Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 215 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 215 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 9.1
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.3

Gagan K. from India
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Okay hotel, okay service. Overpriced for Colombo.
Big bathrooms. Friendly Staff.
I can understand why some people seem to like this otherwise average property so much and I would also be one of those; if the hotel was not so much overpriced for Colombo and also for what is on offer. The staff is friendly and try hard to please the guests. The property itself is an old renovated mansion, which can be so much better than it is. Our corporate 'suite' had no external windows and a very noisy (though ancient) fan. This created a problem since my wife and I do not like using the AC while sleeping, but luckily we got used to the noisy fan and could sleep after a while. We paid about USD 340 for 2 nights which seemed quite excessive, given the overall standard of the place.
Reviewed November 20, 2015

Suet S. from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
Just so so
Butler if he is at the hotel
Average. I left a cable behind and tried to have my next hotel contact them, no reply...
Reviewed November 19, 2015

Peter O. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
A great place to explore Colombo
Staff, spa treatment and luxury
A great place to start two weeks in Sri Lanka. The organised pickup from the airport was worth it, landing after a long transit it was nice to be greeted as the airport was busy. Our butler Arrun was superb. Location is perfect to see the main sights and sounds of Colombo.
Reviewed October 28, 2015

andrew K. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Casa
Room was excellent. Enormous bath tub, great double shower, very attentive staff.
Reviewed October 27, 2015

mark C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
Very good...but.....
Staff, rooms, ambiance
It was a short stay but the room was amazing! Design and layout of the room was great - though having the toilet in a glass cube in the room was a little disconcerting! We ate in the restaurant as the location didn't afford loal dining. The food was acceptable but not up to 5 start standards, Burger overcooked, rice/risotto overcooked and bland. Wine was incorrectly stored, too warm and was spoiled. We sent back one bottle so settled for a single glass of house pilotage and this also clearly had been opened for some time - it was like vinegar..... Over all a great stay, thought we mark it down for the food and wine....that is a 'could do much better'
Reviewed October 01, 2015

Russell A. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
Overrated
Location, pool is kinda cool and the rooms are spacious.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Leonie C. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
Definitely recommend
Well appointed rooms, oasis in city, friendly staff
Great boutique hotel in a setting away from the city madness. Rooms have everything you could need and more - office supplies as well as great bathroom supplies. Staff were very friendly especially as a flight delay meant we missed our first and only night of booked accommodation. Great food - try the hoppers. Will definitely return when in Colombo
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Cara B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2015
Comfortable and great staff
Staff, room, pool
Great
Reviewed August 25, 2015

Lee H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2015
Amazing hotel in the heart of colombo!
great staff, amazing pool and beautiful rooms
I cannot recommend this hotel enough, it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The building is over 200 years old and there are only 12 rooms so although it is large, still has a cosy vibe. The room itself was amazing, the bed was huge, there was a large bathtub next to the bed, the second room had a really comfy couch and the shower and bathroom were also in the same room, which sounds a bit odd but looked amazing. It was decorated in a really cool way. The pool outside was fantastic, such a great temperature and the day beds were so relaxing. The bar has 2 for 1 cocktails in the afternoon so we relaxed by the pool enjoying drinks. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a good location in colombo, down a little ally which makes you feel away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We will definitely be back!
Reviewed August 15, 2015

Francina M. from Pakistan
Families with young children
Stayed one night in August 2015
One time visit
Food staff interior
It is undoubtedly a classic boutique hotel with lavish interior especially the original ceiling and floors. However we felt a little maintenance is required particularly in and around the pool area. Delicious food, best sri lankan breakfast in our entire 10days/5 destinations visit. Aarun was our butler and was attentive and careful, really helpful and kind. One time must visit small hotel.
Reviewed August 07, 2015