arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1336 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1336 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8

NEIL C.
United Kingdom
February 19, 2013
great hotel
great regency wing room
We had a fanstastic room in the regency wing with sea views. The hotel itself is a little tired in parts, however. The food and service are excellent. If you plan to relax by the pool beware that the pool is very small for a hotel of this size and there are limited sun loungers.

PASCALINE L.
France
February 19, 2013
Charming hotel
A step back in history
Great atmosphere. Our room was completely outdated but still ok for 2 nights. The heritage wing is apparently much better. Loved the garden, breakfast area and pool.

Noriko M.
Singapore
February 19, 2013
A historical hotel with character
Location, architecture, history, size
Every time we go to Colombo, we make it a point to stay at Galle Face Hotel. We love to stay at places with character and a story to tell. The location is a plus point, with breeze from the Indian Ocean entering your window everyday. The room sizes are generous, especially in the old wing.

Marit E.
Norway
February 19, 2013
The oldest Hotel in Colombo, old but stylish...
Best restaurant for1864..I think...and beautiful outdoor garden
We got upgraded to the suite, Thai, and had a nice night. Old furniture, and not the best bed or chairs, but so nice and full of history. We, my and a college, had dinner in the best Restaurant, think it was called 1864...and this was our best meal in Sri Lanka..we had it all, for but it was soooo good...I still dream of the food. The garden facing the sea was also a juvel, and when it turned out that there was no more room for us the next day, we had not ordered, the helped us to a superb Hotel. Staff was amazing, and I will think of this with a smile on my lips.

Charles M.
Canada
February 19, 2013
Great character hotel, perfect location
Atmosphere, main dining room
I was here for business and decided to stay at the Galle Face as it looked like an interesting heritage hotel; I was not disappointed. The rooms are a bit old - in fact, many parts of the hotel are a bit creaky and have seen better days but this is part of the charm. If you take a walk around the hotel, especially late at night when things are deserted, it feels like one has gone back in time. Indeed, many of the furnishings, signs, even the elevators, seem to be from the turn of the last century. There are nicer hotels in Colombo (just across the street is the Taj) but given the choice, I'd stay at the Galle Face. One tip: Upon check-in, ask to get a room in the newer part of the hotel(I think they call them the regency rooms). It's in the more modern part of the hotel and the rooms are definitely nicer.

Xiao H.
China
February 19, 2013
very nice view
Very Good Colonial Hotel
This hotel is a real institution, so many famous people have stayed here in the past. The location is outstanding, right on the sea front. The large seawater swimming pool is wonderful and the bar and restaurant areas very atmospheric.

Lynn G.
Singapore
February 18, 2013
Traditional colonial experience, without luxury
Location, colonial experience, big room.
The Galle Face is a historic place to stay once to get a feel of the old colonial expereince. But don't expect luxury. The Classic wing was definitely worn and fixtures and furniture show their age. But for our first time in Sri Lanka, it was worth the experience Our room (319 in the Classic Wing) was huge (you have space to do cartwheels, seriously), but bathroom fixures were old. Furniture was probably older than we were, but were decently maintained (ie. you notice the wear, but are not broken or in need of repair). Several food options, but gym and pool are small. You're on the oceanfront, but there is no beach. Great central location for exploring Colombo. Overall would recommend for convenience and a unique experience once; but not if you're looking for modern luxury and amenities.

David W.
Australia
February 18, 2013
A Dump
It's history
Hotel appears to be without management,run for the convenience of staff rather than guests. I dare anyone to order from room service and be able to eat what ever arrives.The star turn here is the Cuoque Monsieur. Cleanliness is not number one priority in this hotel.

Jane F.
Australia
February 18, 2013
Great location
dinner on the green facing the sea
nice historic hotel, but rooms weren't ready at 3:30pm when we checked in, and staff took a long time to pull up our booking, not a great start to our stay. hotel is in a lovely setting that didn't quite remove the unhappy first impressions.

Rhidoi K.
United States
February 17, 2013
Nice old world charm
Great location and setting
We started our Sri Lankan journey at the GFH for 2 nights. We found the hotel very charming and does well in maintaining its historical charm. We stayed in the new wing which was recommended to us. However, the new wing didn't feel like the 'new wing'. The hotel could do with a bit of an upgrade.