arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.9
Based on 160 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 160 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 6.4
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 5.4

6.7 trenton N.
United States
September 25, 2013
convenient for one or two nights
location, convenience, decent
this is a hostel. the location is real good. 5 minute walk to metro station. 10 minute walk to myeongdong. 5 minute walk to lotte department store. many restaurants and pubs in area. the room was a basic hostel. bed was decent, toilet and shower was also decent. it was clean. no towels or necessities provided. wifi in room there is a security code to enter the building. if i'm not mistaken there was a communal kitchen as well.

6.3 Chan W.
Singapore
September 18, 2013
Very Near to subway
Free Wifi Available, Free international Call
Hotel was conveniently located almost next to the subway station. hotel was decently clean. Shower head was spoilt and leaking. Water leaked out from the toilet into our room. Other than that, all was great.

9.3 Bradley S.
United States
September 09, 2013
You get what you pay for
price, location, helpful staff
The hostel is clean and well run. It is well worth the money and the location cannot be beat.

7.7 Anjelica A.
United States
August 21, 2013
Low price, low frills
Price, location, staff
I stayed at the Myeongdong Hostel twice. First, be aware: the sign on the front says in English "Seoul Backpackers Hostel." It only says Myeongdong Hostel in handwritten Hanguel on a small piece of paper, taped to the front door. This caused me to pass by it twice. Night 1, boyfriend and I stayed in a double room. We were in room 301. It actually had a double bed and a single bed, and the bathroom was just a walled off section of the room with see-through walls. This was a bit inconvenient. No towels or toiletries are provided, but there is a TV. The bed was so hard that I couldn't sleep. Ther was one small window, probably 20"x20". Night 2 we stayed in 404, another double room. This one was much smaller than 301, but the bed was also much softer and I was able to sleep quite comfortably. Again, no toiletries at all, but this time I asked for towels at the front desk and they were given to me cheerfully. 404 smelled a bit closed up, but the AC worked fine and it was aired out easily. Again, there was only a very small window, so no natural sunlight. That said, I really liked this hostel. It was super cheap and a very good location, whether you are meeting at Lotte for the DMZ tour (as we were) or going shopping. The staff have native-level English and they are very, very helpful. They do take a 10,000W security deposit, which we didn't have to pay the first time as our first booking was through Agoda. I didn't wander around the facilities much, but they have a fridge for use, too. Definitely this is a frill-free place, but the cost and the location can't be beat.

6 DANNY K.
United States
August 10, 2013
CONVENIENT
CLOSE TO SHOPPING DISTRICT, CHEAP, QUIET
OVERALL IT WAS OK BUT THE BEST WORD IS CONVENIENT.

8.3 Wing L.
Singapore
August 05, 2013
Great for Budget Travellers
Location, Inexpensive, Train station at doorstep
Myeongdong Hostel is centrally located near the famous Myeongdong shopping area. If you like to explore the city on foot, it is also within walking distance to Dongdaemun, Namdaemun and Seoul Station. I checked into a clean family en-suite room, with limited room amenities. However, beware that there are no elevator in the building, so expect to carry your luggage up to your assigned level (we were on the 5th floor!). Do roam around the neighborhood as you will find some authentic Korean restaurants patronised by the locals near the hotel at a reasonable price.

7.3 Samuel C.
Singapore
August 04, 2013
Friendly helpful staff, facilites could be better
Friendly helpful staff, right next to train station, near shopping district
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, able to speak English, was extremely beneficial to navigating around Korea and locating areas off the usual tourist routes. Location is also extremely convenient, right beside a train station and the shopping district. Cons: Facilities are bare minimum, but functional.

7 Kristine S.
Philippines
July 12, 2013
Shop, Walk, touristy Fun
Shop All You Can
Hostel is located across Lotte Hotel Myeongdong. Yes no elevators but those are short flights of stairs. Metro subway entrance is right around the corner.

8.3 Jamese N.
United States
July 06, 2013
Good location
location, price, and convenience

5 SHI L.
Malaysia
April 19, 2013
Worst. Toilet too smelly.
Near shopping area
I stay a day before visiting Jeju Island then back to the same guesthouse when back from Jeju Island. I found the toilet is smelly when staying at the 1st day and when we back there to stay for another 3 days, the toilet bad smelly getting worst until not able to sleep well and we have to on the ventilator all long day to reduce the bad smell. The WIFI is down 2 out of 3 days and no one taking action on it even I mentioned twice.