Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1348 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1348 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Nare P. from South Korea
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in April 2014
A nice Castle hotel but under renovaation
Breakfast, spacious bedroom and bathroom, friendly staff
1. Appreciated to the staff who helped me to catch the early morning train time with the follow up call and taxi arrangement. 2. Breakfast is very enjoyable 3. Bedroom and bathroom is as spacious as suite 4. Good price, but didn't inform me it was under renovation. Half of building is under construction
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Richard P. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Historic hotel but currently under renovation
Architecture, design, location
The only disappointment was the renovations, but it's not just the Galle Face, half the city seems to be under reconstruction at the moment. The work effectively put two thirds of this historic hotel off limits and the reduced numbers of rooms available also meant I couldn't get a full sea view. But the noise hardly carried to the part of the hotel that remained open and the architecture, calm atmosphere, tastefully furnished room, sea-facing swimming pool and excellent breakfast were a joy. It was easy enough to get to other places in the city by simply walking out and flagging down one of the many three-wheelers that circulate constantly.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Vicki F. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
2 days in Colombo
Have room, excellent staff, good good
We had booked 2 days at the hotel to relax before returning home and that's what we exactly did. We spent the days around the pool, had dinner one night in the restaurant 1864 we had wonderful western and Sri Lankan food excellent service. Next night we headed down to the Cinnamon a Grand to the buffet as with only 1 restaurant open during renovation at the Galle face., this was only a 5 min walk. Hotel let us use the spa facilities after check out at noon to shower before our midnight flight home. Took a hotel organised taxi to airport for 3,500 rupees.. This hotel is a old worldly type hotel and very charmi with lots of character. Another interesting thing to do is walk along the beach front promenade to look at all the little booths at night selling their seafood.. We were not game enough to eat from them but they looked enticing.
Reviewed April 08, 2014

Alexander M. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2014
Hotel under major renovation - very disappointed
Sunset drink, good restaurant , reasonably priced
Very poor because of rebuilding work had at least 50% of hotel and facilities closed. Should have been warned at time of booking by Agoda!
Reviewed April 01, 2014

MARK B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
the best way to spent the end of the holiday
room . swimming pool luxsery
apart of the fact that the menu in the room tell you of food and drink you can get in the hotel. and then when you try to order it the restaurant/bar by the pool they tell you it is not passable because it's on a different system, we loved it, and hope that they will finish the renovation of the two third of the hotel that was not used by the time we come back to stay again.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Heather B. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Friendly, comfortable hotel with good facilities.
Terrace is on the ocean. Hotel has a strong sense of history. Staff extremely friendly.
Very enjoyable stay, despite the original half of the hotel being closed due to restoration.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Emad A. from Saudi Arabia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
VERY GOOD HOTEL
VERY GOOD HOTEL AND CLEAN
VERY GOOD HOTEL AND CLEAN AND COMFORTBAL AND NEER TO BEACH
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Yaser A. from Saudi Arabia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Super
Ocean view , swimming pool , rooms
Super was one of my best stay I ever had in my life
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Anna M. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in March 2014
Lovely. An oasis in Colombo
Breakfast, the history and the pool
Overall, a lovely way to end our Sri Lankan holiday. The checkout process could be a bit more refined as the reception staff don't do it. A cashier is called and if they are busy you just have to wait!
Reviewed March 23, 2014

susan K. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Good considering extensive renovations
Location, atmosphere and staff
It was , as far as possible "business as usual" considering over two thirds of the hotel was under extensive reconstruction. Discovered on check out day that our room, although classified as "superior" was about the smallest on the floor and was frankly a bit cramped although bathroom was spacious. Staff were highly trained, very attentive without being condescending and full of smiles. Breakfast was definitely a cut above other hotels of this calibre in Sri Lanka- and not just because sparkling wine was included (although not that obvious!. But at the moment if you want to stay here you must accept that there is daytime noise (but they don't start too early!).
Reviewed March 19, 2014