Shower amenities is poorly maintained 2. Swimming pool wooden deck is old and loosen 3. Disorganised internal communication caused pre-registered car being issued letter of offence (speaking of offence...) and dampen the mood of staycation 4. Feedback from hotel management of abovementioned matters, they are aware of the issues and refurbishment is being planned, yet no concrete action taken to address the discomfort and dampened holiday caused.

Rakean G.
Indonesia
April 20, 2016
just OK
The rooms need some facelift. overall experience is ok

Kawsar J.
Bangladesh
April 19, 2016
Good & Bad!!
Rooms are great. . Sky pool is awesome. . But the price was too high 102 USD per day!! Location looks good in the map. . But in reality, its quite far from the nearest attractions. . You need to walk for 10 minutes to reach the nearest station (Imbiah ).. if u are travelling with young children, please carry stroller. . When we checked out, we left some clothes in the room cupboard. . I called the reception next day. . They said they will check and let me know. . But unfortunately they haven't informed me anything .. I'm disappointed. .