arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1336 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1336 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Simran S.
Singapore
March 10, 2014
Best hotel ever!
The comfort and clean

Per M.
Norway
March 06, 2014
Pleasant. The hotel has a unique location
Location, old world charm, friendly staff
The hotel runs with limited capacity due to major renovation. That means that the spectacular outdoor areas are temporarily limited. Staff was very attentive. Food in restaurant does not match the level of hotel and prices.

anne M.
United States
February 20, 2014
fabulous breakfast, lovely grand hotel
breakfast, nice attentive staff
overall a really great hotel, even though half of it is closed for renovations, we did not have any noise or issues from construction. our room was nice with a beautiful bathroom. the best thing was the breakfast, which was a lavish buffet. colombo has little of interest to most tourists, and we would have been better off just skipping it. although we did not like the rest of sri lanka either, which we found to be overpriced and not great value. i wish we had skipped the entire country. we cut our trip short and went back to thailand.

Terry C.
Australia
February 14, 2014
Wonderful
Staff ,food, and the hotel itself

Wei C.
Singapore
February 06, 2014
Excellent Stay
Location, ambience, comfort
Very nice surroundings. Great view of the sea. Very nice alfresco area facing the sea and there is the novelty of a sea water swimming pool. Only downside is that there are many crows around the outdoor restaurant area. One of them swooped down and took part of my sandwich.

Andrew W.
United Kingdom
February 06, 2014
A touch of luxury
location, swimming pool and breakfast
The hotel is situated in the best possible position next to the sea, no other hotel has this position. There is a lovely breeze at all times so it takes away all the dust and grime from the city. The hotel will be fantastic when the building work has finished but although you could hear the workman it did not spoil the 2 nights we were there. The bar next to the pool serves excellent food not expensive. The restaurant in the evening served a good selection of food but we still prefered to sit outside and eat by the pool with the great views and breeze.

Christopher F.
United States
February 05, 2014
Lovely historic hotel. Under rennovation!
Living history. Seaside pool/garden. Central location.
A lovely hotel with a rich history. Its greatest strength is the garden and pool area that sits right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Great for sundowners, and also to keep kids entertained for a few afternoons. Also a very nice buffet breakfast. We had two complaints: (1) an entire wing is under renovation -- a project that will probably stretch through 2014; and (2) the staff were not very attentive. Getting anything requires persistence, and we were a little upset when the hotel van dumped us in the middle of nowhere after we showed no interest in visiting what was certainly a gem shop run by his sibling/cousin/brother.

Karen M.
Canada
February 05, 2014
Practised Hoteliers
Relaxing by the pool, Central location, Beautiful views
When you are still in business after close to 150 years you surely know how to provide people with service as a hotelier. The rooms were well appointed, the breakfast buffet which was included in our room rate was excellent and varied. The pool area was clean, comfortable and with beautiful views over the ocean. The pool is large enough that you can actually swim lengths and get a good workout. The service from the terrace bar was attentive. But should we ever be lucky enough to be back in Sri Lanka the one thing that would ensure that we booked with the Galle Face Hotel again would be the absolutely sensational massage therapists in the spa! They know what they are doing and are very skilled.

MONTIP G.
Thailand
February 03, 2014
hotel with ocen view and antique wood furniture
Spacious room, antique wood furniture and a well-equipped whirlpool bathtub.
My stay was very smooth and the hotel provide suitable accomodations. The local transportation was convenient at the hotel counter. The wholte room and facilities was spacious. I like the old-style wooden bed and the furniture. Tea choices offered were excellent taste of Ceylon tea!

Diane H.
United Kingdom
February 02, 2014
Great
Sea, Room and the views
I think it was a lovely hotel but the hotel staff were slow and very sloppy and not very friendly.