Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 842 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 5.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.0
Sort by

YAU L.
Hong Kong
February 18, 2014
dirty room & Bed
good location
hotel is definitely in a good location . However Hotel Condition/Cleanliness is super poor. especially the bedding!!!! with yellow dirt marks and blood marks on.

Verne S.
Australia
February 13, 2014
Basic Hotel. It's a little run down,but comfortabe
Location, Shopping, Transport
Brief, but comfortable. The rooms are a little run down but clean. Friendly staff.

Hiu L.
Hong Kong
February 11, 2014
Service is good with cheap price
good location which close to namdaemun and myeong-dong, many resturant nearby, big jacuzzi
advantage: 5 mins walk to NamDaeMun, 10 mins walk to Myeong-Dong, 10 mins walk to closest subway station. many restaurant nearby which provide very good Korean local food. a big jacuzzi in hotel room which can relax after a whole day travel. disadvantage: many bar, night club nearby and many guys (looks like gangster) stand in the street during night time. not really close to any subway station

Mei T.
Malaysia
February 10, 2014
patient service, but super bad room condition
service, bath tub and nothing else. Really
the receptionist is super friendly and helpful. When we checked in to the room, it is a shocker - the floor is dirty ( sticky), the room guide is badly stained / mouldy. the small desk is dusty. the slippers in the room are re-usable typle but had been heavily worn and torn obviously. hate the hotel room really it is like a hostel rather than a hotel. the only plus side i would say objectively - they have very good ensuite with great bath tub. as the room is generally under-maintained, we were too scared to use the bath tub in case it is not clean also... I will not come back to this hotel nor recommend positively.

Yun-Ting H.
United States
February 04, 2014
clean room in myeongdong
conveniently located, big room, free wifi
very clean rooms but shower area did not have a shower curtain so if you are staying with a group, it's not very convenient. 10 min walk from seoul station to go to the airport

Yun-Ting H.
United States
February 04, 2014
big room but on a street with a "adult" entertainm
free wifi, big room, good location
comfortable room for a couple but for a group, not very good since there's no curtain separating the shower from the bedroom. also located on a street where there's a lot of adult entertainment so many strange men out at night.

GEK L.
Singapore
February 03, 2014
Good Location, Poor Housekeeping
Friendly Staff
Overall, it was a bad stay with the hotel. The walls are dirty, the housekeeping of the rooms were not done properly. Bedsheets are dirty, floors are not clean. During my stay, I have requested to change 4 rooms before I settled down. Despite complaining for many occasion, the housekeeping was still not done properly. There was once, I even found cleaning tools in the room without being kept away. And dirty soap which has already been thrown away, was found back on the soap tray. However, even though the housekeeping of the hotel was done poorly, I cant deny that the staffs were really friendly. Despite the language barrier, they go all the way out to try and help us. This is really commendable.

jing W.
Malaysia
January 24, 2014
great and relax
location, clean, fast internet
staffs are very friendly and helpful. easy access to airport with airport bus (6015), stop at namdeamun market. 8 mins walk to city hall underground station, 10-15 mins walk to myeongdong, fast check-in and check out, the room is warm enough (during winter), floor heating. 10-15 mins walk to namdeamun market. Only one thing, if you are travelling with big luggage, when arrive at the namdeamun market bus station, is better to take a taxi to the hotel as is not easy to find. Taxi fair is about less than 4500won. overall I am very satisfy with my 6 nights stay in this hotel.

Andrew C.
United States
January 23, 2014
Walking distance to shopping, close to attractions
Location, Comfort of room ... bathtub and internet access
Our stay at Hotel Irene was pleasant; we've stayed here before and we find it convenient when looking to stay within the central part of Seoul. It's within walking distance to Myeong-dong, Hyundai department store and Namdaemun market and not too far from other sightseeing attractions in Seoul via metro or taxi. Our one qualm was that the heat in the room was pumping even when we turned our air control off or at it's lowest so we had to crack a window in the winter and this also led to some city noise.(we had a similar issue to this at another hotel and are accustomed to the heat blasting on buses and public venues during winter in Korea but it makes it very hard to sleep :/). Overall it was an enjoyable stay, thanks.

Alvin T.
Singapore
January 17, 2014
Definitely worth a visit!
Comfort, Location, Fast Internet
It was generally very good. It is centrally located, a short walking distance to shopping areas Myeongdong and Nundaemun markets, and the logo of Hotel Irene is marked very high up so when you exit the metro station, you can spot it easily and make your way towards it. There are two gentlemen staff who speaks good English and gives good advice and directions. However, on our check-out day, we were left disappointed by a lady staff who did not answer our directional questions precisely and do not appear helpful even when we were lost. It was a blemish on an otherwise excellent hotel with other excellent staff.