Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1347 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1347 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Laetitia C.
France
March 02, 2013
Good hotel with good service
Breakfast area
We had huge rooms in the classic wing. But need urgently to be refreshed and some maintenance. Efficient and smiling staff

anne-monique S.
France
February 27, 2013
Historical sea front landmark hotel
You sit peacefully in a piece of history
Marvellous location Great pool Wonderful service Great breakfast and attention to detail Fast response to clients' requests

Rathy S.
Australia
February 26, 2013
Lovely hotel with great location
views from the verandah and pool
convenient location and great for relaxing and galle face and dutch hospital restaurant precinct.

JAMES M.
United Kingdom
February 25, 2013
Lovely hotel but overpriced room
Situation on the beach. Old colonial atmosphere.
Lovely location but cool reception. Spacious room but overpriced as it had no view whatsoever. Travel desk very unhelpful. Only interested in hiring expensive cars out to tourists. Good service in bars and restaurants.

Ralph C.
United Kingdom
February 23, 2013
A great escape from the city
The courtyard garden restaurant.
We were promised a hotel with a faded colonial grandeur. In some ways we were disappointed. Our room had a view of the sea and Galle Face Green which was good, and was the biggest hotel room we've ever stayed in. But, it was very basic, and badly laid out so it really felt too big. The staff were fine, and the room was clean and neat, just didn't seem to have much charm. However, the courtyard is superb. Colombo is not the most welcoming city, and it's great to escape it all to gaze out at the Indian Ocean with a cocktail. Breakfast was good too.

tony M.
Australia
February 22, 2013
cant believe they charge for wifi?
nice old building
ive been staying at the GFH periodically for years its still much the same but the price for a standard room is too much,considering the beds are too small even for a single I will be looking for better value in the future ,the charge for WiFi is an insult and beneath the aims of GFH

Melissa R.
Singapore
February 22, 2013
Interesting
Location and atmosphere
An interesting place to visit but the rooms are terrible. Come here for lunch or a drink on the terrace but that is about all. Breakfast was very good. Location is good.

Michael L.
Denmark
February 22, 2013
Great location, basic room
Location, sunsets and historical charm
We were given a quite small and very basic room, but was upgraded a bit because the door couldn't lock. Still, the rooms in the old wing are very basic for the price, but then again you come to Galle Face Hotel for the history and the great views of the sunset. And that the hotel delivers.

Leanne P.
Australia
February 20, 2013
Wonderful location - old World Charm
Very helpful staff,
Old hotel looking out over the Green and night food stalls. Very large rooms. One of our group got very ill while staying here and the management and staff were extremely helpful. It was after we had checked out and they had no rooms available to check back into so she could rest. They organsied a private area for her and eventually when she needed a Doctor they organsed this as well. They could not of been more helpful and we were very appreciative of the service.

Seh Y.
Malaysia
February 20, 2013
Old World Charm
Colonial architecture, seafront location
Location facing Galle Face Green and next to the sea is the best plus point of the hotel. Then factor in its colonial architecture with interior that exudes old world elegance. Do check out its antique hydraulic lifts with metal sliding folding gates. I like its hardwood floored room which is spacious but feel that the smallish tv should be upgraded. The bathroom too is very spacious but the condition of the bath tub is not exactly in tip top condition. At night, having dinner with cocktail out at the terrace by the sea is just heavenly. All in all, a hotel worth a repeat stay the next time i go back to Sri Lanka.