Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 2210 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2210 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.3
Sort by

Patrick C. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Night Life
The hotel is good for budget travellers, 5-10minutes walk to the nearest subway
the room is pretty small. they provide breakfast. staff are friendly
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Patrick C. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Hotel near Hawkers
Friendly Staff
You won't get hungry because the hotel is near food areas from budget to casual dining
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Carmen L. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in October 2012
Not for travelers with little children
Good general location
The general location of the hotel is good -- less than 5 minutes walk to the Jong-no 3 Sam-ga subway station and the Cheonggyecheon stream and less than 10 minutes walk to Insadong. There are also lots of nearby places to eat. However, the actual location of the hotel is a little seedy. It's located in a little alley way, so it's not convenient to go to, especially if you are traveling with little children, since there are cars that pass the alley way. The rooms are extra small, even for me (I am only 5'1" (155 cm) tall), to the point that when we put our luggage on the stand at the foot of the bed and against the wall, part of our luggage was already on the bed. There are no coffee or tea-making provisions in the room and you have to go to the 2nd floor to get hot water. Another downside if you need warm water to prepare formula or oatmeal for your toddler. They offer free buffet breakfast, though choices are limited. I didn't really expect much from the breakfast offerings since the hotel is not a premium hotel. My main complaint is that breakfast is supposed to be served from 7 to 10am; but if you go for breakfast at 9am, a lot of the food items are already gone and they don't replace them. This wouldn't have been a problem if they offered a lot of choices. So if you go down for breakfast at 9am or later, be prepared to eat whatever's left (which is not a lot). Otherwise, service was very good. Though the staff were not very fluent in English, they could speak and understand it well enough.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Carmen L. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Good overall location but small rooms
The general location of the hotel is good -- less than 5 minutes walk to the Jong-no 3 Sam-ga subway station and the Cheonggyecheon stream and less than 10 minutes walk to Insadong. There are also lots of nearby places to eat. However, the actual location of the hotel is a little seedy. It's located in a little alley way, so it's not convenient to go to, especially if you are traveling with little children, since there are cars that pass the alley way. The rooms are extra small, even for me (I am only 5'1" (155 cm) tall), to the point that when we put our luggage on the stand at the foot of the bed and against the wall, part of our luggage was already on the bed. There are no coffee or tea-making provisions in the room and you have to go to the 2nd floor to get hot water. Another downside if you need warm water to prepare formula or oatmeal for your toddler. They offer free buffet breakfast, though choices are limited. I didn't really expect much from the breakfast offerings since the hotel is not a premium hotel. My main complaint is that breakfast is supposed to be served from 7 to 10am; but if you go for breakfast at 9am, a lot of the food items are already gone and they don't replace them. This wouldn't have been a problem if they offered a lot of choices. So if you go down for breakfast at 9am or later, be prepared to eat whatever's left (which is not a lot). Otherwise, service was very good. Though the staff were not very fluent in English, they could speak and understand it well enough.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Katherine L. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
near metro lines, clean, friendly, wi-fi in room, comfortable beds, no smoke in rooms, small refrig and complimentary water, nice breakfast, hot water dispenser available, study area with computers, close to many shopping areas and local convenience stores
The Doulos Hotel may be a bit hard to find. Ask the airport information desk exactly how to get to the hotel. She will write down the bus stop and exit gate (useful when getting off the metro). Then show this to the bus driver and he will let you know where to get off. Then, go down the nearest alley and just ask any shop keeper where the hotel is and someone will know where to direct you.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stephen M. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in November 2012
Excellent location
Location
I was very satisfied with my stay and would choose the same accommodations were I to return to Seoul. No complaints whatsoever. The location is great: one block north of Cheonggyecheon, within walking distance of other historical attractions like Gyeongbokgung, and a subway station for those not inclined to walk. Good options for food, quiet room.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Angel J. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Great location but small room
Location near to Insadong street
The hotel was overall fine. Although the room is quite small for 2 persons. The reception speak good english. They'll even go out of their way to assist your needs. Not once a smile was absence. There's computers provided for hotel guest to use on level 2. Their wifi is superb. There's no coffee making facilities in the room but there's a vending machines for hot and cold drink at level 2. The infamous Insadong street is really within 10 to 15 minutes walking distance from the hotel.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Youngbae K. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Great location but small rooms
location close to attractions and interests
good accommodation to stay for short period. too small rooms for couple.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Youngbae K. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2012
Great location and breakfast but small rooms
location and breakfast provided
Conveniently located in central district of Seoul.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Kuan L. from Canada
Groups
Stayed 5 nights in November 2012
Great location/friendly staff; small rooms
Friendly staff, speaks English, very helpful, clean, comfortable
My mom and I enjoyed our stay with Doulos. The staff are friendly and helpful. First time in Seoul, transportation to hotel very convent. Airport shuttle bus stop a block from hotel. First timer might be hard to find the hotel location. But no need to fret, locals are familiar with the hotel, just make sure you give them the name and they will be happy to show you the way. The hotel location close to subway and Insadong/Myeong-Dong walking distance; the two palaces as well. My mom and I had a great stay with this hotel. Definitely will recommend to family and friends.
Reviewed November 10, 2012