Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.5
Based on 9046 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 9046 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 6.6
Sort by

CHING T. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2015
GREAT HOTEL
COMFORTABLE ROOM, NICE BREAKFAST, GREAT LOCATION
GREAT, NEAR TO MRT, CLEAN ROOM
Reviewed August 08, 2015

Emmanuel C. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
.
location...thats it
.
Reviewed August 08, 2015

James S. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Great location!
Location Location Location
Our family stayed three nights in two "Deluxe" rooms. Our rooms were adequate to good although bathrooms were small but OK. We particularly liked the comfortable padded/pillowed nooks in the bay windows. Nice touch. The GREAT thing about this hotel is its location. It is very close to the "City Hall" subway station and within easy walking distance of the Boat Quay & marina district. The staff was OK but check-in was dead slow. My requests via Agoda were not honored - a non smoking room and no feather pillows. But the staff did change our rooms to non smoking when I asked and were very polite and accommodating when they did so. Alas, the feather pillows could not be remedied. We would stay here again.
Reviewed August 06, 2015

nicole H. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in August 2015
location great. the rest....mmehh
1. locaction 2. nice view from the skybar 3. umm... no, nothing just location really.
it is an older hotel, it seems like it needs some love and a good facelift. the rooms are very small... the twin beds are pushed right together with barely any walking room. it is in a good location some rooms have partial views. I didn't try the food as breakfast was a very expensive add on, did't eat there as I was annoyed at the standard of the room for the price and felt that my money was better spent elsewhere on viewing the room service selection. It's only redeeming quality other than it's convenient location was the great coffee and view from the Skybar. Oh except one staff member, who really made my stay ok. A special thanks to the AMAZING MISS JANUARY for her wonderful service. From a quick response on email, great local advice and friendly calming and helpful experience at front desk to a fantastic coffee and warm welcome at the end of the day at the Skybar with her other colleagues. She should be promoted to Management level and others should take her service as the example to strive to. Well done to you January and thank you :-) I will however be staying elsewhere for my future holidays, stop overs and long weekends. For the money Singapore has much more to offer me :-)
Reviewed August 05, 2015

Anita L. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in July 2015
Room with a View
The view, The accessability to MRT
Room has a fantastic view. A little Inconvenience for having to navigate between different floors to/from Lobby and concierge.
Reviewed August 04, 2015

Jamie S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
room with a view
view, location, great airconditioning
Pleasant stay, great view of Marina Bay. Close to MRT
Reviewed August 04, 2015

Dong L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Pleasant stay
Room, Location and cleanliness
Overall, the stay is pleasant. There is a few areas people can consider to stay at this hotel. I would say the location is pretty much the main selling point of this hotel. For travellers from other country, travelling around Singapore in the heart of the city is essential, which this hotel provide one of the best place for tourist to stay, travel or shop. The hotel is walking distance to the City Hall MRT, where traveller or tourist can access the CityLink to Marina Square or Esplanade. Travellers can also extend their journey to Marina Bay Sands, Singapore River or Suntec city from Esplanade. The room have good decor and clean for travellers or tourist to stay. The staff is obvious that they been through customer service courses as they are polite and careful the words they choose when conversing. Even though the hotel may not seen as "new" as other hotel, it is still pretty fine and comfortable to stay in. The not so pleasant area in the hotel would be the slight old decor and the building surrounding. I did not use the facilities therefore I can't rate on it. However, you can view the swimming pool from the lobby and it seems small and nothing impressive about. I did order meals to dine inside the room and, the food is warm but not as hot as I thought. the food price is a little steep, and I request for a medium rare for my steak where they serve me as medium well. The building surroundings is filled with shops that is relatively old and it makes me feel that it is not that luxury. The hotel did provide amenities but the coffee and tea is relatively "budget". Why I would think that the hotel fits to be 4 star is the location, the comfort, cleanliness, and service. If travellers or tourist just wish fulfil your trip in Singapore by sight seeing and not to pursue high quality stay like those 5 star hotel, I think Peninsula Excelsior may provide you a wonderful staycation.
Reviewed August 03, 2015

budiono K. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
OK
clean, save and strategyc
OK
Reviewed August 03, 2015

Tandiono T. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Nice hotel but staff works very slow
comfortable room and good location
Overall, our stay was good. The only thing was the check-in procedure. It took almost an hour to do the check-in. The staff worked extremely slow. Some of our room keys did not work, so we needed to go back to the front office to fix them.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

MARIA R. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
a place to stay again and again
location, staff are good, cleanliness of the room
best
Reviewed July 30, 2015