Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 147 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Siew Y. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Nice experience
Location
We like the experience of living in a Hanok. It is interesting. The western breakfast is simple & nice. Never meet Mr Lee & the lady staff is friendly. Love that it is near Isadong.
Reviewed November 30, 2014

Audrey K. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2014
Great experience, however no air-cond
different experience
Air conditioner disconnected due to travel beginning of November. Floor heating was at full blast. Room was too hot to sleep in, only window had mosquito netting which was not enough to cool the room down, doors to room cannot be locked. Other guest returning to hanok at late and different hours will not be easy for light sleepers, in fact any single movement in the compound can be heard.
Reviewed November 06, 2014

Neil C. from New Zealand
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Simple, clean, conveniently located
Location, access to clean bathroom, friendly owners
The room was clean and we had easy access to the bathroom. However, it would have been nice to have a more pleasant shared seating area in the courtyard, eg. more comfortable seating. Also, we did think breakfast was very basic and had expected something more traditional. The owners were very nice and super helpful, though, even with booking outings and sorting out transport to the airport.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

YASEMIN H. from Turkey
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Very cosy and friendly
Great location, cosy and friendly staff
Our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable thanks to the guest house owner who was very friendly and hospitable.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Francois B. from France
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Great location, bare amenities.
Centrally located.
Reviewed June 09, 2014

Steven D. from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
Terrific Hanok Near Insa-dong!
Amazing owners, perfect central location, authentic hanok experience.
This was my second time staying at Namhyundang Hanok and I can't imagine staying anywhere else on my next visit to Seoul. The owners truly make you feel like friends visiting their home rather than guests staying at a hotel. They will do anything to make both your stay with them and your visit to Seoul more enjoyable, including helping out with transportation and planning. They speak very good English, and I believe the gentleman speaks German as well. The Hanok can be tricky to find the first time, but the location is perfect. It's only a few minutes walk from Insa-dong, palaces and temples, and multiple Metro stations. This is the place to stay if you want an authentic hanok experience!
Reviewed May 03, 2014

nanette G. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
a delightful and unique experience
located in the area of cultural sites; accessible to public transport and shops; and staying there gave us a first hand experience of korean culture.
My children and I enjoyed our stay in the family room which was warm and comfortable in its own unique Korean way. We appreciated the gentle hospitality of the owners and staff. This hanok homestay is a must for those who want to experience Korean culture. It added beautiful memories to our trip and we will definitely recommend this hanok to other travelers to Seoul.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Joanna B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Perfect location with perfect hosts
Location, warmth, tourist information available
Our stay was excellent. The location is closer to the Insadong shopping street than most Hanoks, that are up near the palace in a hipster trendy area. Instead, we were near local restaurant and bars, between 2 metro stations providing access to four lines (including the one to Gimpo airport), and still close enough to walk to the hipster trendy area ;)
Reviewed April 08, 2014

Yi G. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2014
A holiday at home
friendly staffs, clean area, great breakfast
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Kong C. from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2013
great location with friendly staff
Breakfast,kind service, environment
Very nice experience and breakfast is simple yet awesome Enjoy traditional Korea setting
Reviewed January 03, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: