Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 4359 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for Money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 6.0
Sort by

chan W. from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
good location, value of money
1. hotel is in the heart of chinatown. 2. room rate is reasonable. 3. easy to shopping, dining, entertaining
Location is very good, you can go everywhere easy by subway or taxi. Room rate is reasonable. However, room is small, unfortunately, the last night I stayed in hotel, guests talk so loud in the next room until midnight. Overall, it is good for budget travellers.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Yeow L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2014
Poor value for money
Location
For the price paid, im expecting a boutique designed hotel. What i ended up getting is a overpriced room. Bed linen rough, towel smells of bleach, cramp room and windows locked.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Halim C. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Nice hotel at Chinatown
centrally location, value for money, good staff
everything was fine. nothing to complain. just the room a bit small
Reviewed August 12, 2014

kah P. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
not bad
tidy, tiny and noisy
not bad, good location which is near by MRT, however, the room is super small and wash room can only fit in 1 person. By the way, room is tidy enough and comfortable.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

JOEL K. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 10 nights in July 2014
Small and expensive
Quietness within the busy Chinatown, cute rooms, location
Location wise I love this place. U step out of a quiet hotel to the hustle and bustle of Chinatown. Vey close to the mrt and Clarke quay. This hotel is very overpriced for it's size and makes it hard to justify this compared to a cheaper hotel 81 in the same area
Reviewed August 09, 2014

Lina J. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Great Location
location, room, value for money
Reviewed August 08, 2014

Ba N. from Vietnam
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
GOOD LOCATION, STAFF SO BAD
LOCATION, PRICE, CLEAN
STAFF IS SO BAD, REALLY LAZY.
Reviewed August 08, 2014

Ho M. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2014
Good location
Location near to public transport and town, located in a heritage area.
Rather pleasant, small hiccups but still manageable.
Reviewed August 08, 2014

Ian D. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2014
Interesting hotel in the middle of Chinatown
Location, design, staff
Santa Grand Lai Chun Yuen is located within Chinatown...a few minutes walk from the MRT station. For people looking for peace and quiet, Chinatown itself might not be the best place for you at all. Everything here is loud and that's where the fun starts. I've been to this hotel several times over the past 2 years and it feels like the first time each time. At this stay, I was assigned a windowless double bed room. Some people may find this claustrophobia-inducing (I surely did... thankfully I only booked one night). I am thankful that, this time, the shower was separated from the toilet bowl, so there was no flooded bathroom floor after every shower. The bed was comfortable enough. Sadly, they didn't offer breakfast this time (I found the old men and women manning the breakfast area as the most charming staff in the whole hotel). There are sitting areas throughout the hotel, with coffee and tea stations for guests. Since the last time I stayed, the hotel itself is starting to show signs of strain but that also adds to the charm.
Reviewed August 08, 2014

Lew Y. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
Valuable hotel in a nice location
good location, noisy & convenience hotel.
Over all i was very satisfied with this hotel, located in very convenience area for shopping, dining and transporting.
Reviewed August 08, 2014