arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1332 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1332 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Staff Performance 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Terry C.
Australia
February 14, 2014
Wonderful
Staff ,food, and the hotel itself

Wei C.
Singapore
February 06, 2014
Excellent Stay
Location, ambience, comfort
Very nice surroundings. Great view of the sea. Very nice alfresco area facing the sea and there is the novelty of a sea water swimming pool. Only downside is that there are many crows around the outdoor restaurant area. One of them swooped down and took part of my sandwich.

Andrew W.
United Kingdom
February 06, 2014
A touch of luxury
location, swimming pool and breakfast
The hotel is situated in the best possible position next to the sea, no other hotel has this position. There is a lovely breeze at all times so it takes away all the dust and grime from the city. The hotel will be fantastic when the building work has finished but although you could hear the workman it did not spoil the 2 nights we were there. The bar next to the pool serves excellent food not expensive. The restaurant in the evening served a good selection of food but we still prefered to sit outside and eat by the pool with the great views and breeze.

Christopher F.
United States
February 05, 2014
Lovely historic hotel. Under rennovation!
Living history. Seaside pool/garden. Central location.
A lovely hotel with a rich history. Its greatest strength is the garden and pool area that sits right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Great for sundowners, and also to keep kids entertained for a few afternoons. Also a very nice buffet breakfast. We had two complaints: (1) an entire wing is under renovation -- a project that will probably stretch through 2014; and (2) the staff were not very attentive. Getting anything requires persistence, and we were a little upset when the hotel van dumped us in the middle of nowhere after we showed no interest in visiting what was certainly a gem shop run by his sibling/cousin/brother.

Karen M.
Canada
February 05, 2014
Practised Hoteliers
Relaxing by the pool, Central location, Beautiful views
When you are still in business after close to 150 years you surely know how to provide people with service as a hotelier. The rooms were well appointed, the breakfast buffet which was included in our room rate was excellent and varied. The pool area was clean, comfortable and with beautiful views over the ocean. The pool is large enough that you can actually swim lengths and get a good workout. The service from the terrace bar was attentive. But should we ever be lucky enough to be back in Sri Lanka the one thing that would ensure that we booked with the Galle Face Hotel again would be the absolutely sensational massage therapists in the spa! They know what they are doing and are very skilled.

MONTIP G.
Thailand
February 03, 2014
hotel with ocen view and antique wood furniture
Spacious room, antique wood furniture and a well-equipped whirlpool bathtub.
My stay was very smooth and the hotel provide suitable accomodations. The local transportation was convenient at the hotel counter. The wholte room and facilities was spacious. I like the old-style wooden bed and the furniture. Tea choices offered were excellent taste of Ceylon tea!

Diane H.
United Kingdom
February 02, 2014
Great
Sea, Room and the views
I think it was a lovely hotel but the hotel staff were slow and very sloppy and not very friendly.

Simon H.
Australia
January 27, 2014
Absolutely fabulous
The room and view, The pool and the location and service
Highly recommended and a quiet oasis in the hustle and bustle of colombo. old world grandeur and just lovely all round.

Jonas K.
Sweden
January 26, 2014
Was just waithing to go home,
The big pool,
The hotel is ok but a big restoring projekt is going on right now, not every thing is open.

Rebecca C.
Australia
January 25, 2014
Oasis of calm and elegance in colombo
Room, cleanliness, luxury
We loved the Galle Face Hotel. From the moment we walked in, to checking out, it was a first class experience. We were shown to our room and informed by te hotel that the television wasn't working so we're upgraded to a suite. It was an incredible experience and the rooms were so well appointed and luxurious that we didnt want to leave. Our flight didn't leave until midnight and the hotel kindly allowed us 1pm checkout, and then use of the hotel facilities until we departed from the airport- the pool, restaurant and shower facilities available to us made a long day very comfortable and enjoyable ahead of our flight. Great location with brilliant sunset views, easy access to the Dutch hospital area and colombo city. Highly recommend this hotel for your fort night as you get used to colombo, or as a treat on the way home.